We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Hotel le Prieure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Prieure
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rancourt
Chedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a nice hotel! After a 64 mile bicycle ride from Aire-sur-la-Lys we were very pleased to see our pretty hotel up on the hill!
The lady at the reception allowed us to put our bikes in their salon downstairs. Rooms were very comfortable and I had no trouble with any noise but I do wear ear plugs! We had a bath with a hand-held shower which some people might not like. The water was really hot - fantastic!
Our room was at the front and we had our window open all night but were not troubled by noise, as I said. Some people in our group heard the geese on the farm over the road in the morning but the autoroute and high speed trains didn't disturb anyone - they are about a mile away. One of our group complained of loud snoring in an adjacent room so maybe the walls were quite thin.
Evening meal was delicious. Many of us chose the set menu where there was plenty of choice for the three courses. Rabbit was great.
We cycled past many cemeteries and stopped sometimes - they were very interesting and atmospheric. We wish we'd had more time to have been able to go to Thiepval on the way.
Next day the breakfast was good - self-service, continental-style with ham, cold hard-boiled eggs, cheese, etc.

Room Tip: Maybe better at the back due to road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethalatethannever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
27
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The average rating is a little harsh, but the room, toilet and bathroom were basic and not particularly clean. The bed was very comfortable so we did have a good nights sleep! The plus point is the food - we had half-board and the meal was the best of our five day visit to Germany and France. Great value. Breakfast was okay - no complaints.
We plan to return to the area to visit the 1st World War sites and may use Le Prieure again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A very comfortable hotel with excellent food deserving of a higher Logis rating. We stayed for two nights but would use it as a first or last night stopover when travelling in France. Just 2 hours maximum from Calais it is great. the room we had was not new but in good order and the staff attentive. Rancourt is an ideal position for touring the Somme area battlefields, Cemeteries and Museums. We will be back!

Room Tip: It has a busy road so a room at the back may be better, though we did get some noise from the factor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalruggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This strange looking remote hotel is very convenient for visiting the Somme. It is on a small road but it does get busy with lorries & deliveries to the bakery factory at the back. From the outside it does indeed look like an Indian restaurant. The ground floor appears to be very grand but the bedrooms are basic. We arrived early afternoon and had to wait 15 minutes for someone to appear to check us in. As MuggleB reported there was too much bedroom furniture! The four poster bed frame was way over the top with a smaller divan bed inside (why??) which left a fairly dangerous gap between the bed and the wooden frame. We too had to move the table and chairs to navigate round the bedroom.
We took the half board option so had a choice of two dishes for each course which were excellent. Only problem was that there is an extreme shortage of staff so just three people were running around serving in the bar, in the restaurant and at check in.
The next evening the same menu was presented. Well we didn't want to eat the same meal again so we pointed this out. After 10 mintes the frazzled waiter returned with one more option per course written on his order pad. Obviously no-one ever stays half board more than one night!!!! The a la carte had may choices so a far better option.
When we checked out, again a queue due to the undertaffing problem, they had charged us for the extra "off menu" choices plus half board! It took three people to sort that one out.
Overall though the hotel is OK for a one night stay. The food is good and if you don't mind waiting for bar/check in service then it is a reasonable choice if you are in the area and don't want to worry about finding car parks etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel as an overnight stop on our way to Verdun.

Our room was at the back and could have been spacious if it hadn't been crammed with furniture. The four-poster bed was fine but the two large dressing tables, table and chairs made it difficult to navigate. The bathroom was huge but almost empty - just a bath and sink; the toilet was in a separate room completely.

We ate in the restaurant where the food was very good, but the portions were huge. Our starters were the size of a substantial main course so although we had gone for a Prix Fixe Menu we were unable to manage a complete meal. The waiter was charming and helpful.

Breakfast in the morning was an average buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We were looking for an overnight hotel on our way back to Calais from the Bescancon area and chose this little gem. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but is easily accessible from the A26 travelling north and you don't have to go back on yourself to rejoin the A26.

On arrival we were upgraded from a single room to two adjoining rooms for our party of 3 - FOC. The other family we were travelling with had a room for 4.

Our rooms were on the second floor and to be honest, could do with updating. They were typically "french" but were clean and comfortable.

We ate in the Hotel restaurant and were very pleasantly suprised. The food was excellent and of a very high quality. There seemed to be quite a few locals eating at the restaurant which is always a good sign. Our only criticism of the restaurant (and it might be a French thing) was that the waitress wanted to know our desert choice before we had even eaten our starter or main. The waitress made us laugh as she spoke very little english and the only words she really knew were "I speak French. I not speak English." which she repeated quite a few times for our pleasure :)

Breakfast was buffet style and reasonable value.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for anyone looking for an overnight around the St-Quentin area/route back to Calais.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P0tt3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Came across this hotel on the road side and thank god we did. We wanted to stay in the town of Albert to see the museum but found the town a little ruff. Found this hotel and the cost was 68 euro for the room for two of us. The resteraunt was classy, the staff were so friendly and the food was great. Would stay here again when next in the area. The hotels in the towns near were ruff and not sharp or classy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancourt
7.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
150 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Le Saint Claude Peronne Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
10.6 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
476 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge des Remparts
Auberge des Remparts
#2 of 2 in Peronne
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Prieure

Property: Hotel le Prieure
Address: 24 Route Nationale 17, 80360 Rancourt, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Rancourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rancourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing