We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of The Falcon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Falcon Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Well worth seeking out this pub which is a little way from the coast in a steep valley. The small garden is sunny and a pleasure to sit amongst the flowers. Food is excellent. We had a good old cornish pasty and the rare breed pig sausages on cheese mash and proper gravy. The beer is local.

Good value for money. Two full meals and beer was £20.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clariebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ate here on Sunday the 13th of July .
We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the food was superb.

Both myself and my wife had the roast lamb which was second to none and the veg was lovely and fresh
Really enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jeemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

my walking group came to St Mawgan today to find the tea room bursting at the seams. We went into the Falcon, who were also busy. The pub appeared to be totally unprepared for the lunchtime trade, having just one person (the landlady?) behind the bar. No wonder she was harassed. The landlord sauntered by in shorts and he was asked to answer the phone! perhaps he could have dealt with the thirsty customers first? Come on Falcon this is a great pub however the village have a flower festival, its hot and sunny weather, and you will be busy, sort it out before the real Summer kicks in

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLawrence1503, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your comment's. To explain the delay, but with no reason of giving that as an excuse, it was because at that at that time we were busy with members of staff taking out meals out to our lovely beer garden to customers who were eating outside in the lovely sunshine that we had for ourselves and for the great flower festival that we had at the church. Also we had two of our popular real ale beer barrel's being changed at the same time and these were being changed by the landlord - you must have seen him before to know he was in shorts! and so he was doing this as well as then answering the telephone, so we could answer a customer's booking with ourselves. He wasn't ignoring the members of the public but had to deal with these things first. Our other bar staff member was dealing with another customer in the dining room with a food order as they were unable to get to the bar as they were in a wheelchair. Sometimes even with the staff we have it is unfortunate that these things happen all at the same time. We apologise that you had to wait a little while before being served and thank you for being patient but these things do happen. It is not because we are not prepared for the summer season, I think you will find that we are and we are looking forward to it but sometimes you cannot predict when beer's are going to need changing and when other issue's like a credit card machine not working in the middle of service - they are all sent to try us!!

My apologies that you did have to wait but thank you for coming in to us and enjoying the sunshine.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great pub on all counts. The food is exceptional, good value and made using excellent locally sourced ingredients. The pub has a friendly and lively ambiance without being too overbearing. The service is sound and they have an excellent range of ales available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MateoHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLawrence1503, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments! We really do try and give people value for money with our food and make everything taste good. We love this pub and the customer's that come and visit us and to receive comments from you people such as yourselves makes our job and the staff's all worthwhile. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Have dined here several times over the years and it just gets better each time. The food is wonderful with a very varied menu and every need catered for. The Inn nestles in the village and is so very peaceful. Will be back again before long we promise

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLawrence1503, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - it is so genuinely appreciated!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have always heard good things about this pub and decided to have lunch here today before booking a table to bring our visiting friends. However we were very disappointed with our meals which not only took ages to arrive without any apologies but were also poor value. We even went elsewhere for dessert. Unfortunately we won't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Spenny32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife has stayed here before these owners a number of years ago and really enjoyed it but returning with friends she was disappointed the rooms and public areas dirty and full of cobwebs were dirty the landlord was bolshie and unpleasant. It was very hot and could not sit outside because of swarms of wasps,member of staff stung in the eye and we had to convince the landlord to send him home. Landlord would not listen to everyone complaining about the possibility of wasp nests and just ignored everyone. Not friendly and food expensive as well as drinks. dogs allowed in the areas where food is being served and locals take over the bar, Totally difference experience to her last visit which is a shame as it had a very good reputation before.

Room Tip: both rooms have good views but both could do with good clean and expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank superchunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahLawrence1503, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

In response to superchunky, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and we our accommodation is 4 star rated by the AA and has been since we took over the pub over 5 years ago. Our rooms have been refurbished and are looking in tip top condition. Also it was in August when our waiter was stung and we are not sure why this review has been reported now. Our waiter was dealt with immediately and we said he could go home but he did not want to. Unfortunately you can get stung anywhere and at anytime in the summer and last summer it was particularly hot and the wasps were prolific where-ever you went. We appreciate that their was a wasp nest but we only found out about this that evening and that it was situated in the pampus grass and the landlord had to try and deal with this at the time. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Carloggas
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Inn

Address: St. Mawgan TR8 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn is a traditional 16th-century freehouse inn and it is a "proper" pub. There is a warm, welcoming atmosphere when you arrive and we have a selection of real ales available together with a large selection of wines and whiskies. Our food is homemade from locally sourced produce and we believe you get value for your money. If you stay at The Falcon Inn we have 3 en-suite rooms all with free wi-fi and usual facilities that are required for a AA 4 star rated inn. We would hope that you would like to come and visit us as well as stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falcon Inn St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing