We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Marina Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Studios
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Had a week here sep 17th-24th 2012. It was brilliant, as already endlessly said Katarina and Makis are superb friendly hosts.....A lot of the guests come back every year. The studios are very basic but clean and really all you need, the only minus point was the shower being cold nearly all the time (other people said the same so not just our room). The pool is fantastic and spotlessly clean.The weather was gorgeous tho so this wasnt really a problem. The studios themselves are 25 meters from the Moraitika "main road"..this being a lovely half mile strip of tavernas, bars, restaurants, souvenier shops, supermarkets etc. The beach is a slow 15 minute stroll down a narrow street running past the Marina Studios. When you get there you will find beach front bars for food and drinks all at very reasonable prices. Sunbeds 2 euros for the day, lager 2 euros to 3.5 euros depending on which bar, snacks from 3 euros up with many varied choices. Back to the "main road" and again loads of choices...our favourites were the Rose Garden restaurant (around 30 euros got us two 2 course meals with 2 drinks each) the food was top quality and delicious. As is the tradition we had a "free" Ouzo or Zambucha etc after we had paid up! We also loved The Islands restaurant, and probably best bar/taverna was Stavros's. There were plenty of Sky Sports around to keep up with the footy too.
In general we absolutely loved the place, everyone so friendly and pro English. Beautiful place, great weather, decent beach ( tiny bit shingley until you six inches into the sea!) great sea, great people. Great! Stop reading and book it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 week-27th Aug-3rd Sept. Booked up only a couple of weeks before as wanted a second last min holiday. After reading the excellent reviews me & my husband thought we would give it a go. I can see why it gets excellent reviews as it is just a lovely place. From the minute we arrived we had a warm welcome from Makis & felt like we were part of the family. The rooms are basic but very clean (having travelled to Greece before I already knew this) but were cleaned 6 days out of the 7 which is better than some 4 star hotels! The pool area was lovely & food served at the studios was lovely, thanks to Katerina, Makis & Pedro. Greek night was good & again the food was so good. 2mins from the studios you have the main strip & we were given tips on which restaurants to eat in. We particularly enjoyed the Island Restaurant & the Rose Garden. We didn't find it really expensive a carafe of wine was only €3.50 & beer only €1.80. Not bad! Moraitika is such a beautiful place, it isn't a really lively place but great for a relaxing holiday with bars there open late if you want it. We enjoyed meals out & a few cocktails after. Makis & Katerina are just really lovely people, it was my husbands birthday while there & they have him a birthday cake, bottle of wine & when we returned to our room they lit a candle on the balcony & put fresh flowers in a vase-what a lovely touch. They were always chatting & nothing too much bother. I would definitely like to return I'm the near future. I hear Katerina had her baby the week we came home so we wish them lots of love at this special time & look forward to meeting baby Pedro one day!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

stayed for 2 wks at marina studios (3-17th sept). cannot thank makis,pedros and chris enough for their warm welcome, they were so hospitable nothing was too much trouble. the apartments were clean and comfortable thanks to eleni. the greek night was great fun and highly recommended, makis is a very talented musician, food was lovely. the marina studios are in an ideal position for everything.. we were fortunate to have met katerina just before we left lovely lady,hope baby pedros is now home and doing well. can honestly say having holidayed in greece (various islands and accomodations over the last twenty years) that this was the best holiday weve had.and hope to go back soon. the pool and and surrounding areas are kept spotlessly clean, plenty of sunbeds and brollies.. we couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grahamanddiane-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Unfortunately our holiday didn't get off to the best of starts with an over 24hr delay at Manchester airport, however things certainly improved on our arrival at the studios. We were met by Mikey who showed us to our room, which as everyone has said was basic but clean, unfortunately we didn't get to meet Katerina as she was in hospital. The pool area was well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas, we made good use of the bar and the food from the snack bar was really good. The Greek night was the best we have ever been to and great fun, my husband especially enjoyed joining in with the belly dancing.
The resort itself was very quiet, perhaps it was just the time of year, most of the bars and cafes are along the main road however we did find a couple of gems which were off the main road with lovely views if you are prepared for a bit of a hill. Both are near the church, from the studios, make your way to the main road, cross over and follow the road to the right until you reach the road on your left leading up the hill to the church (you will see the church tower). There are two tavernas up the hill both are signposted at the bottom, The Village Taverna is very traditional and run by a wonderfully friendly family whose mother does the cooking, the food is fabulous, they will offer to choose dishes for you, my advice is let them you won't be disappointed and they will give you something else if you don;t like what they prepare. The other I think was called tassos, also has friendly staff and good food plus a lovely sea view.
If you like to take boat trips or days out there are at least 3 agencies along the main road to book these from which are much cheaper than booking with the reps just be aware that the boat trips leave from Kavos and it takes around an hour to get there as there are lots of pick ups on the way, Corfu old town is well worth a visit and is best in the evenings, if you are thinking of booking the trip to Corfu town including the glass bottomed boat with the rep, you get very little time in the town as you go on the boat in the middle of your evening trip rather than when you get there it costs 28 euros if you book with the rep but you can get the bus to Corfu town which is only 30 minutes from the studios and book the boat trip yourself at the harbour for 14 euros and stay as long as you want without having to rush.
If you like traditional old Greece Moraitika is not for you it is just a resort but it is fine if you want to lie by the pool or on the beach and the prices are reasonable compared to some of the other Greek islands and I would certainly recommend the Marina studios.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said !!!!! This really was one of the nicest places we have stayed which is totally down to Katerina & Mikeys hospitality, they make you feel like you are part of their family, nothing was too much trouble, they go above & beyond in everything, from our fresh doughnuts with our coffee in the morning to our last drink at night.The apartments were spotlessly clean, basic but had everything you need.
The resort is lovely, a must restaurant is Minore, local food, excellent. All in all we had a fantastic time, will definately be going back.
Hope all goes well when the baby comes home, have a rest you 2, you deserve it !!!!
Julie & Ricky (crazy boy !!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieRickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just had a lovely week at Marina Studios would have liked another week but will have to wait till next yearThe Studios are spot on they are very clean and comfortable we were made to feel very welcome Katerina and Mikey are a Lovely couple they cant do enough for you also Pedros and Chris that help out make sure you enjoy yourself we were sorry to Leave just has we were Leaving Katerina gave us apresent well I thought that was so Lovely .Pat and David

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we have just returned from these apts, can honestly say they are one of the most friendly chilled out I have visited.
These are loverly apts, 20 rooms only but absolutley spotless. Greek night was FAB, food amazing and entertainment great. It was our wedding anniversary on greek night and got presented with a superb cake. Also this was the night that little Pedros made his entrance to the world. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Katerina but hope her and the baby are home soon. Makis you did a fab job of keeping us entertained. Hope to be back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: think rooms 6-10 had lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamanddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moraitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Bird Hotel
Sea Bird Hotel
#5 of 7 in Moraitika
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayflower Apartments & Studios
0.4 mi away
Aragorn Studios & Apartments
Aragorn Studios & Apartments
#13 of 28 in Moraitika
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#2 of 7 in Moraitika
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Messonghi Beach Resort
Messonghi Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Moraitika
2,060 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart-Hotel Fire Fly
Apart-Hotel Fire Fly
#11 of 28 in Moraitika
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Studios

Address: Moraitika 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Moraitika
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marina Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Studios Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing