We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great people, Great time, Great value”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Interiour sample
kitchenette
bedroom
Location on map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
RichardKa...
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people, Great time, Great value”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent three weeks with the family at Villa Galini and it was truly a great vacation for us and our three daughters - 10,13 and 15. The flat was modest and a bit small for all of us, but we made it work and for the price, this was a great value and deal - and allowed us to spend 21 days in the sun rather than two weeks as normal.

The WIFI was aweome full stop. That was great for our family - the kids could even watch Netflix movie sometimes at night.

The owner Sifis Oikonomakis and his family are wonderful. Really great people. The pool is clean and surroundings are really great with an excellent view.

We really likes the fact being a little higher up the hill than our normal beach vacations meant no need to turn on the air-conditioning because the wind ripped through our apartment and even better - there were no mosquitoes. That really makes it worthwhile. The beach and village are a bit of a hike (well over a kilometre) but we had a car the whole vacation which we recommend as the road down to the beach is a bit dangerous with no curbs - especially at night.

They did a great job keeping the rooms clean with fresh sheets every couple of days. Which we say the owner doing himself on occasion.

Staying with a family rather than in a hotel makes all the difference for us - it's much more charming and a much better way to experience Crete. Rather than staying in a plastic resort, with disinterested staff.

Sifis was really great in tuning us into local events - Cretan bands playing in small mountain villages nearby, local concerts and his favourite restaurant up the street. There's no restaurant at Galini which was fine for us - no pressure to eat there and we always prefer to make our own food with the amazing local produce and goods.

This is our fourth trip to Crete as a family and we found Georgiopoulos, the village nearby, to be most charming with a plethora of tall eucalyptus trees, nice restaurants, a fun city square and good shopping. Being right between Chania and Rethymnon meant we could do day trips either way easily with the car and get the city experience as well.

All in all, great vacation and we would be happy to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and family
Liked least: Prickly vines on patio damaged some hanging clothes.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear Mr. Kastelein,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are from our site gratefull for guest like you, who know the difference between commercial tourism and real hospitality. We will try our best to make your next vacation in our house even better and look forward to see you soon again.
best regards
Sifis + Charis
Villa Galini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soffía S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great swimming pool and friendly host.”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Galini is situated in a perfect place, surrounded by Cretan mountains, away from the touristy places and yet a short drive to the next town and short distance to many beautiful beaches.
The building itself is covered with flowers, in the backyard you have a green hill and the cretan goats jumping around. 2 balconies with chairs and table, lovely to have your breakfast.
The swimming pool is clean, with toys for kids, many benches and always someone to offer you a drink at the bar.
The owner mr.Sifis and his family are super friendly. No problem to use the washing machine facilities. Our bed-sheets were changed regularly and new towels brought, also no problem to have extra towels when needed.
Inside, the apartment are small and simple but comfortable and always clean. It could use some more kitchen equipment (bowls, glasses, cups...) but we managed quite fine and we never had any big meals at the apartment anyways (just breakfast).
Wi-fi connection was a bit on and off but amended during our stay and worked perfect after that.
If you are looking for a place to stay mainly as a base and have day tours from, 2 adults + 2 children f.ex. like us, this is a perfect place. You feel away from everything and yet just a 7 min drive to the next big town (Giorgiopoli) and 30-40 min to many fun destinations around.

Thank you Sifis and best regards from Iceland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, swimming pool, hosts
Liked least: Lack of utensils in the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again next year.
Villa Galini
Sifis Oikonomakis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksandr...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy, safe, family-friendly ;)”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
8
people found this review helpful

cosy, safe, family-friendly place;) *** *** *** ***
Lovely location, very nice and helpful owners.
Beautiful village although with roadworks, temporary hopefully.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review! You are allways welcome and we will do our best to keep you satisfied with our services.
best regards
Ch.Argyropoulos
Villa Galini - Exopolis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalba F
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Grazie per la bella recensione. Siamo lieti di darvi il benvenuto ai nostri appartamenti di nuovo e si adopererà per offrire una vacanza migliore.
Cordiali saluti
Villa Galini
Sifis + Charis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Liebe Frau Hornung,
herzlichen Dank für die nette Bewertung. Wir möchten Ihnen versichern, dass wir uns weiterhin, auch anhand Ihrer Vorschläge, bemühen werden, solche Verbesserungen herbeibeizuführen, die Ihnen einen noch besseren Urlaub bereiten werden. Wir werden uns sehr freuen, Sie erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen und möchten hoffen, dass Sie uns weiterempfehlen!
Mit sonnigen Grüssen aus Kreta
Sifs + Charis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassou M
Marseille, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Merci pour votre belle revue. Nous nous réjouissons de votre prochaine visite chez nous.
Villa Galini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Servicen
Liked least: Ej rimligt gång avstånd till affär
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your kind reply. We hope to see you soon again and wish you a healthy and happy new year !
Sifis Apartments - Exopolis
Charis Argyropoulos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing