We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Kukuriku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kukuriku
Ranked #1 of 2 Kastav B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The room was large and clean, with a lovely cosy atmosphere, a lot of wood with a modern take. The bathroom was also very big and well decorated. We slept so well and also had an amazing dinner, and breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and selection of designer teas.

If you have a car, you have to make sure you call the reception when entering and leaving, as there is a cone barrier that has to be lowered for you to drive through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNayalis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit.
I dont know how to describe it but this place really has got something special.
A little hotel located on little peaceful square.
Every time we slept there one night and had one fantastic dinner, one fantastic breakfast and one fantastic lunch.
This is really slow food conception, true hedonism.
Dinner was served in six courses and one can choose between fish and meat menu. Every course is bigger and better.
Breakfast is served so that you can eat whatever you want. You can choose: great omelets , croisants , fruits, quality tea,
Lunch is served in five courses also fish or meat menu.

Summa summarum not a cheap place but must visit for true hedonists :)

Between breakfast and lunch you must definitely go for a walk in a beautiful Kastav woods . Pure Croatian nature.



This was our second visit.
I dont know how to describe it but this place really has got something special.
A little hotel located on little peaceful square.
Every time we slept there one night and had one fantastic dinner, one fantastic breakfast and one fantastic lunch.
This is really slow food conception, true hedonism.
Dinner was served in six courses and one can choose between fish and meat menu. Every course is bigger and better.
Breakfast is served so that you can eat whatever you want. You can choose: great omelets , croisants , fruits, quality tea,
Lunch is served in five courses also fish or meat menu.

Summa summarum not a cheap place but must visit for true hedonists :)

Between breakfast and lunch you must definitely go for a walk in a beautiful Kastav woods . Pure Croatian nature.







This was our second visit.
I dont know how to describe it but this place really has got something special.
A little hotel located on little peaceful square.
Every time we slept there one night and had one fantastic dinner, one fantastic breakfast and one fantastic lunch.
This is really slow food conception, true hedonism.
Dinner was served in six courses and one can choose between fish and meat menu. Every course is bigger and better.
Breakfast is served so that you can eat whatever you want. You can choose: great omelets , croisants , fruits, quality tea,
Lunch is served in five courses also fish or meat menu.

Summa summarum not a cheap place but must visit for true hedonists :)

Between breakfast and lunch you must definitely go for a walk in a beautiful Kastav woods . Pure Croatian nature.








Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Kukuriku hotel is a hidden gem in Croatia. Much better known for the excellent restaurant, the hotel is equally deserving of praise.

Though technically not a 5-star hotel because there is no pool, gym, business center etc., it surpasses most of the other hotels I've stayed in in terms of room spaciousness, design, furniture quality and the atmosphere. The location is in a beautiful old little city, overlooking the bay of Kvarner. When you get there, you can forget all about the outside world. The staff will do their best to help. Considering the accommodation and the level of service you get, this is by far the best money-for-value option I've experienced in Croatia.

The restaurant which actually came first and started the Kukuriku story is a must for all people appreciating slow food and wine connoisseurs. There is no written menu since they only serve fresh food. It is best just to indicate if there is something you cannot eat and then let the excellent and very experienced waiters to guide you through your meal. They will accompany each course with a glass of different carefully selected wine if you do not choose a bottle yourself, explaining all about the vintage and the meal itself in the process. The courses are all carefully thought-through and executed flawlessly. Basically, you cannot go wrong no matter what you choose (or what they bring you).

For a weekend getaway filled with elegant hedonism, I have yet to find a place that will do it better.

Room Tip: The basic rooms in Kukuriku are like suites in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolaRasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel along with my colleagues from August 2012 to April 2013 on and off for up to two weeks at a time and I cannot think of enough good things to say about it, I stayed in a few different rooms but without exception each was superb. The furnishings and general atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful, the staff are helpful and courteous, and the restaurant is great, If you have a big appetite go for the meat or fish dinner option it is a fixed menu each evening with about 5/6 courses and different wines to go with each dish, (if you are that way inclined) and every mouthful is superb.
If like me this is a little too much just ask what they have and something can be arranged to suit.
There are lots of small restaurants and bars down the hill in the village and they all serve excellent food. A special mention here for my watering hole the 'Guitar bar' who always made us extremely welcome. I would also like to give a particular big Thank you to Ingrid, Radmila, Dominic, Dan, Nenad and the whole management team who, even during times when there were functions on in the hotel always managed to make us welcome and invite us to join in.
Thank You all.
Don't take my word for it go and see for yourself 'Superb'

Room Tip: If you get a room a the front top floor the views to the mountains over the rooftops are superb, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
1,537 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

In usually rather poor hotel scene in Croatia, Kukuriku stands out - great place, on the top if the hill, n a middle of an old village, the hotel was basically done from the scratch, building greatly designed rooms with nice bathrooms (you can almost swim in the tub) and fireplaces while preserving all old stones.

A great restaurant on the premises - if you drink too much, just couple of stairs to reach your bed (very comfortable by he way).

Room Tip: get the room on the top floor to enjoy panoramic vue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

New hotel, beautifully decorated, the rooms beautiful. Still would pick the food in the restaurant, which was the top.
If you want to escape the day - that's two and more in area Rijeka / Kastav / Matulji .... my recommendation Hotel Kukuriku / Kastav

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBilkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salernes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We found this Hotel on Tripadvisor and it looked the best along our route from France to Montenegro. In fact it was better than we had hoped, a huge bedroom, big bathroom with a bath (which my wife insists on) and fine, contemporary design. The member of staff on the front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant was perfect because we wanted two starters and no mains. We chose fish as our first course and meat for our second and left the choice up to them. In fact they also gave us an "amuse bouche" and with every course a different glass of white wine. All were excellent. With desert and wine, our bill came to 76 euros. The town is also delightful, with views of the sea.However, I would definitely ask not to be on the top floor.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastav
1.6 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
251 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Agava
Hotel Agava
#13 of 31 in Opatija
219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kukuriku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kukuriku

Property: Hotel Kukuriku
Address: Lokvina 3, Kastav 51215, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kastav
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kastav
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kukuriku 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kukuriku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing