We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norsminde Inn -East coast of Jutland (Denmark)”
Review of Norsminde Kro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norsminde Kro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Odder
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Norsminde Inn -East coast of Jutland (Denmark)”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Norsminde Inn is a 3 star inn with a location that calls for walks or senic drives along the coast and the fjord's.
The inn - well - it has a good reputation and is known for the gourmet restaurant (check opening times) and entertainment certain evenings. Besides the restaurant, the inn have a brasserie. The room we had was ok, the rating considered. The best was our view form the room.
Our lunch was fine, it's worth trying - but our dinner was a miss. It was too expensive, and the chief must have had a bad day in the kitchen. Also the wine disappointed. Not the quality (The Inn have a huge wine cellar) - but also the wine was too expensive.
The breakfast - that was good, not a big choise, but all homemade - bravo..
The service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorsmindeKro, Manager at Norsminde Kro, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Google Translation
Tak for besøget. Vi har over 1123 forskellige vine på kortet, så det undre mig der ikke var kvalitets vine. Vi er meget rost for vor pris politik, men vi er da kede af at den stil vi har ikke er dig. Du kan se alle vore værelser på vor hjemmeside hvis du kommer en anden gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    47
    22
    18
    7
See reviews for
23
76
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Let me, once and for all, be honest about this: my vocabulary does not contain enough superlatives to bring satisfactory credit to this experience.

Proprietor and chef, Søren Pedersen, is the man behind a gastronomic experience exceeding the norms. And, had I lived within a reasonable distance from which the place could be reached by car, I would frequent this inn several times a month.

At, Norsminde Kro you can chose either the Brasserie or the Slow-Food Restaurant, where I would recommend the latter.

Dinner is served in the inn’s huge wine cellar which has been structured around 8-9 compartments each containing a table plus an impressive amount of wine. Therefore, your meal will always be served in intimate and private surroundings without the disturbance from other guests – a luxury these days where most restaurants, for profit reasons, just have to squeeze in that extra table. But, as I said, this is not so here.

The food, primarily inspired by the French cuisine – incorporating a variety of good-quality local produce – is put together into a 5-7 course menu with each dish being a gastronomic pearl, both visually and flavour-wise.

The wine list is mouth-watering; and, located in Jutland far from the Copenhagen-area, prices are absolutely reasonable. Moreover, should you encounter a wine that you simply have to own, all wines can be purchased for bringing along, as Søren is also a wine importer.

Are your arriving from afar, and this being an inn, there will be ample opportunity to stay overnight only to wake up next morning to yet an experience as you will be served a breakfast comprised of homemade this and that. Yes, even a soft-boiled egg just tastes better than the ones they serve in the Greater Copenhagen area.

I am seldom given to singing someone’s praises at the top of my voice. This is, however, the case here; and next time I visit the region of Aarhus, Norsminde Kro will see me again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here on a trip to Denmark, the position of hotel is superb, rooms ok, service terrible, they appear to be running the place on a shoe string!

We ate in the Restaraunt, service was very slow, meal cold when it eventually arrived and cost 500kronar. Breakfast worst we've had in Denmark. To make matters worse I was ill following the meal, the hotel went interested.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdandlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorsmindeKro, Guest Relations Manager at Norsminde Kro, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
On the 29th of June we had a very busy night because of the fine weather. Unfortunately one of our waiters called in sick with such short notice, that it was impossible for us to find some one that could replace him. Therefore the other waiters were more busy than usually. You ordered the fish, which a total of 30 guests did that night and non of the other 30 persons were ill. When you checked out the next day, you told me about our experiences the night before, and as I told you, I would talk to both the waiters and the chef. You didn't say anything about your complaints over the breakfast, even though you talked to me only 5 minuttes after eating it.
I'm glad that you took the time to make this review, so I have the possibility to give you my explanation.
Best regards
Anne Henriksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The location of the hotel is beautiful. The price is right and if you love quiet this is the place for you. That said, don't stay here if you need to be connected for business via your laptop computer. The internet only works consistently near reception and either does not work or fades in and out rest of hotel. I told them that the hotel would attract more business people if they installed wireless routers to enable connections in the rooms. Also another major drawback is that there are no desks in the rooms so have to "break" back to sit on computer. They put me right over the office so that I could get the internet connection but it still came and went and there is no one to talk to at night as reception area is closed and can't go down near reception to pick up wireless signal cause it would set off the alarm.
Anyway, impression is that it is a case of "penny wise....dollar foolish " or whateve the expression is using Danish Kroner-meaning that perhpas they don't want to spend money to wire the hotel for internet access. I told them that it means people like me will come once and not come back because we rely on dependable connection for our business.
The people at the front desk were wonderful and very helpful but only so much they can do without decision to expand network from the owner.
Not good for people with disabilities as there is no elevator and front door is locked when reception closes so you have to walk up many stairs from outside to get in building and there are many stairs inside.
These are perhaps small things that need to be corrected but for many people they are major. Until there is internet connections in each room and it is handicap accesible, I have to give it thumbs down which is unfortunate because the receptions people are so nice.
Switched to another hotel for the rest of the week in Odder/Arhus area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

There's still a sentiment of run-down old Danish countryside inn over this place ... But the rooms have had a basic makeover, enough to make it passable although it clearly has been done to be within a limited budget and this is quite visible.

Staff is welcoming though, and eager to please. And the harbourside setting is very quaint. I would come here again ...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorsmindeKro, Manager at Norsminde Kro, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear sirs. Norsminde kro has had a major makeover in all rooms in 2012 & 2013. Wifi is free in the hotel. It´s a new hotel, hope to see you agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Both brasserie and slow food restaurents are superb.

They have a lot of danich micro brewed beer and a very large vine cellar vere you can relax if the weather is bad.

Stunning location with bus to Århus.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sefnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odder
5.5 mi away
Odder Parkhotel
Odder Parkhotel
#2 of 2 in Odder
78 reviews
7.5 mi away
Marselis Hotel
Marselis Hotel
#11 of 22 in Aarhus
271 reviews
16.3 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
413 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
#17 of 22 in Aarhus
448 reviews
16.9 mi away
Nilles Kro
Nilles Kro
#2 of 2 in Sabro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norsminde Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norsminde Kro

Property: Norsminde Kro
Address: Gl Krovej 2, Odder 8300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Odder
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Odder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norsminde Kro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norsminde Kro is surrounded by water with fine views over the Fjord and marina. Individually decorated rooms, where modern design contrasts with traditional exterior. Experience fine dining in the Slow Food Restaurant, which serves carefully prepared dishes accompanied by great wines from the cellar. You can also choose to dine at the Brasserie, an informal venue with an outdoor terrace.Enjoy a peaceful break just 18 km away from the region's largest city, Aarhus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norsminde Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing