We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in a wonderful location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ozzyprice
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Holiday Cottage in pretty location”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a family of 4 ,2 adults and 2 adult children.We found Bryher cottage to be in a good location,with an enclosed garden. The downstairs area was nice as was the log burner,my husband though the 32inch tv to small.plus intermittent picture when weather bad.The main bedroom upstairs was a good size with a pleasant outlook over St. Mawgan Village. The second and third bedrooms we found to be extremely small with no wardrobe space.One shared bathroom upstairs ,we found there was not enough hot water,after 2 people had showered ,cold for everyone else ! No tumble drier in a property of this price bracket (and in the Uk !) is a problem and is needed. The cream tea left was much appreciated thank you. We did check oiut after one night and were given a refund (less the first night) as this property wasnt for us. In our opinion this property was stretched having 4 people stay,I cant imagine 6 people in here,especially with the one toilet and bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bedrooms,lackof hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren P
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great holiday at Bryher cottage. The cottage is beautifully presented, extremely clean and well equipped. We stayed with our 16 month old daughter, who enjoyed having the freedom to move around the whole of the ground floor and the secure garden.

The location is fantastic, with lots to see and do. The sandy beaches are stunning, perfect for sand castles and paddling, or some body boarding.

Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventure...
scotland
2 reviews
“Love it so much we've booked it again...and again!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We, 2 adults & 2 pre-teen boys, have never stayed in the same place twice for a holiday but we are going back to Bryher for a 3rd time in 2016! We all love it! The location of this cottage is perfect. It's so close to the airport (you would never know!) & road links so it's easy to get to as well as being fantastic base for exploring Cornwall. St. Mawgan is a beautiful, historic village with lots of amenities for its size. It's lovely just to wander around or sit in the tearoom or pub garden, both of which do great food. The cottage itself is lovely both inside and out with everything you need - a lovely combination of home comforts & all mod-cons. If there happens to be anything more you need Di, the caretaker, is nearby. She is so welcoming & helpful when needed but at the same time leaves you to get on with your holiday. All bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the bathroom with separate shower is very spacious. Everything has been made very easy to use. The garden and decking areas are superb -perfect for more chill out time. Some of the best beaches in Cornwall are 5 to 30 mins away & you are within easy reach of Padstow, Newquay, St.Agnes, Bodmin, Fowey, Falmouth, St.Ives, so many places! We've had wonderful holidays at Bryher and we're looking forward to being there again next Summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarysbir...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a very tastefully decorated property with ample space for mum and dad, gran and two under 4. High chair, stair gate, cot all provided. The space just really worked for our young family in a way that many properties fall down. For eg Very cool in summer heat, sufficient sound proofing, separate shower & bath, open plan downstairs, washable covers on sofas, nightlight on landing, safety locks on upstairs windows, washing machine, enclosed garden, gin deck with sunset! And a village/community with very friendly shop, pub, play ground, paddling stream with wildlife and all within 8 min drive of the beach, but within 20 mins of many and varied magnificent beaches and attractions in the area. We felt we could relax and be at home which is a rarity for us. The kids, and gran, also loved it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jusinethe...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in March 2013

As the sun shines I remember the wonderful holiday we had at Bryher Cottage. I hankered for a stay at a boutique hotel but with 2 young children those plans were on hold for a while! This beautiful cottage is very well equipped and has all the stylish touches that adults like whilst being ideal for a relaxing family holiday. The house was spotlessly clean and the bedding crisp and white. The open plan downstairs offers plenty of space whilst the bedrooms are cosy and homely. I was amazed how much space there was in the master bedroom - this really added to the tranquillity of the place. 2 other bedrooms are compact but bright and quickly because second homes to my kids. They loved space to run around in the garden and I enjoyed being close enough to stunning beaches whilst not too close to the crowds.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leato1uk
1 review
“Super!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a lovely week at bryher with our two small children. They loved the large garden, which was enclosed and safe for them to run around in. And we loved the decking which caught the last of the evening sun while we had a glass of wine!

The house is nicely decorated,and very clean and comfortable. The lady that looked after the house was very helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for any more really.

Although it is not right by the sea, the location is ideal. It is close to numerous beaches, 25 mins from padstow, and 45 mins from St Ives. We were never short of things to do with our little ones. It was beautifully quiet at night, with only the church bells chiming occasionally.

There was plenty of hot water, and it was always warm. We could t have asked for anything more (and we are quite picky!!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelloMran...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic find! ”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in September 2014

What a beautiful place! Fantastic quiet location, a few minutes drive to fantastic beaches such as Mawgan Porth beach and Watergate Bay, where we enjoyed a family brunch at Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant. We also had diner at Rick Stein's fish and chip shop in the gorgeous Padstow which was also only a short drive away.

Mawgan itself has a great local tearoom and shop which sells probably the best raspberry jam I've ever eaten! And Cornish pasties which where freshly made every morning.

Bryher Cottage is lovely, warm, light and airy home from home. Very thoughtful touches make it a great find. Our two year old loved the big bath and we loved the enclosed garden with a big decked area for evening BBQ's. The wood burning stove made the cottage toasty warm even on a very chilly evening. It's nice to stay somewhere that can cope with two adults and a child all showing and bathing and still have plenty of hot water! Something we think is important after spending a sandy day at the beach!

The lady who looked after the property and made sure we had everything and knew how everything worked. It was good to know we could easily contact her if we needed to. (She gave us some great advice about where to go with a two year old!)

This is the best place we've stayed in Cornwall. And we'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;