We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,427)
Filter reviews
2,427 results
Traveller rating
703
801
495
266
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
801
495
266
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews messonghi beach water slides animation team riverside building beach bar kids club main pool corfu town superior room main building boat trip blue lagoon air con mini disco recommend this resort fussy eater ice cream
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 2,427 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If location was the be-all and end-all for a hotel review I would recommend this one without a moment’s hesitation. However, this hotel pretends to give the residents an all-inclusive option but does not. I counted a main bar, piano bar, beach bar and pool bar – the only two ever open were the main and beach bar. I have never stayed in a hotel that does not have a pool bar open until at least 6 o’clock in the evening.

All thought the literature states the hotel bars are all-inclusive until 23.00pm the beach bar starts charging from 6.00pm. So if you are looking for a quite area to get away from the repetitive kids club at the main bar each evening you either have to go out of the hotel or pay at the beach bar.
The drinks are served in SMALL plastic cups in a perverse way I believe the hotel thinks will stop people drinking so much – in a way it works because you get so fed up with the queues at the one “free” bar you end up heading into town to buy your drinks.

The bar staff all need a lesson in BASIC customer service – in fact the whole of the hotel staff need a lesson in customer service as they appear to thrive on giving the worst possible service they can. There must be a monthly staff prize for the best idea to P*ss off residents – the winner by far is the idiot that thought using SMALL plastic cups to serve, beer, coffee, tea, juice – in fact any beverage will guarantee that people will not return to this joke of a hotel.

Whatever you do - do not get a mixer in your drink as you will not taste your vodka, rum etc, the spirits are so watered down that you would need to drink several bottles to get tipsy!!
The entertainment left a lot to be desired and was in some cases totally inappropriate for the children watching due to the many sexual connotations used throughout.

The food is bad; we only ate in the restaurant on two occasions (these were early on in our stay) as each time we went to check what was on offer it was like a cattle market ( this is not a place for queuing as English people are few and far between) with little or nothing that appealed. – The only food we had when we did eat was chip butties – but try getting some butter to go on the bread.

All in all I would have to say that the only people that would return to this hotel after their first experience of it would be the insane. The hotel should stop pretending to be an all-inclusive and return to a room only offer. Sack 60% of its staff from barmen to chefs (so called) and send the remaining 20% on customer service training, then and only then would consider returning to this place, but not before and that would be because of its location. Oh, the maids were the 20% of staff that do know how to treat their customers.

To finish on a positive note – the best service and food by far in the hotel complex is the pizza restaurant, the food is good and the service what you would expect. Pity this has nothing to do with the hotel apart from being within the grounds.

Room Tip: Stay Away and You Will Get A Good Room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank badneck101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have just spent 10 days at the messonghi beach hotel. The resort itself was fine for the money we paid but were surprised to find that all the all inclusive drinks were served in plastic cups, this even included tea, coffee and beer. We just could not understand why they would serve beer in plastic cups. We were also among the very few british people in the hotel, the majority appeared to be eastern european, who all seemed to let their children run riot in the restaurants at meal times. Also the restaurant whilst the food was good and varied, was much too crowded, you sometimes had to queue down the stairs from the restaurant. Even though we booked a superior room we were initially allocated a standard room, with no air con, fridge or t.v.However they rectified this after a day but would not have done if we had not complained. All in all however this holiday is not bad value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: make sure you book a superior room and that you are allocated one on arrival.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blueboy461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A complete resort with lots of family freindly features - 3 pools - one with giant water slides; resorts own tractor bus-train; childrens playtime and adults evening shows - excellent Greek dancing night with dancers in traditional costumes.

Resort is beside the mesonghi river where a large number of boats are based - for wonderful short day tours of ionian sea and blue lagoon.

Own private beach with water sports facilities from banana boat rides to pedal boats.

Exquisite views of greece mainland mountains.

Great buffet with loads of choices. Fish was lovely.

Room Tip: always take sea view room on 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband and I returned from a 2 week stay at the Messonghi Beach Hotel in Corfu on 2nd June 2012 and had an amazing time. We did not originally book this hotel but due to our hotel not opening in 2012 we were contacted 1 week before travelling by our travel company and advised of the change. We read the reviews and were happy with the change.
Check in:
Upon arrival we were checked in and all the staff at reception were very helpful, polite and well trained.
Our Room:
We were in room 318 in the main building above reception. The room was extremely basic and we asked at reception why there was no fridge, air con or TV and were advised that even though we had paid for a sea view room it was a standard room and it would be €15 extra per night for a superior sea view room. We decided not to bother moving - but if you haven't booked yet it maybe something to consider. Also, our room was directly above the entertainment area in the evening - so if your early to bed it may worth paying extra to stay in the superior room. However, the show's always ended at 11pm so didn't bother us at all. The bathroom was clean - but extremely small. Water pressure was fine but the shower was tiny. The main problem was the beds- We had a double bed but it was the hardest bed I have ever slept on. The rooms were cleaned and fresh towels given everyday.
The staff:
Couldn't praise the hotel, restaurant and entertainment staff more. All the staff spoke English and had a smile on their face. Everyone was very friendly and the entertainment staff very good - There was loads of activities to do though out the day but they did not pester you at all.
Facilities:
4 pools,Water slides (extra €3 per day or €10 for the week) Playground for the kids, mini club, volleyball, tennis courts, games room with 8 pool tables and video games. The beach was lovely if you wanted a bit of peace and the sea was crystal clear. Sunbeds on the beach are €3 per day. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant on site that is brilliant value for money.
Restaurant:
The food in the hotel was brilliant - There was always loads of choice at all meal times and of a very good quality. There was always traditional Greek cuisine at lunchtime and dinner time and a very good selection of salad, pasta, fish, meat dishes and bread.All the food was fresh and really tasty. The white wine is also very good. Drinks on the all inclusive were Vodka, Ouzo, brandy, white & red wine, beer, pepsi, sprite, fanta orange and lemon, water, orange juice, tea and coffee. There was also snacks in the main bar between 10.30 - 12 and 3 - 5. If you are going on a trip you can also order a pack lunch at reception before 2 the day before which was a lovely touch.
The area:
If you leave the hotel and walk along the beach towards Moratika (left) There are loads of beach bars and restaurants to choose from. We stopped and had a beer or two in a couple - watching the world go by - lovely. If you leave the hotel from the beach and walk right into Messonghi you will come to the river - There is a man in a boat that will take you over the river for €1 (kids free). On the other side there are yet more Restaurants and a few bars - Just perfect! If you leave the hotel though the main entrance there are many super markets, shops, bars and restaurants. We can highly recommend the Bella Vista Restaurant - Set up in the olive groves with panoramic views of the area. Very romantic, this family run Taverna offers 1 of the best views of Moraitika / Messonghi and Main land Greece. The service is second to none and the food is excellent. Great Value for money. Also try Zaks family Taverna. Set on the main road of Messonghi, the restaurant is a beautiful setting with Flowers and grape vines covering the taverna inside and out. The food was amazing and again romantic and brilliant service.
Overview:
We had a fantastic holiday at the Messonghi Beach. There is a lovely mix of nationalities staying at the hotel and I can not fault the staff, management, facilities or food. Go and enjoy a slice of heaven in Corfu. Thanks to everyone at the Messonghi Beach hotel.
Tips:
Take a trip to Corfu town. The bus comes into the hotel everyday at 10am but you can also catch it from the top of the road (Green bus line) Takes about 45min's and costs €2.20 each way. Great day out with plenty to see, do and buy!
Watersports and the Hotel - Great value for money and brilliant fun!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank clareandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was tagged like a duck,with a badge on arrival. "look I'm the cheap customer, give me your bad wine, nescafe etc".Two beds pushed together, 8inch wooden gap.silicone repairs all over, very dated.
The cantine food is despicable, bland, tastless.
10 tables on the terrace for 1600 guests????
You've got to get up early not to miss breakfast!
But the cleaners will see to that around 7am.
Grumpy rude waiters, and this is only the start of the season.
Noise around the pools ALL day long trying to make you dance when you want a rest and read a book,you can't escape even on the beach.
To have a reasonably nice time, rent a quad or scooter (10€/day)and make it fast to the west coastal sandy beaches, try the greec salads or a boat trip with Mike to the blue lagoon (only when sunny though).

Room Tip: pay extra for a luxury double !!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank birtebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews