We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel in a beautiful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I returned from a week all inclusive at the La Palma Princess on Christmas Eve.We knew from reading the details on the hotel that, yes, it was in a quiet location and was a "bit remote". Althought the hotel is in a quiet location it was as described and was just the holiday we expected, so no surprises there.
The journey from the airport to the hotel was not as bad as I had expected and took around 50 minutes or so. The roads are certainly windy and I am quite a nervous passenger but I have to say that I felt very safe as the coach driver seemed very accomplished.
Check in took about 20 minutes or so and our cases were left for the porters to take to our room whilst we went straight to the restaurant for dinner.
Our room was very spacious and clean. It could be described as a little dated but we had no complaints and the bed was huge. The bathroom had a fab shower with great water pressure and hot water at all times, there was also a bath if you preferred.
We used the late breakfast area in the mornings as it was lovely to eat outside in the sun overlooking the sea on the patio area. Food was freshly cooked to order and we had no complaints about the breakfasts as there was plenty of choices.
The restaurant in the evening provided a wide menu with plenty of meats, fish, pasta and salads etc. There was a whole area devoted to desserts too if you have a sweet tooth and 3 icecreams to choose from. All in all I think that the food was of a good standard and there was something for everyone.
Lunch could be taken at the main restaurant or you could go to the pizzaria where you could eat in or take out different sandwiches, freshly made pizzas, burgers, chips etc. Food was of an excellent standard here.
Drinks were available on tap in the way of wines and beer together with the soft drinks. The poolside bar had a menu for all inclusive guests with a wide range of choices including some cocktails which I sampled!
Evening entertainment was mixed. We went to the see the entertainment every evening and there were a few good acts and it was fun to watch.
The pools are huge and there is no worries of any overcrowding with regards to sunbeds as there were hundreds available. My partner had his birthday whilst we were staying and we were very touched by a bottle of cava which appeared on ice in our room that evening, A very nice touch from the hotel and a birthday card too.
My husband used the spa as a treat for his birthday and had a full body massage which he said was very good. He also got to use the hydrojets too for no extra charge.
Overall we were very happy with the hotel, the food and facilities and would recommend the hotel for anyone who wants a week or two in the sun especially at this time of the year, as the weather was 23 to 25 degrees every day. If you are looking for a clubbing or action packed tourist area don't come to La Palma, but if you want a relaxing break in beautiful unspoilt surroundings then try this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunnyhand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,103
    1,536
    463
    98
    69
See reviews for
1,187
2,445
76
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I should have done this when returning from the holiday but work demands!!
Now thinking of the past year remembered a lovely holiday in this hotel.
We travelled with friends and although we had to wait to check in, I think this was due to the customer care that they gave everyone whilst checking in, Everything completely explained.
The holiday Rep was lovely and sought us out when our car hire fell through to give us time to make alternative arrangements.
The hotel is big and hilly but I expected that as it was in the brochure and my hips needed a working out. The breakfast was varied and we did make it to the Al fresco on the last day and wished we had found it earlier as it was lovely to sit by the sea in November eating brekkie.
We had lunch at the Pizzeria most days and my party loved the pizzas although I choose the lovely salads.
Evening meal was a huge choice and every night I found something to eat. The chef special was lovely and even the little touches was catered for e.g. special plum sauce for the lamb.
We went for quite a few walks and one day happened to be walking past the banana plantation production factory and watched them in action, preparing the bananas for market. After seeing the man carrying the banana bunch on his back sweating, made me think of our throw away culture and have made a conscious effort to not waste my bananas at home.
We hired a car for 3 days and as earlier said you need to be able to drive nmountains but my hubbie coped and we went to the highest point of the island. We also visited the newly oped tobacco museum and would highly recommend as the tour is in english and very history based with cartoons which would amuse kids. In fact we had a local school following us around and they were mermerised.
La Palma is high on my list to return and would recommend, (in fact I have to anyone that will listen) and will definitely return.
Our rooms was lovely and not dated, the maid kept them immacutely clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kcsan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel over christmas, and we were not disappointed in any way. The location is a little remote surrounded by a Banana plantation, but that did not matter as we went for a chill and thats exactly what we got. The setting is beautiful as you approach the hotel from the airport its at the bottom of a mountain so looking down from the coach window you get to see an aerial view though the ride itsself can be a little hairy,
The rooms were spacious and very clean. the food was excellent, with a varied choice.
I will certainly be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We visited this hotel for 1 week from the 16th December and came back from this holiday totally refreshed and relaxed. This is definitely a hotel we would return to and we don't make a habit of visiting places over and over. If you go here for 2 weeks its probably worth getting out and visiting other places as the hotel is quite remote and you might get bored if you're used to something more active. If you want peace and quiet with lots of lazing around this is a good place to go. The hotel was not full and with 11 pools there was enough space for everyone and it was easy to find a sunbed and a quiet spot to yourself. If you enjoy walking and places off the beaten track, non commercial and not too developed for tourists this is a good island to visit and a good hotel to use.

We changed our booking to a suite a week before our departure and when we arrived we though that they'd made a mistake. We had 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies, 4 beds ( plus 2 convertible sofa beds ) , 2 seating areas and a fantastic sea view. The suites are in fact two adjoining rooms , but one room on its own is spacious for 3 people. Each bathroom had a walk in shower which was enormous, and a bathtub and a toilet. The block we were in was only occupied by another 2 couples so noise was not an issue and sleep was blissful. We had a blocked sink at one point and when we reported this someone came and sorted out within 10 minutes of the call. Although we have had suites before this has got to be one of the best we've had and tremendous value for money. When we arrived the bell boy took our suitcases to our room while we went for a late dinner. The bell boy service is well worth it as the site is big and steep in places and it takes a while to walk around and find your room.

Food is a good standard , although if you have any dietary requirements it may help to advise them in advance. The staff are helpful once they know you can't eat particular things . Our daughter has an egg and nut allergy and we had translated this into Spanish and put it on card which we took to the restaurants. Most of the staff have limited English and it can take a while to make your needs known. It also depends which chefs are on duty as to what you get having explained what you want; for example we had about 3 different versions of macaroni cheese which ranged from barely edible to delicious. Most morning we ate in La Choza which is the late breakfast restaurant. The choice here is good and cooked breakfasts are fresh, and the queue is worth it. We ate in the Pizzeria once and this was enough for us. Its ok but only if you like burgers, chips and pizza every day but does have the advantage of being take away if you want it. We preferred lunch in the main restaurant which served better quality food. The all inclusive drinks were value for money , and the wine and beer on tap were satisfactory quality.

There are activities going on for those who want to try things like volley ball, archery etc but the animation team here are very low key compared to other hotels we have been in and we barely knew they were around. The evening entertainment is better when it is done by professionals. We enjoyed the Chinese acrobats . The African acrobats 'Kenya ' were also very good but we were kept waiting for over three quarters of an hour and no one bothered to tell us what was happening. If you want a good bar service then Helga is the lady to approach but bar staff are minimal at times, probably because the hotel is not full.

The grounds are beautiful and we took pleasure in wandering around as its well maintained. The building is styled on a Spanish Bodega and is very traditional in places but with an elegance to it. The spa is good value compared to other spas we have used in other hotels and the facilities are good. Be careful if you wander into the 'relax' area as we accidentally did and discovered it is for nudists. It has a gym but we did not use these facilities. There are graduated steps for those who need a less steep approach to the hotel and they come in useful for ladies in high heels, but it is advisable to have some flat comfortable shoes for walking around. The dress code is smart casual and quite relaxed compared to some hotels but when guests take the trouble to dress nicely it is appreciated by the staff.

This hotel may be too quiet and too remote for some, but we loved it and would not be put off by the journey from the airport which is an hour long and along roads which have some sharp bends and some steep drops. Sick bags were handed out by our driver but they were not needed; over an hour then they might have become necessary. However, we felt the journey was worth it. The hotel is in quite a sheltered location , depending on which way the wind is blowing . On the days we were there it was mid to high seventies and on a few days it was windy but still hot.

This holiday was value for money even with the additional supplement for a suite and we also booked a late check out for 20 euros as we had a late flight. The safe was only 2 euros per day. Rooms also had a fridge ( two with a suite ) and plenty of wardrobe & cupboard space. Our rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed regularly. The balcony doors have fly screens to prevent unwanted insects. The TV's are adequate and the reception was not the best but we rarely used them as we weren't there to spend our time watching tv.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite its worth upgrading for the extra space, comfort and the luxury of having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddy198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were not sure what to expect given some of the reviews before, but were so glad we picked to stay there. First of all the coach from the airport is probably under an hour, yes it goes around a lot of bends but nobody on our bus looked unwell. It's a great arrival as you can see the hotel from above as your descend from around 5000 feet on the coach.

Check-in was a short wait and we asked about upgrading to a sea view but none were available, they said they would have rooms the next day and to check back. Make sure you use the porter service to get your luggage to the room as it is a little steep but more so it can be confusing which way to go.

The rooms are arranged in blocks with two or three floors, the room is a very traditional orange but really fits the hotel. As some reviews have said it is a little dark but with the sun streaming in the windows come sunrise it makes a nice effect. There is a large sofa bed which can be used and it wouldn't be too much of a squeeze if you ended up sharing a room with more than two of you if travelling as a family.

The bathroom was a surprise as there had been no pictures on trip advisor but it had a huge bath (but with no showerhead for washing hair) and a seperate walkin shower big enough for too with the strongest water pressure of any hotel I have stayed in.

The food in the buffet restaurant was good, for our week we never got bored and I never saw the same thing once except where maybe a previous dish was being used as a salad or something (which really didnt bother me as it meant the hotel was serious about reducing their waster and providing value for money) On most nights there was at least one meat at the 'show kitchen' being calved off the bone, there were at least two or three other types of meat dishes and always two or three fish dishes. Along with this there were always five or six different vegetables and two type of pasta to choose with different sauces. The salad section had six pre-made salads and then a huge selection salad stuff for you to make your own salad with five or six dressings.

There was also two types of soup evey evening and at least nine or ten desserts to choose.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was good but we prefered to eat the later one by the pool where there was a more limited selection but eggs, bacon, sausage, omlettes cooks fresh to order by a wonderful lady who loved her job.

The pools were great and we had little trouble finding a nice spot most days. In November there was only one pool bar open but the wait was only ever a few minutes. In the evening the most I ever waited at the bars was four or five minutes (which compared to a lot of places here in the UK was nothing)

The entertainment in the evening was good to strange but having said that we were on an island where the population is the size of a small town in the UK so it is going to be a bit limited.

Now the location has been called in the middle of nowehere, yes to a certain extent that is right, but within walking distance is a beach and a cafe. By bus to the main town and there are several small places for food and drink and to just walk around plus there is a lovely walk from the town taking in two volcanoes ending up at a lighthouse and salt lake which would cost you probably 3 euros for. If you really want to see the island you need a car, if there are tour of you the trips offered work out very expensive and you can do it yourself much cheaper. We had a car for the week and enjoyed getitng around the island particularly the national park and the capital Santa Cruz where it was great to see a proper Canarian town without even a McDonalds or KFC in sight!

All in all we paid £450 for a four star all inclusive for a week where the service was great, food and drink good and all in all relaxing. Would we go again, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ade99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

just spent christmas at this charming hotel , the location is remote but just perfect for a week relaxing in the sunshine, the transfer from the airport is not for the faint hearted - think mountains / hairpin bends - but what views ! Would have to say the pools were too cold for me to get into no matter how hot a day it was - they do need to up the heating a little . Our standard room was spacious , clean and quiet and the hotel grounds are immaculate.
I have stayed in many hotels , but can honestly say that for freshness , quality , variety etc , the food was Fantastic - there was always plenty , no matter what time you arrived . breakfast is best taken at the poolside restaurant - it is very pleasant to sit and eat breakfast al fresco. The only criticism is the issue of the very outdated demand that gentlemen wear long trousers in the evening into the restaurant - this was not forewarned in the brochure and therefore my husband had to wear his Jeans every night -much to his dismay , as part of the holiday experience for him is to get away from being suited and booted all year . There was no other available dining option after 6pm when the pizzeria closed - so we missed out on the christmas gala dinner as we did not have the appropriate attire - when we approached the hotel with this and asked our choices it was eat pizza before 6pm / dont eat or comply with our rules - not a good attitute - Lets not forget it is our holiday - they are supposed to be helping us to enjoy ourselves , not imposing rules upon us . Anyway rant over ! but just be warned - all in all a lovely hotel with nice staff , in an excellent location .

Room Tip: pay the extra for a suite - they are enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JULIESOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryanovo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I spent two weeks in this lovely hotel. it is miles from anywhere, and to make the most of your holiday you really need to hire a car. La Palma is beautiful. the hotel was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We had upgraded to a sea view suite which was quite expensive, but the rooms were perfect.
The grounds of the hotel are well looked after although people with walking difficulties might have problems.
Evening entertainment was good and the all inclusive concept was first class.
The weather was glorious and in the mid 70's for our whole stay.
An excellent holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Turkinchagirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Property: La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing