We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great service, very average room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights from Friday to Monday. The location in the city centre of Bergen was perfect, the service provided by the staff was great, but the quality of the room was very average. There was little room to manoeuvre and it was stifling hot. The beds were OK, but the heat made that we had little sleep. The one window opened just a notch and the table-top ventilator brought little relief.
I should not forget to mention that the bikes we rented at the hotel were of good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was not very good.The rooms are big but the furniture looks sparse.it seems as if random desk and coffee table are standing somewhere.No air condition in the room.The carpet is old and and dirty, the furniture is way over its use by date. Breakfast was very good.The reception staff was polite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yilmaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The surroundings of Bergen and Schoorl are truly beautiful. The breakfast is good. That was the positive part on this hotel.

A very small room and a petite bathroom. Noisy. Bed is a bit shaky but clean. Curtains that do not close properly. Old fashioned TV-set, the room is in desperate need of a redecoration. I also wonder where they got these 4 stars.

We ate a pre-paid three course dinner at their restaurant. It took 30 minutes to be able to order our drinks. A couple of times they served a course different from the menu: only after we asked they replied the item just ran out. I would prefer to be consulted about that beforehand.

During check-out costs were added to the bill -- like the costs of 5 euro per room for checking-in ??? -- that we felt were unjustifed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately my company booked this hotel for a business meeting. I think I've been in better hostels, and this pretend to be a 4 stars accommodation. Ridiculous. Food is horrible, rooms are small and dirty, tv set of 20 years ago. This is a money loss and irritating place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Gideon735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

On arrival we found the parking of the hotel blocked by a coach (from Danmark). It was the beginning of a lamentable stay, last year. But our experiences should not be unmentioned.
'Marijke' advertises itself as a 4*accommodation, but even in Bergen stars do not just fall from heaven. We had to carry our suitcases up the stars in the absence of an elevator; in the corridor towards the room it was impossible to walk upright as the ceiling was too low. And we are normal length..
The room was noisy, the walls problably of hardboard. The bathroom was small, the shower hardly producing any water. The television set was small as well, with just a few channels to choose from. And the other functions (text, view bill and so on) were not functioning at all.
When we returned in he evening after a (nice) meal in the (nice) village of Bergen we took a drink in the bar. Nice girl to serve the drinks, but she announced at the same time the last round, although it was not that late.
In the morning we were too dejected to try breakfast. Check out was at reception, where the ladies gave the impression that we should be glad to be allowed to stay in this hotel. We were glad to escape as soon as possible and did not go in debate over the fee for the parking that we never could arrive at.
Leaving Bergen we asked ourselves who awarded the four stars to a place that is defititely hardly worth two.

Room Tip: Our tip: check the room before you accept !
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epo376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Normally I only post reviews when I'm very enthousiastic about a place. Mediocre experiences I don't post, out of respect for the people who have to make their living in such restaurants/hotels. But this time it's different, I'm outright angry. This is at best a mediocre hotel (certainly not 4 stars), situated at a good location though in the center of Bergen. But I'm not angry because the rooms are poor, or because the we had to send food back to the kitchen because it was still raw. I'm angry because we were overcharged some 750 euros (we were quite a large group). I noticed this within an hour after payment, immediately called the hotel that rebuffed by saying that not all receipts had been stapled to the bill. Detailed inspection of the bill showed however that some 27 3-course dinners had been billed twice! Called again, but the appropriate person was no longer in. Called again the day after and was told that the money would be refunded immediately. Money didn't come in though, so called again after a few days and was told that the refund would take TWO weeks. And no, they could not send me an email to confirm this, I just had to trust them and wait for two weeks. Of course, there was no money after two weeks. Called again, person not in, call again the next day, same story. Called again the next day, manager again not available and left a message that I was contemplating further (legal) steps. Within the hour I received an email from the manager with an apology and the promise that the money would be transferred that very day. Money was indeed transferred that day, but not all of it, as it was exactly 60 euros short!? No explanation, no email, no nothing about why they transferred less. So I had to call again, manager not available. Left request to be called back, to no avail. Called again, and was informed by the front desk that the 60 euros had been substracted because the bill that I had payed 3 weeks prior had supposedly been incomplete?! Of course, it cannot be ruled out that something hadn't been put on our original bill which should have been there. But retrospectively increasing a bill, without any notice or explanation, when the hotel has been dragging its feet for weeks already, is outright unacceptable. If only we had checked Tripadvisor reviews before booking, then we could have seen that there seems to be a recurring pattern of poor service in this hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 1 night in Hotel Marijke during a weekend breakaway. We chose this hotel because of its location, close to the centre of Bergen, with all the nice restaurants and terraces. Of course we have red the reviews on Tripadvisor and some of them are very negative. Maybe the hotel is overrated and I do understand the issues mentioned, but you have to keep in mind that this is a very old family restaurant in the old part of historic Bergen, which is a small local town. You cannot compare it to modern hotels in a large city. A lot of people are complaining about the charges of the car parking. Charged parking is normal in Bergen. You have to pay for car parking in a large area of Bergen and all the hotels in the centre charge you for that. There is limited space and everybody wants to park close to the hotel. The staff of Marijke is trying to facilitate parking for all the guests, but they have limited space. As said, there is no space for a large parking-lot in the historic center. You have to manage your expectations in these kind of hotels.

When we arrived at the hotel, a staff member was assisting all arriving and departing guests and she assigned us a parking spot. The reception staff was friendly and to our surprise we were upgraded from a junior suite to the only suite at the opposite of the main building. Because of the reviews we did not booked a normal double room, but instead we made a reservation for a junior suite for €.150, including breakfast and parking. I do not think that this is overcharged for 2 people in the high season and in the centre of the town. This suite is fabulous. A very large and modern living room in black and white style with a separate dining area. The bedroom is also spacious, but the bathroom was extraordinary. A double jacuzzi with a flat screen above it, a luxurious shower area with a large glass wall, a double sink and in the corner a private sauna. All in black and white style with shutters blinding the double glass doors leading to a small private garden. By far the greatest and most luxurious spot in Bergen, but normally the suite is more expensive. Because we were not in the main building, we experienced no noise during the night.

We dit not use the restaurant in hotel Marijke, because we wanted to dine in one of the restaurants in the centre, so we cannot comment on that. We noticed that there is a nice bar in the main building and an old library with a fire place. Also they have some bicycles available. The way to the sea (Bergen aan Zee) is beautiful, first through the forrest and then over the dunes.
Because of the nice weather, we used the breakfast outside on the terrace of the hotel, which was quite nice. The breakfast is buffet style and complete. Staff was helpful and constantly filling the plates when items were running out.

We do recommend hotel Marijke, but beware that it is an old hotel in the historic part of Bergen, which could have its downsize. For sure it is good value for money and the location is perfect!

Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you can afford it, the normal double rooms are small.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
1.0 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#3 of 8 in Bergen
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#6 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
128 reviews
2.2 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke

Address: Dorpsstraat 23-25, 1861 KT Bergen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £54 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers elegant rooms, an a-la-carte restaurant and a cozy brasserie in the center of the charming village of Bergen. The hotel has a patio and beautiful garden. Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke lies in the center of historical village, only 5 kilometers from the beaches and dunes of the North Sea. Besides that cities like Alkmaar, Amsterdam and Haarlem are also close by. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet. Or would you like a lunch or a fabulous dinner? Hotel-Restaurant Marijke's brasserie and restaurant offers these and more. And for a drink you can go to the friendly brasserie or convivial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bergen Aan Zee
Bergen Aan Zee Best Western
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke Bergen, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing