We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars hotel?!”
Review of Hotel Arslev Kro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arslev Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brabrand
Reviewed 21 August 2013

More a motel than a 3 stars hotel: 1 floor hotel with sevral buildings with rooms, divided on 2 floors.
Quite big parking area.
Attractions for kids (I would not allow my kids to use them...)
Rooms are not small, old and not cleaned properly.
Bathroom with a lot of hair on the floor and very old towels; just the shampoo is complimentary.
Terrible shower with the drain direclty the floor where you walk and a simple awning.
No fitness center, no pool.
For me excellent location, very convenient for my business.
Restaurant that serves just buffet. Decent.
Overall too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agliverani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arslev Kro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Spent new years night in a room with my family (2 parents with 2 kids) in a large room with two beds and two fold up beds.
The room and surrounding area was very neat and tidy, making it easy to cherish the wonderful landscape of mid Jutland.
The staff has been very kind and helpful and the breakfast buffet offered what was to be expected, though nothing out of the ordinary.
All of this, added with superb location close to the highway and a very low price for an entire family (€120/night, incl breakfast buffet) makes this both an affordable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasperH4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Disagree strongly by the critical comments given here. The motel modern, comprises of 4 or 5 buildings, located on a lane adjacent to the highway to/from Aarhus. I hada modest but clean and fairly sized, with a large bath, 2nd floor in the 4th building.
I arrived at 2am and the staff was helpful and quick. Checked out the next day at 6:30am and the breakfast was already on the table, egg and bacon hot and in abundance. The breakfast was otherwise more generous than what is normal in Denmark and Germany at this type of establishment.
And - the price was 1/2 of anything remotely similar in the area; from the ferry at Grenaa to Skanderborg.
It is a motel, not a 5 star hotel. Thus don't expect anything but. That said, it is a good motel as far as I am concerned.

Room Tip: I was happy with 2nd floor in building no. 4. Any better or worse than others, I have no idea. Park...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Yack!
Rooms were awful, dirty and full of spiders. It have never been as awful to take a shower than there, floor was disgusting and full of dirt and the toilet smelled just like [--].
Stay away if possible!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jii75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed during a business visit. This is not a very nice hotel. Reception staff was indifferent and in no way service-minded. And the rooms are really really sad. Worn and dirty. If you are a light sleeper, you may be disturbed by highway noise. Breakfast was nothing special. There are so many other and much better options in the Aarhus area, so I suggest you stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I wish I could be more glowing in my review, but I simply can't.

Got a decent rate for the hotel on a travel site, paying $91 total for a single room, which is a good price for Copenhagen, but seems rather steep for a motel out in the hinterlands. Still, this is Denmark, where prices make very little sense, so I considered myself lucky.

The front desk personnel I met were among the kindest front desk people one could expect to meet, particularly in a country where other reviewers have often commented on the rather taciturn nature of employees.

The room itself was small and unfortunately there were some serious problems with cleanliness! The shower tiles were sprayed with mud or maybe black mold, which was pretty disgusting. Moreover, the shower was a typical Danish affair--2 centimeters lowered floor, cloth fabric curtain, and no way of preventing the water from flooding the rest of the bathroom.

The motel has chosen to conserve resources (good for them!) by installing Lux soap dispensers, and unfortunately Kimberly Clark paper products. This is the first hotel I've ever experienced which stocks the bathrooms with those paper squares found normally at train stations. I believe a simple IKEA toilet paper holder would have been a cheaper and more pleasant alternative.

The television didn't work properly and only had 5 stations. Weirdly they were missing DR2, one of the standard stations, but they had DR1.

Instead of glasses in the bathroom, guests received 2 very flimsy white plastic cups. Kimberly Clark's famous product, Kleenex, were absent from the room, despite being represented by their institutional toilet paper squares.

Breakfast buffet was passable, but not outstanding, and the scrambled eggs were extremely salty.

I was pleasantly surprised by how comfy the soft mattress ended up being, so a point in the motel's favor.

Overall this was a disappointing experience. One would hope for more attention to little details of comfort and hygiene, and slightly more value for the money. Having stayed in the motel annex, I'm not sure whether or not a room in the main building would have been a bit nicer.

I didn't try the restaurant, however the menu looked very basic and expensive--typical Danish entrees cost 199-300 kroner which seemed rather steep.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MissJibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

very close to the highway. ask for rooms 500+. very convenient when traveling to- or from Norway

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brabrand
5.0 mi away
Zleep Hotel Aarhus
Zleep Hotel Aarhus
#1 of 2 in Viby J
155 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
#18 of 22 in Aarhus
474 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
4.4 mi away
Scandic Aarhus Vest
Scandic Aarhus Vest
#12 of 22 in Aarhus
373 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western The Mayor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arslev Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arslev Kro

Address: Silkeborgvej 900, Brabrand, Aarhus 8220, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus > Brabrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brabrand
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arslev Kro 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arslev Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing