We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise!”
Review of Hotel U Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel U Ruze
Ranked #1 of 6 Slavonice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In this small village near the Austrian border in the Czech Republic is this charming, family owned hotel. It is small, only about 12 rooms, but is beautifully kept and you can see pride of ownership. It has all the modern conveniences including internet, a lovely breakfast, and wonderful, warm, welcoming service. The owner has a wine cellar in the hotel and there is a great restaurant, all very reasonably priced. This is a true find in this area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbuntarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here on a tour of Bohemia and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel is. The rooms are comfortable and are a good size. The beds were also comfortable. We had a room overlooking the street, and with birds chirping and the windows open we had a pleasant afternoon "chilling out." The owner is a man who aims to please, and the staff members were very pleasant. He has a very interesting real wine cellar below the hotel, and we had a brief wine tasting. If you are in this part of Central Europe I recommend both the hotel and the city.

Room Tip: We liked having Room 3, which overlooks the main street. There is relatively no traffic, and the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel was barely large enough to accommodate the 17 members of our party. The hotel is family owned and run. Service is outstanding, wi-fi is free and works well. We had 2 breakfasts and a lunch in the small dining room. The food was fresh and well served. The rooms are small but ours had a kitchenette, a bedroom with a king size bed and both a toilette room and a separate room with shower and sink. The hotel does have a wine cellar built below street level (actually a man-made cave carved out of the rock), and a pool which we did not have time to use. The location in the village was central although the village is so small, it would be hard not to be central.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I felt home here. Wonderful atmosphere: quiet, cozy, brilliant staff. Breakfast was lovely and you can have lunch/dinner here (was freshly cooked, very tasty!). I wouldn't hesitate to book it again for the next time in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egidanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely little place with comfy rooms, a small kitchenette and a wonderful innkeeper. Our room was on the third floor and was very light and cheery. Not much room but we did have all of the amenities needed. It looked like the place had been recently renovated. It was very quiet at night and slightly off of the town square. The breakfast was very good. The innkeeper didn't speak much English but we were able to communicate very well and she was very helpful as we had a cycle mechanical which needed to be addressed. She was helpful in accomplishing that for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The rooms have been updated and may not look perfect but everything is in place. But the surprises are the additions, an excellent sauna and swimming pool on the first floor, bit of a surprise to look out of the window! A wine list of exceptional quality and fair price, only Moravian wines, and thank god for that, and selected by someone who knows the pitfalls; good Moravian wine is wonderful but your chances of getting the less than perfect high. Will be going back to explore the wonders of this list as soon as I can. Kind and helpful staff should also be mentioned.
I will leave it to other explorers to describe the unexpected surprises also available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strunkovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Slavonice hotels
0.1 mi away
Rekreacni dum Slavonice
Rekreacni dum Slavonice
#2 of 4 in Slavonice
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartmany pod Vezi
Apartmany pod Vezi
#1 of 4 in Slavonice
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arkada
Hotel Arkada
#2 of 6 in Slavonice
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Ruze

Address: Namesti Miru 452, Slavonice 378 81, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Slavonice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Slavonice
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel U Ruze 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel U Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing