We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!! I recommended 100%” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pilot Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!! I recommended 100%”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had the opportunity to spend 10 days with my five year-old son in this fabulous resort. We live in London and we were looking for a children friendly place to spend our summer holidays and I do believe this was the perfect place. The food is great, the staff is great and the whole infrastructure is great. We could see there were many Russians and German families but it was a not an issue for us because we all were having a holidays. The kids club was amazing and my son was really happy. He felt a bit isolated at the beginning because the majority of the kids did not speak English however after few days he was more confident participating in the kids activities and the girls from the Kids Club were great with him. They have live shows every night so all kids can enjoy. They have many activities during the day if you want to participate, My son cried the day when we left the hotel and our experience here will be in our memories forever. I will come back again if I have the chance.

Room Tip: We have a hotel near the main swimming pool and playground so my son was really happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    325
    90
    24
    17
See reviews for
563
351
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of it's location and were two adults and our 10yr old daughter. On a nice sandy beach away from the main centres of Rethymon and Chania, but still accessible. We knew the national road ran through the middle of the hotel and were a little surprised at the level of traffic noise, especially at night. Getting from one side of the hotel to the other is a walk through a not very nice tunnel.Our room was on the beach side of the road, the older part of the hotel, but we think the better side to be on because of the beach, nice pool, bar and restaurant for breakfast and evening meals. The room could have been a bit bigger and a door adjoining the next room which amplified noise from the Russian neighbours, but was entirely adequate.
The restaurants on the mountain side of the road weren't as good, in our opinion, and there is a stage right there for shows etc. There is a free kids lunch buffet, open for 3 or 4 hours, which was great but we felt unnecessary really.
There were alot of Russians and they were lapping up everything on offer. Some were arrogant, rude and pushy, but not all. Some Germans were just as bad. You are not supposed to reserve sunbeds but the Germans and, in the second week of our stay, the English had their towels down early at the beach side pool. The main pool on the mountain is also very nice and quite quiet but this maybe due to lack of sunbeds.
The beach is fabulous and Georgioupolis is a very pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the beach with stunning scenery. We ate at restuarant Vasilikos twice and the food and service were excellent. Rethymon is about 25mins on the bus and Chania about 45 mins.
The food at the hotel was reasonably good but not great and didn't vary much. The 10am finish of breakfast was strictly enforced as we saw 1 or 2 people turned away from breakfast when turning up 5mins after 10am.
Everything was very clean,pools, room etc, all bar and restaurant staff were excellent, very pleasant and friendly. Front desk staff, we felt, weren't as friendly and just did what was needed, nothing more. WiFi "Hotspot" was rubbish. Drinks a little over priced. Loads of stuff for the kids.
Overall the hotel was very good and we enjoyed our stay but not 5star.

Room Tip: I would say stay on the mountain side of the road/hotel but spend your time on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ManWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Despite booking 10 months in advance they did not have our booking - resulting in our family being separated on the first night and sleeping in a camp bed - not quite the luxury holiday we had shelled out a fortune for.
Continual problems as when they did enter the booking it was for B&B and not HB so had to try and explain at each meal time that we were not to be charged again - they were unable to change the computer system.
Drinks were expensive - small bottle of coke was 3.50 euros, small bottle still water 2.70 euros - pints of local beer over 4 euros.
Couldn't leave kids in the kids' club as it was not geared towards kids that spoke English.
During the fortnight met only one other English speaking couple - the rest from mostly Russia or Eastern Europe.
On the plus side the food was good, plentiful and fresh - typical of All Inclusive hotels. The resort was attractive, the pools good though there could have been more sun beds at the busier pools. A shaded area for the kids to play would have been good as the equipment was too hot to play on during the day.
The beach was excellent - if you want a sun bed get there before 10.00am.
Downside is that if you're not into beach/pool holidays there's not much else to do. We hired a car and visited Chania, Rethymno and Heraklion and Plakios. Lake Kournas was a revelation too.
Finally have to say the everyday working staff were excellent - the cleaners and waiting staff could not have done more and were very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were sent to this hotel because of the overbooking of our hotel.

Location: there is nothing outside the hotel. The nearest village is 15 min walking and there is nothing to visit except a nice little white church (have good shoes when visiting).
The hotel is separated in two with the national road passing through. One side is on the beach, the other part is around the pools. You need to cross a tunnel under the road to go to the beach.

Beach: wonderful sandy beach, plenty of sunbeds, clean sea. The strong point for the hotel.

Food: try the greek specialities they are very good, as well the dessert. For the grills and vegetables not really good. Lobster evening very nice at the beach restaurant (extra charge for it). Even in half-board or full-board the drinks are extra (even the water).

Service: rooms very clean, reception stuff very nice as well, restaurant stuff as well nice and fast.

Pools: nice and clean, there are 4 or them, but quite fresh even in July. Not enough sunbeds even if there is space available around the pools.

Rooms: now here is the bad part of it. The rooms are dated, need serious works, their location can change everything (i'm wondering if the price is different for the same type of room and different location). Then it was a whole story trying out different rooms: room at the very end of the property next to the road and facing a bush, noise from the electrical panel (we had to switch off completely the electricity in order to sleep), A/C leaking, toilet leaking. The bathrooms really do not correspond to a 5*.
But we had a very nice junior suite directly on the beach for one night (only) waiting for our room to be available. That one was renovated and it was indeed very nice.

Kids activities: if your kids speak russian then perfect.

Entertainment: we do not really enjoy, but ok it's personal taste in the end.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms (like 2034) very nice directly on the beach. Refuse rooms near the national road t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were there in July 2014.
95% of the customers were from Russia. They behave better then I used to see when I lived in USSR.
But, they still can surprise a western person when they take hold of an umbrella on the beach by putting their towels there in the early morning. During breakfast, they still cut in front of you (they're used to deficit and large crowd).
Good news: they were not drunk and did not curse and did not fight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

a little late reviewing this hotel but stayed here first week of may,overall a nice place to stay but a little spread out,spent most of our time on the beach which was very clean with loungers a plenty din't use the pools as it was just warming up (weather) but they looked very inviting.room was of a good size and very clean,with a balcony overlooking the sea.the eating areas are also very clean and well presented,but, and this is where it's not quite 5* a little caoutic with people like ants milling around,not sure what they want or where to go,and the first time I've ever had a soup bowl as a cereal bowl yes you use the same for both.we were full board but only used it once,it makes me uneasy watching people eat for the sake of eating! the only thing I thought was 5*was the drinks prices I mean come on 3 euros for the smallest bottle of coke.take a a lovely stroll up to the town about 15 mins plenty of pubs and very reasonable prices sinatras bar was our favourite very welcoming.

Room Tip: rooms on the beach best views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMember021520112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pilot Beach, CRETE, June 2014
Booked with Purple Travel, who I can recommend as being helpful & very efficient.

Flew Ryanair into Chania & picked up a hire car, 45mins drive to resort.
Ryanair, typical of a budget airline flight but I have to say there was no fuss at the airport regards, hand luggage or seats so overall not too bad.

Firstly I have to mention that prior to departure I contacted the resort to clarify terms of the booking. I was told I had to pay extra for drinks even though I had booked Full board. I contested this as on the website there is no ‘just FB option’ there is only FB+. The agent got involved and I had it confirmed in writing that the booking included the drinks with meals. Very confusing!

Although I had requested 2 units close by one another on arrival we (party of 5+1 baby) split into 2 separate accommodation which were at either end of the resort, some 10mins walk away from each other. We had booked the more expensive junior beach suite. We complained & were offered 2 close to each other at the back of the resort, however my husband and I would be downgraded. Eager to begin the holiday and settle in we accepted, but I think we lost out there.

The resort is kept to a very high standard; the staff are on the go constantly to maintain the gardens and accommodation. The coastal ‘National rd’ cuts straight through the center of the resort, the beach being on one side. An underpass makes it easy to get from one side to the other though. The beach is safe, shelving slowly into the deeper water, great for kids to play. The hotel pools were freezing cold even the baby pool, the sea was actually warmer!

Used the car a couple of days (weather was miserable mid-week) to explore. In land offers some marvelous scenery, roads cutting through mountains, with picturesque villages, wineries and countryside.

There are mosquitos and we all got bitten, if they bother you, take plenty of repellent. One of our apartments became infested with ants crawling up the walls and on the patio which was particularly annoying with the baby crawling about. This issue took quite a few calls to get it resolved.

We were on the full board + plan, breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks in the restaurant with your meal. Food was generally good. It does baffle me though that a good moussaka and other Greek delicacies common in Greek restaurants here elude chef’s in Greek hotels!

At breakfast you take the water for tea from a catering urn, the water is not hot enough, 4 tea bags per cup are required to color the water, tea is cold & still weak. This could be for safety reasons with children running around in the dining area, but it’s managed at other hotels so why? Coffee is brought to you if you ask and it’s hotter. At lunch and evening meals we were offered water, a soft drink each + a beer or wine (1/2 bottle and sometimes a full bottle depending on who was serving you!?!). All purchased drinks and snacks are pricey, 3 cocktails at the pool bar cost me 27 Euros.

The staff were all very well-presented, attentive & friendly.

There is a dress code for the evening, although one or two men were in shorts, which seemed to be overlooked.

The couple travelling with us used the spa for a treatment & Jacuzzi, which they described as expensive for what you got and the Jacuzzi was cold! The experience was an overall ‘disappointment’.

The Greek night at the beach pool restaurant was really entertaining; we all thoroughly enjoyed the Greek music & dancing experience.

Would I go back? Maybe, probably not, too many other places to explore but the resort is very smart & the accommodation is comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandizzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.9 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
15.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
62.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
#3 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Beach Resort

Property: Pilot Beach Resort
Address: Eparchiaki Odos Georgioupolis-Kournas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pilot Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pilot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hotel Pilot Beach
Pilot Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing