We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel 6th -13th July 2012. We arrived at night time and check in took 10 minutes maximum. The reception was extremely helpful and welcoming. The complex is huge and finding your room is a bit of a pain especially at night as it is quite dimly lit. Once we did find our room our suitcases were waiting for us. We did notice a huge amount of mosquitos (we were ground floor) - We went straight back to reception and was given a first floor room and a jungle formula plug in (at no cost). The rooms are very clean and were cleaned every day. Our bed was huge and lovely to sleep in. The pools and complex are huge and noticed there was somebody cleaning the pool area every monring. It was spotless. Always spare sunbeds available. Amazing views and great weather (not too hot) The food was pretty average and after a week we were ready for a change but nothing terrible about it just bog standard all inclusive. There was quite often a 10-15 minute wait at the bar especially at night. It was never 3 deep but the waiters did take their time. We personally liked the fact that there were all inclusive drinks and option to buy branded drinks (cheap as chips anyway). We were fed up of the flies however this should not take away the fact that overall this hotel is a beautiful relexing place and la palma itself is quite, unspoilt with some amazing views. We would return for a relaxing week.

Room Tip: try and get a first floor room to avoid the mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraandJamie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    1,587
    473
    101
    69
See reviews for
1,243
2,537
80
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Arrived by First Choice Airways, which by the return journey will be my last choice. Hotel check in was very slow and by the time we were processed the lady had lost all patience and virtually threw the key card at us and told us to go forth and find our room in block 9. Eventually we did find the room and went straight to evening meal as it was gone 10 in the evening.
The room was a suite which consited of two rooms with the interconnecting door open. So we shut it and hardly ever went in there. dissappointing suite, not worth the extra, but the room itself was very comfortable, and in our weeks stay, 13th to 20th July 12, we never heard any noise at all. very good point. The hilly hotel site did wear you down throughout the week but we expected this so no surprise.
Food was good for mass caterering, but the attitude of the hotel to 'All Inclusive' residents was bad. they actually produced a list of Dont's and Dont's for us second class citizens.
We went on two trips that were fantastic if you liked negotiating 300 hairpin bends at 15% gradient on mountain-side roads up to 8000ft. to the top of the volcano. My wife loved it, I was **** scared, spent most of the time staring at the rock face instead of the shear drops that where ever present. My thanks to the fantastic Lady coach driver for getting me home safe and sound.
As previously said, the return flight was dire, with the lady in front already having extra leg room, decided she wanted some of our space as well, and threw her seat fully back,. even on landing she still kept it back, with no attempt by the stewardesses to correct this.
First Choice, you really need to brush up on your landing procedure safety conditions!
All in all a pleasant hotel, but with no beach was not what we wanted, totally my fault, I booked it. would we go back, no. Would we fly with First Choice / Thomson again, NO. That is after our 10th holiday with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sproggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

To sum up our stay here: The hotel is beautiful the setting is amazing. Located amongst a banana plantation in an elevated position overlooking the ocean. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Service could be greatly improved on, bar staff could be very rude and ignorant ( not all of them ). Food- had better but also had much worse, so good overall. Pool area is huge, no problem getting sunbeds, although the beds with shade had all been taken by 9 am ( but we were in high season). We wanted a relaxing break and that is exactly what we got. Would reccomend this hotel, we would return. Hopefully they work on their customer service though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is as many others have said, a lovely hotel. The welcome, the rooms, the food, the pools, no problem with sunbeds, (although the sad few are still out there with their towels, then turn up at 4:00 in the afternoon), all in all a fantastic spot. Really nice to laze around in the warm water at 7:30 in the evening when it was really quiet, although I was constantly amazed that it never seemed busy, yes meal times had lots of people around but I never felt rushed, and I personally enjoyed getting my own drinks rather than waiting for staff to do it.
Only two real issues, first the hotel whilst "exclusive" to First Choice/Thomson clearly isn't and caters to a range of guests on different packages, for me they should decide if they're going to be fully all inclusive or not as there was a perfectly good pizza restaurant on site that had five or six guest most lunchtimes because it was extra whilst the all inclusive snack bar was always busy, seemed crazy to staff one but have it empty.
My second issue is the flies in the snack bar, any hotel that sells fly swatters knows it has a problem!
Standing waiting for a pizza constantly brushing flies off, then looking at fruit and salad with the same things buzzing around is just irritating when it would be so easy to deal with. Nearly every review says the same thing. The hotel is clean, really clean, the rooms are well maintained, the pools are missing a few little tiles, not a big deal when you see how clean the pool area is.
Obvious question, would I go back, yes, because the good points are really good, and the climate is virtually perfect, even in August.
Can't comment on the entertainment as I didn't really see it, but it was there, and there were a lot of people watching, likewise during the day, sit quiet by the pool, or join in with the games whatever works for you.
One last thing, they offer a star gazing evening, if you've ever thought you'd like to look, worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DroitwichCaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this great hotel complex.

We had read the reviews from previous visitors and decided that as the hotel had far more positive reviews than negative reviews, then we would book the hotel especially at the price we got the 2 weeks for !!

PLEASE PLEASE IGNORE 99.9% of the moanings, they are not justified.

After a good relaxing flight, the transfer to the hotel was pleasant and no way as difficult or bad as many people had stated. The roads may be windy but no worse than other places we have stayed and certainly we didnt see anyone needing sick bags.

The first view even in darkness of the complex is one which will stay with us both for a long time, a most spectacular view of the pools all lit up and showed the size of complex.

The check in process was a little bit slow but when so many people are checking in at the same time, then a delay is expected but orange juice was available, however a nice touch was that parties with children or the infirm were directed to a seperate queue to help them check in quicker.

We were then advised that the restaurant was still open and we could have a meal which was the normal menu and not just a few leftovers.

The bags were portered to our room and after eating, we wandered to the room, via the pool area as we missed a sign for the block but our bags were waiting for us.

Before we had arrived, we emailed the hotel to say that this was a wedding anniversary trip and if possible, could we have a sea view room. The reply was that they could only guarantee a seaview room if we paid the supplement of 25 euros per night but we decided against this and took a chance.

What a very pleasant suprise as we were given a sea view room on the first floor in block 8.

The room itself was large and spacious with plenty of storage space and room to put the suitcases on top of the wardrobes so avoiding an often problem of tripping over suitcases that we have encountered in lesser hotels !!!!

The bed was huge and I am sure that a tribe of pygmies were staying at the bottom of the bed !!!!

The bathroom had both a shower and bath which was a great change from the usual tiny bathroom which always floods, this bathroom never flooded which is always good.

Food at the hotel is without doubt fresh and appetising and I would be very suprised if the pickiest of eaters couldnt find something. The duty manager was always available to discuss dietary requirements. A nice touch in the morning was cava for breakfast.

The meals in La Choza (poolside) were fresh and plentiful albeit the fastfood was sometimes a little too fast and we did discover some undercooked food.

People have mentioned the problems with flies and yes they were around and in the 2nd week, the hotel did start to use cloches to cover the hot food but the fly problem in general was no worse than many other places we have stayed.

We also ate in the Pizzeria which was not part of the all inclusive package but we did receive a 50% discount. This was good and a change to be served rather than self service but actually the pizza's from the La Choza were just as good and free !!!

The bars were always well stocked with a good choice fron the all inclusive range and were not watered down versions as people have suggested.

The staff in the bars were always very pleasant and despite what other have said, if you speak a little spanish then they respond with a smile, however they all work in their own way so you may have to wait a minute or 2 to be served, but it was never 3 deep at the bar as others have said,

All staff at the hotel were very welcoming from the maids to the porter staff to the grounds staff and rarely did we see a grumpy member of staff unlike other reviews !!! Maybe if you smiled at them then they will smile and speak to you !!

The pools and the pool area were always kepy very clean and having seen the number of staff working at 7 30 am to make sure it was ready for guests then it was a credit to the hotel management.

Sunbeds were plentiful and although shade was at a premium, then spots could always be found.

The animation team were young and keen but not pushy at all. The sports were a great way to mix up the day between sunbathing and eating.

Spa facilities, my wife did use them and was impressed with what she received and it was very quiet and under used.

Nightime entertainment - this was a mix of professional acts and the animation team. Some were excellent, good and average.

Hotel Location - as people have already said, the pool area to the accomodation blocks was up hill albeit plenty of ramps available.

The access to the mainpart of the hotel was also via steps or a ramp, so people could use either depending on their own mobility and to be honest, even if you were a little out of breath, then a cold beer or coke could be found in one of the bars !!

It is a bus ride to Funcaliente at the top of the hill, if you want to get out of the complex but no real need for that to happen.

The complex does have a small shop which apart from suntan lotion was generally very well priced especially the gifts.

We also hired a car for 3 days (90 euros all included except fuel) ) and this allowed us to see the whole of the island, even parts that Jay (Thomsons Rep) said wow, did you really get passed barlovento !!!!!

The view from the Observatories both into the volcano and across to Mount Teide on Tenerife were spectacular and not to be forgotten or missed. The roads are winding and slow but the journey is worth the time taken.

One special stopping point would be Mirador Del Timo where you could look down into Tazacorte from a little cafe 594 metres above, spectacular view and not to be missed,

Jay the Rep was a true credit to his industry and to Thomsons. He was always available to chat and offer information.

The hotel was no where near full to capacity (less than 50%) so perhaps if it was, then the pools ,bars and restaurants would be much busier and perhaps our review would be more about queing and lack of sunbeds but it wasnt.

After all the good points, just a slight grumble. The hotel needs to look at using the poo bars on an evening so that people can just chill by the waters edge and watch the sunsetting, a brilliant view and somewhere where you can spot whales and dolphines which we did on 2 occassions.

We will return to this hotel at somepoint in the future as it is away from hustle and bustle of major resorts and somewhere where you can relax unwind and chill.

Andy n Karen

Room Tip: rooms in block 8 are good, away from the pools but still close enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andynkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great holiday, only negative is that the pools need a good clean to remove the black mould. Lots of food and drink on the all inclusive menu. Very large site so never seemed busy. Loads of pools and shade by the pools. No beach except the 'pool with sand!'. Don't visit the capital Santa cruz as there isn't much to do or see. Overall a great holiday if u like some peace and quiet with great view of the sea and sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Having been here for a week at half term, we opted to take another week here, last minute. Brilliant taxi service collected us from the airport, Gregorio, at Taxi La Palma, so no worries about travel sickness on the windy roads, easy check in at the hotel as we arrived before the coaches. Had a sea view room without charge (normally €175) and pool towels and complimentary cava in the room, which was lovely.
Rooms and hotel areas are immaculately clean with fresh towels daily. Air con working all the time in the room and no problems with mosquitos, unless you sit outside at night, but take citronella candles with you and then no problems.
Last visit we could get food from the Pizzeria but as it was busier only all inclusive at La Choza and extra bars were open for drinks. In the evening more bars were open for all inclusive guests so no big queues to get drinks.
Plenty of activities and the children made lots of friends easily. Evening after show disco was great for the over 10s if they were still awake with regular displays of gymnastics and street dancing from multi talented kids. Great fun.
Have to request room extension the day before checking out, which is €40, but our room was not available for us to do this time, but the courtesy room is free and there is a half hour slot with fresh towels available, for free. Would use this free service again rather than the room extension as the storage room is next to reception as I had no worries about security and if you pack your travelling clothes in a smaller suitcase you only take one bag to the courtesy room when you collect your room key.
Taxi came promptly to take us back to the airport but the check in doesnt open until 5.15 pm so you don't need to leave the hotel until 430 to avoid queuing. This time, there was buy one get one free on extra leg room for €30, so no need to prebook when you book your flights. I would check with the travel agents to see if you cam get the transfer cost off the holiday which would be a saving as the taxi is a better option.
The only negative comment would be the pools were not as clean as they were in May/June so could do with a good scrub inside and at the bottom, but cleaner than a municipal pool in the UK.
Love going here as weather is hot and sunny and nice and relaxing. There are plenty of sights still to see so will go back for another week

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
934 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
248 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
558 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
574 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Property: La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing