We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Messonghi Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what a holiday”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well, I went there only a few weeks with my family, consisting of a brother(18) mum, grandad and nanny. We stayed for 6nights and it was mine and my brothers first time abroad! To start with me and my brother are very fussy eaters but the food they had, had so much choice and selection that we didn't go hungry. Some food could be improved on and maybe the breakfast cold be improved on by more variety. Lunch and dinners had so much choose to choice from. The pool area was relaxing, and so much fun! Sometimes it was grounded but me and my brother always found a spot in the sun!! A view people, working at the restaurant, were absolutely loving and really looked after you were as some of the people were rude and disrespectful, episcally to two of my friends who I met on holiday. Plus I met to lovely people on holiday and made to brilliant friends out of them:-)... I reckon this has been my favourite holiday ever but I would bring quite a lot of cash as in the day there was nothing to do except sunbath and a lot of activities outside of the restaurant cost a bit.. But overall the hotel was define and relaxing. The only big improvement they need to make is the entertainment as it was shocking and as a dancer and performer myself, I couldn't bare to watch it, 5 people mining to classic songs whilst only one of the girls could actually dance. But the cleaning was brilliant and room service etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    616
    353
    179
    113
See reviews for
834
582
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just got back from the hotel and we had a very lovely stay.
The staff are all very kind, helpful and happy.
The lady on reception was amazing, i emailed before we went asking for a specific room and we got exactly that and even got to keep our room on for longer on our last day free of charge.
The complex is very big but do not be put off.
There are four pools doted around the hotel with rooms around them all, we was based in a room at the side of the main pool and it was great, there was stuff always going on from arobics to dancing, yoga, table tenis, bowls etc.
The main pool has a slide, i am aware that you have to pay 3 euors, we didnt use the slides would recommend for the slides to be free as you are on an all inclusive complex.
The hotel is based right on the beach sunbeds cost 3 euros again something that would be great if free but now days most sun chairs do cost on the beach.
I would say the hotel is on the best part of the beach for messonghi.
There are a few supermarkets around and a few places to eat however the food in the hotel was lovely always something nice:) Myself and my partner are quite picky and we ate in the resturant every day so that says something!
My only complaint would be malibu was not included in the drinks , the alcohol choice was very slim.
I would deffo recommend this hotel to couples and families, not really for young sinlge people!Thank you for a great stay :)

Room Tip: To be based round the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilyh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

When booking you best make sure your room has air conditioning, only half rooms have this! Water park in hotel is two slides via one stairs at a cost of 3 euro . If you are sea view you run the risk of being kept awake till 2am with boom boom from beach music, every night.
Reception women staff not very helpful.
All inclusive was good and the food was good quality. Shame you cannot control other people's bad habits!
If you don't mind noise and busy this is a nice place.
The bus service is reliable and reasonable 2.20euro to Corfu town e/w
The village street has restirants and bars but not much going on.
On far corner of camp you can pay 1e e/w to cross river to little town with nice quite beach and eats.
Beware of sea urchins- 60euro cost for nurse to take spines out.

Corfu is a lovely island and the people were good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom66manda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akrata, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Is the 10th time i am visitinbg this place and i think i know it very well.
I visited when had the problems and i have visited also since the management has change.
Every year is geting better and better. Is a marvelous place to pass your holidays. Every one can do
everything. Food variety and quality just perfect. Restaurants, bars, annimation, water park mini and big,
spa,sports, beach all in the wright place just to help the customers pass just nice.
I recomed it without any doubt.
Relax and enjoy it !

Room Tip: relax and enjoy your holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yannispap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

An all inclusive holiday booked for six through On The Beach.

Corfu is a pretty island and we had a couple of cars to go and see it. The people are friendly and welcoming.

The car hire company was Corfu Car Hire. Car hire company emailed the day before we left the UK and said the minibus we hired had broken and we could have two cars instead (no transfers booked so we said yes), the petrol cars were filthy and expensive to run (petrol is 1.80/ltr), don't use Corfu Car Hire, if the cars were clean, I probably would not have minded, if it were a larger car hire firm, then I would have given the keys back and asked them to clean them. However, no messing around with hiring with a full tank and returning empty.

We booked a delux room and emailed the hotel to confirm - they said yes.
The area around Messinghi Beach Hotel is down at heel especially near the main road, south of the river is a different story and prospering. This said, none of the party ever worried about personal safety.
The hotel is split in two with the Riverside block as part of the 3* hotel. It is truly awful. Stained carpets, internal lift doors which don't close properly (watch the kids fingers, hands, arms and legs!). Room was small with a rusty camp bed for son to sleep on, could not pull beds together to form a double due the the wooden bars down the sides. Fridges are on an electric timer so are off during the day - two of the party have diabetes and need a working fridge to store their insulin in. After complaining repeatedly the electricity was switched on permanantly and not dependent on a key fob being placed in a holder.
We all enjoyed the food, which is the usual fare for a three star holel with an all inclusive holiday. The hotel will provide basic packed lunches should you wish to go and explore. The drinks were a problem as diet drinks are not on the inclusive menu except in the resturant and snack bar, all other bars only "full fat drinks". After complaining to reception and working up to the catering manager, the diabetic members of the party were gived a drinks pass to get cans of diet coke (people with diabetes should avoid sugary drinks). I usually prefer not to visit reception and complain about things, let alone repeatedly complaining about the same thing as it adds little to the holiday experience e.g. when reception refuses to believe the fridge is included on a timer (yes, either I am a liar or just stupid).
ONE pillow per bed!!!! Used a rolled beach towel as well - I usually only use one pillow at home.
Bathrooms had a shower and toilet, no bath and no plugs, hole in the floor which flooded if you let the water out of the sink (after pulling the makeshift toilet paper plug out). Hair dryer was ineffective - I didn't mind as I have a mature mans hair :). Take some string if you want a washing line as there are no airers on the balconies.
Satellite TV worked well enough but as I don't speak Greek and my French is as limited
as my Polish, it was a but of a waste of time but probably gained the hotel an extra star.
Boat trip from river was worth the money - over to Greece, but swimming played a large part, so if you don't like swimming or can't, then find something else to do.
If you book from the UK you will probably end up in the three star side of the hotel, but you are able to use the 4* side where the bar staff are friendlier and you get your glass filled with a smile instead of feeling like tourist cattle bringing in cash.
In summary, this was a cheap holiday which I came away from feeling ripped off. For the same money, the Canaries offer better service, better accomodation and a better holiday albeit, the sea is colder. I should have payed better attention to the negative reviews and not kept my fingers crossed with the thought that it was just a place to sleep - spend your money somewhere better.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, determined complaining may get you service a little closer to your expectation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moraitika hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Letchworth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If your idea of a holiday is spending two weeks living like a prince in the lap of luxury, being fanned with palm tree fronds waved by dusky eyed Grecian ladies whilst having your drinks served by the Greek equivalent of Jeeves, you are going to be disappointed with this hotel. If however, you are looking for a bargain break in a nice little spot on the lovely island of Corfu - read on!

The room was plenty big enough, good air con, kept nice and clean by the maids, nice bathroom and had a lovely terrace. All four swimming pools were nice and clean. One of the pools was where the action happened (aerobics, music, games etc) whilst the other three were nice and sedate. Yes, you do have to pay extra for beach sunbeds and for the water slides and pool side sun beds are too few (we actually started to 'reserve' them the night before!), but there are plenty of other areas to sunbathe in that are free and where space is plentiful (we actually found it quite pleasant to sunbathe on the grassed areas next to the pool).

Food was plentiful and enjoyable. My children win awards for their fussiness at meal times normally, but here they tried (and on most occasions liked) most dishes. The hotel was at it's peak and very busy but the food was always hot and there were no shortages of anything although it did make meal times something of a free for all. (Tip - bag a table before you get your food otherwise you'll look like a berk wandering around with a plate full of food and nowhere to sit!)

Yes, there were down sides - one of the beds broke (although was quickly repaired and gave no further bother), the hotel caters primarily for Eastern Block countries and the staff are a bit grumpy - but I have a theory about this. The eastern Europeans appear very rude (largely due to to the fact that the chaps have an unnatural attraction to wearing budgie smugglers pretty much all of the time - now if I wore pants that tight for that length of time, I'd be unhappy and therefore rude. Wear looser pants dude - you'll feel much happier), this apparent rudeness wears the staff down and makes them grumpy. Additionally, the restaurants could do with some organisation making meal times more enjoyable and less like a rugby scrum.

Our rep (Luc) was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for him - we booked a trip to Corfu and the bus never picked us up. Luc came to our hotel and drove us there himself in his own car - Cosmos, you need to promote this guy!

We had a lovely time all in all. The weather was good, the resort met our needs adequately and we were a little sad to come home. Like I said at the start of this review, this is a nice little hotel for those looking for a break on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great for children, the food excellent, 20 minutes drive to Corfu, most of the rooms very clean and renovated, the stuff very helping and polite. Plenty of things to do in the evenings ( theater, karaoke, animation). The main drawback the beach with an ugly sand and not so clear water. For the money you pay not bad

Room Tip: Bungalows are not renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArisWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraitika
1.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Moraitika
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
0.2 mi away
Sea Bird Hotel
Sea Bird Hotel
#5 of 7 in Moraitika
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messonghi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messonghi Beach Resort

Property: Messonghi Beach Resort
Address: Kombos Lefkimmis- Messonghi, Moraitika 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Messonghi Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Messonghi Beach Hotel is a superb holiday resort situated between the villages of Moraitika and Messonghi on the east coast of Corfu. The hotel complex is situated in beautiful grounds with well-kept gardens, where respect for the environment and the happiness of its guests combine with every kind of comfort to make their stay unforgettable. The hotel's rooms and bungalows are tastefully furnished, with en-suite bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Every room opens out onto a balcony or terrace. There are two spacious restaurants serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in buffet style. Guests can also request lunch packets. After a day in the sea under the sun, the on-site bars are an oasis to relax in with a drink and to listen to your favourite music. Guests have use of three outdoor pools (2 adult pools and 1 Mini Aquapark), with an extra 2 paddling pools next to the adult pools. Pools are surrounded by free sun beds and there is a playground for the younger guests. Sports enthusiasts will appreciate the hotel's wide variety of sports facilities, including football, tennis, cricket, beach volley, petanque courts and table tennis. With its superb position and ideal facilities for families, this holiday village is no doubt one of the most popular hotels in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Messonghi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messonghi Beach Hotel Moraitika
Hotel Messonghi Beach
Messonghi Beach Resort Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing