We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no corners left uncut”
Review of La Caverna Hotel

La Caverna Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheldon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Caverna Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Sheldon B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“no corners left uncut”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Didn't eat there, just stayed. The room would have been okay if it had been about 75% cheaper. One of those places where reasonably sized rooms have been subdivided with what seems like plywood. Bed jammed into corner of room. Grubby walls. Gave breakfast a miss. I could be wrong but the only thing Italian about this place is the name. Wrong hemisphere, IYSWIM.

Room Tip: very cramped, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencerisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    4
    6
    18
See reviews for
4
8
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

as soon as we entered we were greeting by polite and professional staff. The food was wonderful, with the accommodation reaching a 5 star level. All in all La Caverna is a well presented establishment well worth looking into. 5 STAR ALL THE WAY.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Arrived with 6 colleagues and despite the restaurant being empty, we were greeted with a grumpy face and it was obvious the "greek" waiteress did not want us there! After being handed probably the most extensive but worst "Italian" menu I have ever seen, we were served drinks which included horrible warm pints of beer. These were taken away (with no apology) and replaced but they kindly charged us for the discarded pints as well as the replacements.
After ordering our food we had to wait over an hour for our starters (please remember the restaurant was empty apart from another couple) and when they came the disappointment among us set in. I ordered calamari at £9.95 which was the worst and most expensive I have ever had and served with a lettuce leaf and lemon. A couple of my colleagues had 2 small mushrooms stuffed with crab (tastless and made them feel ill) and another colleague had frogs legs (or deep fried bones).
The main courses, all severely over priced did not include vegetables or potatoes so if you ordered a dried up chicken kiev at £14 - that is what you got!! Terrible food!!
Dessert menu came and that consisted of a range of bought in puddings! When we asked if we could have ice cream with an espresso and liquer over it (as served in any other Italian restaurant) we were told no - they don't have the right ice cream!
When a colleaugue ordered a liquer coffee it came and the cream was off and stinking! When we complained, the waiteress (manageress???) sniffed it and walked off without so much as a "sorry"!! A replacement came - exactly the same and again no apology but instead a shocking rant from a male member of staff who brought out a new carton of cream to show us!!
Every drink we asked for seemed to be an inconvenience. Even when we tried to engage the sorry excuse for a waitress in conversation it was clear she did not want to talk.
It came to the point when we all just wanted to leave and we got the bill and paid for it (including the compulsory £34 service charge - unbelievable!) and went on our way.
Next day, a number of us felt ill and on looking at our bill, realised we had been charged for the off beer and an extra starter (£7.95 - we WILL be asking for this back).
All in all, a horrible experience. Menu, staff, prices, service, food and drink all terrible.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller190573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheldon hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed in the La Caverna as we were exhibiting in the NEC. The experience was ruined by one of the rudest people I have met in a long time- The so called greek manageress with blond hair.She had the worst attitude I have come across in a very long time.The hotel did have a young indian guy that worked in the evenings and he was more than helpful.
I would recommend that the owner of this hotel has a serious look at this member of staff as she will do damage to his business.
Overall hotel ok,good breakfast and good location to the NEC.If you chose to stay here the best tip is to eat out at the near by Indian restaurants that are good value for money.Hotel food and drink is a rip off.Rooms ok 2 to 3 stars. They do not have an ironing board that can stand on its own legs because it is broken.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Over the course of a year I stayed at the La Caverna a number of times, and while it has some quirks of a small hotel (having to phone the owner to arrange a time to check in), I found that it was preferable to the chain budget hotels. Firstly the rooms are quite nice and are also clean, the staff are friendly. The breakfast is good, although you have to a ask for what you want rather than buffet style. For the price (GBP 65 per night) it was good value ( and on site parking was a bonus, if a little hard to find). I wasn't over impressed with the evening meal, however there there is a good and cheap Indian (Titash) across the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Ate at the restaurant, service was terrible, waitress had a face like a smacked backside, prices are extortionate- £2.25 for a glass of coke!- beware that 10% service charge is included in the price and WILL NOTbe revoked, even if you complain about the awful service. Manager is rude and unhelpful and there to make a quick buck. The worst restaurant I've ever had the misfortune of eating in. PLEASE DO NOT visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fk12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheldon
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.8 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caverna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caverna Hotel

Property: La Caverna Hotel
Address: 2327 Coventry Road, Sheldon, Birmingham B26 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Sheldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheldon
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing