We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway location with superb cuisine”
Review of Hotel Kukuriku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kukuriku
Ranked #1 of 2 Kastav B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Kukuriku hotel is a hidden gem in Croatia. Much better known for the excellent restaurant, the hotel is equally deserving of praise.

Though technically not a 5-star hotel because there is no pool, gym, business center etc., it surpasses most of the other hotels I've stayed in in terms of room spaciousness, design, furniture quality and the atmosphere. The location is in a beautiful old little city, overlooking the bay of Kvarner. When you get there, you can forget all about the outside world. The staff will do their best to help. Considering the accommodation and the level of service you get, this is by far the best money-for-value option I've experienced in Croatia.

The restaurant which actually came first and started the Kukuriku story is a must for all people appreciating slow food and wine connoisseurs. There is no written menu since they only serve fresh food. It is best just to indicate if there is something you cannot eat and then let the excellent and very experienced waiters to guide you through your meal. They will accompany each course with a glass of different carefully selected wine if you do not choose a bottle yourself, explaining all about the vintage and the meal itself in the process. The courses are all carefully thought-through and executed flawlessly. Basically, you cannot go wrong no matter what you choose (or what they bring you).

For a weekend getaway filled with elegant hedonism, I have yet to find a place that will do it better.

Room Tip: The basic rooms in Kukuriku are like suites in other hotels.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikolaRasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kukuriku
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel along with my colleagues from August 2012 to April 2013 on and off for up to two weeks at a time and I cannot think of enough good things to say about it, I stayed in a few different rooms but without exception each was superb. The furnishings and general atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful, the staff are helpful and courteous, and the restaurant is great, If you have a big appetite go for the meat or fish dinner option it is a fixed menu each evening with about 5/6 courses and different wines to go with each dish, (if you are that way inclined) and every mouthful is superb.
If like me this is a little too much just ask what they have and something can be arranged to suit.
There are lots of small restaurants and bars down the hill in the village and they all serve excellent food. A special mention here for my watering hole the 'Guitar bar' who always made us extremely welcome. I would also like to give a particular big Thank you to Ingrid, Radmila, Dominic, Dan, Nenad and the whole management team who, even during times when there were functions on in the hotel always managed to make us welcome and invite us to join in.
Thank You all.
Don't take my word for it go and see for yourself 'Superb'

Room Tip: If you get a room a the front top floor the views to the mountains over the rooftops are superb, but...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

In usually rather poor hotel scene in Croatia, Kukuriku stands out - great place, on the top if the hill, n a middle of an old village, the hotel was basically done from the scratch, building greatly designed rooms with nice bathrooms (you can almost swim in the tub) and fireplaces while preserving all old stones.

A great restaurant on the premises - if you drink too much, just couple of stairs to reach your bed (very comfortable by he way).

Room Tip: get the room on the top floor to enjoy panoramic vue.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

New hotel, beautifully decorated, the rooms beautiful. Still would pick the food in the restaurant, which was the top.
If you want to escape the day - that's two and more in area Rijeka / Kastav / Matulji .... my recommendation Hotel Kukuriku / Kastav

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBilkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We found this Hotel on Tripadvisor and it looked the best along our route from France to Montenegro. In fact it was better than we had hoped, a huge bedroom, big bathroom with a bath (which my wife insists on) and fine, contemporary design. The member of staff on the front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant was perfect because we wanted two starters and no mains. We chose fish as our first course and meat for our second and left the choice up to them. In fact they also gave us an "amuse bouche" and with every course a different glass of white wine. All were excellent. With desert and wine, our bill came to 76 euros. The town is also delightful, with views of the sea.However, I would definitely ask not to be on the top floor.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Nicely decorated, obviously with a lot of effort to make this small hotel a special place to stay. Very clean. Staff friendly, impressive knowledge of foreign languages. One disadvantage of my room - only one small window, practically no daylight (I had a room in the attic). My colleagues told me they had nice big windows in thier rooms, so it seems I had bad luck. But it did not matter for one night. If you stay for a longer period and you care about having nice windows and daylight - avoid room no 12. And one other thing - if you are a light sleeper, you might be woken up by the church bell ringing every 15 minutes just a few meters from the hotel. But nevertheless, it was overall a very enjoyable stay. Especially recommended to romantic couples :-).
The food was excellent, as usual in the Kukuriku restaurant. One of the best restaurants in Croatia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grickavjestica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Elegant comfortable hotel in the little town of Kastav. Huge bed well decorated modern furniture fridge/bar well stocked. Bathroom tastefully decorated, no balcony, we were in an attic room which was a big uncomfortable in the bathroom having a shower as you had to be careful not to bang your head. Restaurant 'slow food' was very slow! Expensive €60 a head for a bottle of wine and water a taste of 5 different dishes, small portions and even if one had truffle and mushroom in it it still wasn't worth the price considering we were in a little town. The fig sweet was to die for! Waiter attenentive. Receptionist delightful, helpful and friendly she also served breakfast with fresh orange juice omelette on request and fresh pastries.

Room Tip: use of bathrobes, slippers all that was needed in the bathroom would not stay in the attic room agai...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastav
1.6 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
3.2 mi away
Hotel Agava
Hotel Agava
#14 of 31 in Opatija
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#9 of 31 in Opatija
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kukuriku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kukuriku

Address: Lokvina 3, Kastav 51215, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kastav
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kastav
Price Range: £78 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kukuriku 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kukuriku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing