We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British Welcome??? NO!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Messonghi Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Moraitika
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“British Welcome??? NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Where do we start? Hotel staff rude and unhelpful manners don't seem to be part and parcel of the Greek way of life!! Bar staff very very rude went out of their way to serve others before British people blatantly bypassing you to serve someone else & very happy to assist French German Russian and Albanian to name a few nationalities. Booked superior room only to be told this constitutes of a fridge tv and hair drier!! We were on honeymoon emailed the hotel before departure and no response no effort made at all for honeymooning couples but big fat fuss made for German and French birthdays. Food good though would recommend you use the restaurant at the back of the restaurant the staff tell you to use (but fail to tell you there is a better one at the back of this) part of the hotel was only for French nationals which comprised of better accommodation and facilities that we were "allowed" to use but wasn't informed of! Poor selection of AI drinks beer, white wine (like lighter fuel) red wine, brandy & vodka... Yet rose wine is served upstairs in the better restaurant but not in the other and not behind the bar!! You are served in plastic cups even the coffee!! Complained about room and got moved after threatening to claim for refund and appt with manager!! On entry to the hotel no British flag on the hotel roof every other nationality but ours!! Over priced in site shop ��5 for a roll on deodorant!!
Drains smell in bathrooms, flooding of bathrooms wetting everything including the toilet rolls poorly designed!
Pools kept clean though the sunbed rule needs to be followed no sunbeds available after 6am due to towels being left!
Virus rife when we were there and staff informed people of this but didn't feel it necessary to inform other visitors of the outbreak... Also informed that there was issues with sewerage smells in the hotel but nothing done.
Beach pebbly but knew this would be the case but refused to pay for the loungers at ���3 per day!!
Entertainment poor ... Kids club every night held in main bar even this was done in 90% of another language!! No entertainers just the kids club staff making poor attempts to karaoke and sing! Again the British were out numbered, counted 2 English songs in a entire evening!
Games room good spent evenings in here but everything being ���1 turns out to be an expensive visit if your passing 3/4 hours at a time!
This hotel is a joke...staff need hospitality training management do not make appearances to visitors ...
Rats spotted 3 times during our visit by 2 people!
Cats and dogs yes dogs roam the site freely!! Flea bitten!

We made the best we could but feel we were misled by the photos advertised especially with the accommodation as the pictures shown are for the French side of the hotel!

Disappointed greatly at this hotel ... All I can say is if you book you are crazy ... Corfu lovely though would definitely go mainland if we dare return in the future definitely not this hotel ... Summing up--- Not as advertised over priced , staff poor, entertainment poor...information received when arrived poor... General upkeep ok...atmosphere NIL.
Massive disappointment and complaining to travel agency and ABTA!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LincolnshireLassie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    551
    308
    163
    102
See reviews for
761
506
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is the biggest on Corfu, with all the advantages and disadvantages that this brings. It is an International hotel, with many guests from the Eastern block as well as France and Germany - Brits were in the minority when we were there, however, the staff all seemed to cope with all languages! Rooms are not generally available until 2pm - so if you arrive earlier, your luggage will be placed into an "arrivals" area while you have a look around, have a drink or meal etc. until your room is available. The hotel is spread over a large area and there are several apartment blocks as well as individual bungalows. We had a room on the third (top) floor of the Riverside apartments with a very nice view over the river, with its fishing and pleasure boats, with the hills beyond. The room was clean and well presented - although somewhat "tired". The corridor carpets, on the way to the room, were in need of replacing. The room had an aircon unit which worked!
There are 5 or 6 pools on the site, a selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, shops etc. There is an animation team which will keep you fully occupied if you want them too - but they will also leave you alone if that is what you want! Because of the size of the hotel, it is usually possible to find somewhere quiet to sit, away from the entertainment.
When we booked, we were unaware of the "Worlds most pregnant man" competition which appeared to be in full flow during the first couple of days! This unadvertised entertainment was free - although tiresome in the restaurants. Later on in the week we were joined by many French guests who also entertained us by insisting on moving the tables around at meal-times. "But we want to make a table for 17 - and it must be here! The table for 17 over there is not in the right place!" The restaurant staff were amazingly co-operative to start with - but then learned that the word "Non!" was a good idea if they wanted the restaurant to be usable by other guests!.......all good fun!
The food was pretty good - plenty of choice - although a bit mass-produced (well, what do you expect?) The drinks were ok - the beer was very gassy, though drinkable, - the wine was OK in small amounts - the fizzy drinks were fine - the coffee was good! We didn't try the local spirits.
A short walk from the hotel are the two villages of Messonghi and Moraitka, ideal for stretching the legs after meals! There are plenty of shops and bars in both!
The island of Corfu is beautiful - so we suggest that you don't spend all your time at the hotel (which you could easily do) - rent a car and see the island!
Have fun! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartElai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked a 4 night holiday as a couple from Groupon for all inclusive at this resort for end of September.
We were very happy- the rooms were a decent size with plenty of storage, a little bit dusty/dirty but acceptable enough for 3star. Plus when there's so much to do we barely used the room.
The resort facilties were great although you have to get there early for a sunbed by the pool- beach ones you have to pay for but it's worth it as they are Right on the sea front.
Food choice and amount was excellent, however due to the quantity it was sometimes warm/cold but there were facilities to heat this up and it did not spoil it for us at all.
The reception and hotel staff were absolutely fantastic, really helpful with a good knowledge on surrounding area and facilities.
Definitely recommend getting yourself a quad bike and exploring the island.
Going at this time meant it was the end of the season but the weather was still good and you weren't fighting too much for sunbeds or queuing for food so is quite ideal.
Opportunity to do water sports on site for reasonable prices.
Evening entertainment has a variety of things for all ages and a night club on site- we were happy with all the resort had to offer and would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamHorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my sister had 1 week in September. We got to the hotel around 1.45am was told 45 mins transfer was on the coach nearly 2 hours, we was given our key in the main hotel we had trouble getting into the room had to get the reception staff to open this. We went down to reception to see if we could get a drink they pointed us to the vender machine of which we had to pay for water, this machine was not working properly ,then one of the reception staff took us to another vending machine of which we had to pay 0.50 euro for a small bottle of water. In our room we had no fridge,tv or air con. But was very clean the bathroom was a little outdated and could do with improvements especially the shower. we had clean towels everyday and the maid made our beds. In the room we was based at the front of the hotel and this was very noisey you heard the coaches coming and going, kids screaming down the corridor people slamming and banging the doors at all hours of the day.We noticed the in the reception area the toilets stunk everyday.
The swimming pools were very clean but you had to pay to use the 2 water slides, The animation team were a little loud this started around 10.00am were they shout down the microphone in several languages but NOT ENGLISH and they did the same things every day they had the annoying mini disco from 7.30pm until 9.30pm then you got the animation team doing some crap show of which was all dancing and not relevent to what the show should of been until 11.00pm. We went to the night club and on the drinks menu its says smirnoff vodka 5 euros so i got 2 and the bar staff gave us there local crap vodka perridoff so did not return back there. The bar of which was between the reception and mumbo jumbo we found the bar staff were very rude to us they ignored us and when we asked for drinks one girl who look about 12 years old kept giving us the wrong drinks she had no idea. The other bar was great they knew what we wanted and even put our drink in larger plastic glasses. The food in the restaurant was not hot just warm and was all the same everyday pork, chicken,veil,turkey pasta,rice, chips and salad.
The beach was nice but you had to pay 3 euro each for a sun bed and parasol but what we did you can walk further down the beach and get them for 2 euro each. We had a great holiday but we went out to the tavernas one been called the Golden beach this had an Elvis Presley statue and pictures and mirrors. The first night we went there this was a greek night this was brilliant they got you up to join in the dancing and the second time was Elvis tribute would recommend this to everyone. We loved walking to Messonghi Village we had a meal at Marilena very nice.
We would also recommend you do a boat trip this was excellant we had a great day We noticed that the hotel had every flag except the union jack so this hotel do not cater very well for us brits. Corfu is beautiful and not to be missed but if you want a 4 star hotel dont go to messonghi beach hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Firstly Corfu is a lovely Island so don't let this review put you off visiting here my problem is only this hotel.

We booked all inclusive at this hotel and stayed here in August 2 adults and 2 sixteen year olds. The first problem we encountered was that one of our rooms had air conditioning (sea view room) the second room did not have air conditioning and believe me the room is unbearable without it.It was not made clear when booking that some rooms do not have air conditioning, but seriously, its the year 2013 and I would expect a four star hotel to have air conditioning. We asked for the non air conditioning room to be changed and waited 3 days for this to happen as the reception staff were rude and very unhelpful and mucked us about so much that i had to ask for the manager and magically keys to an air conditioned room appeared but i had to pay an extra 75 euros but it was well worth it as room was unbearable otherwise. They also charged 6 euros a night for a fan that did not work another rip off.
The worse thing for me was the noise. It started at 10.00am where one of the animation team takes to the microphone shouting in another languauge so loud that the speakers vibrate and rants on in the most annoying voice that by the end of your stay you will want to grab a pair of scissors run down and cut the microphone wire. This is followed by loud music all day so any chance of peace is only found by going out of the hotel which is what we did most days.
Then at 8pm the mini disco starts. Same annoying shriek with same annoying songs played full blast till about nine thirty then some rubbish show or kareoke till 11pm. Just when you think you might get some peace the Beach Disco starts. This resembles music as loud as a rave where about five guests dance to it on the beach until 2am. Then just when you think you might get some sleep guests return run up and down the corridors banging on doors screaming and shouting until approx 4am. So dont expect any sleep as this happens every single day.

This hotel does not cater for British tourists. All entertainment is in a foreign language so you cant understand whats going on. Every flag in Europe flys above the hotel except the Union Jack so it is evident that its not a place that welcomes the British. Most of the tourists are Belgian or Russian. There were about 3 british families there and the other rooms were filled mostly with Russians who dont believe in queing at dinner times and will totally ignore you if you politely hold the door for them so the atmosphere is not very pleasant.

A lot of guests including myself and my daughter went down with stomach upset but i couldnt say if it was the food or the dirty toilets or habits of some of the guests who didnt wash their hands when using the toilets.I witnessed faeces being trodden around the bar toilets where someone had somehow missed the toilet and not cleaned up after themselves and my daughter went in one of the toilets where someone had urinated everywhere except the toilet. Hardly surprising we ended up ill.

The hotel has its own beach that charges you to use the sunbeds and parasols. This is supposed to be an all inclusive hotel so another rip off. It also has a so called water park that consists of two slides and guess what it charges you for this as well.Rip off.

Whilst swimming in the sea my daughter trod on a sea urchin. It left spikes in her foot and the pool attendant tried to get them out then sent her to the doctor to have them removed. There were two other guests there with the same problem. apparantley it happens all the time and we all got charged 60 euros for them to be removed. Why then are there no signs or notices warning of the sea urchins if this is a common occurance. Guess its so they can make 60 euros a time. Rip off.

Surprisingly the food was ok but the dining experience was horrible too many guests and not enough tables. Dont get up to get your food without leaving one of your party at the table or when you return there will be someone sitting at your table even if you have left belongings on it to show it is taken.

Dont expect to get a sunbed anywhere in the hotel for 950 rooms there are about 30 sunbeds in the whole complex and im not exaggerating.

All in all I was glad to leave this hotel. We are lucky that this was not our only holiday this year as it would have been awful to have wasted our money and time in this place and have nothing else to look forward to. Its a shame as Corfu was a lovely island but our holiday was spoilt by this hotel. We usually visit Turkey so are used to excellent hospitality and manners from hotel staff so I think we will give Greece a miss in future no wonder there are problems in the country if this hotel is anything to go by.

Room Tip: Make sure you have room with air conditioning. Sea view rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda-crossley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moraitika hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Arrival experience is like you just get into factory, we arrived after all inclusive opening hours, even we prepaid the night but we did not have any bottle of water waiting for me and my little son, even I have paid for him as adult. Staff are under level of any kind of hospitality, very poor English and lack of care, information are very limited. For almost 38 degree the rooms were without Air Condition. Rooms are poor equipped , no TV, doors are from very poor wooden materials. Electricity only 2 lamps in the room. Bathroom with no bath, only shower place with horrible curtain, after shower you need to dry the whole room, because the water leaking from the poor curtain. I have asked to move to nicer room and this was impossible with rude attitude from the horrible girls at the reception desk. They were not willing to even say something nice to us like sorry we are working on it etc. I get mad and I asked to see the hotel manager or general manger to rescue us from this unfriendly guys. I was waiting for 6 days and the manager he / she never get back to us to see our concern. Everything you have to pay for, I have no problem but if the service up to the cost. The best thing there is F & B kitchen is doing superb job, food is okay but always on time, good refilling. Also everything that has no staff impact was fine. I will recommend for the owner to look after his business because like this his staff will let him lose a lot of guests that are willing to pay for better service and quality staff. About me never this hotel again but to Corfu, I would love to go back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

just had 2 enjoyable weeks at messonghi beach hotel.Our room was perfect with a sea view lovely bathroom towels changed every day and so clean.we paid an extra 10 eu a day for this room and it was well worth it.air/con fridge tv was not in English but then I don't go to corfu to watch tv.theres so much beautiful scenery to watch instead.such as the little church at mouse island.my partner and myself could not fault any of the staff they were all very friendly and helpful.the staff at reception are very efficient .I would especially like to thank maria and Jason who gave such good assistance.The meals were good a great choice of hot food and salads I loved their feta cheese.(the only place I have ever seen a quick toaster)again a friendly and efficient staff.Music was loud until 11pm.Later on a barbecue night but was always toned down its an ideal place for family with children a lot of little play areas for them and the childrens pool is lovely we have stayed in messonghi many times but not at this hotel as it had such a bad reputation and was closed for a few years.Since the new owners have taken over they have done really well in such a short time .As we like to travel around the island we always hire our car from atos car hire he is at the end of the main messonghi rd .If they keep this service up we will be back to the messonghi beach hotel

Room Tip: we were in room 620 overlooking childrens swimming pool with a lovely view across to Albania.its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraitika
2.0 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Moraitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
10.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
13.1 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messonghi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messonghi Beach Resort

Property: Messonghi Beach Resort
Address: Kombos Lefkimmis- Messonghi, Moraitika 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Moraitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Messonghi Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Messonghi Beach Hotel is a superb holiday resort situated between the villages of Moraitika and Messonghi on the east coast of Corfu. The hotel complex is situated in beautiful grounds with well-kept gardens, where respect for the environment and the happiness of its guests combine with every kind of comfort to make their stay unforgettable. The hotel's rooms and bungalows are tastefully furnished, with en-suite bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Every room opens out onto a balcony or terrace. There are two spacious restaurants serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in buffet style. Guests can also request lunch packets. After a day in the sea under the sun, the on-site bars are an oasis to relax in with a drink and to listen to your favourite music. Guests have use of three outdoor pools (2 adult pools and 1 Mini Aquapark), with an extra 2 paddling pools next to the adult pools. Pools are surrounded by free sun beds and there is a playground for the younger guests. Sports enthusiasts will appreciate the hotel's wide variety of sports facilities, including football, tennis, cricket, beach volley, petanque courts and table tennis. With its superb position and ideal facilities for families, this holiday village is no doubt one of the most popular hotels in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Messonghi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messonghi Beach Hotel Moraitika
Hotel Messonghi Beach
Messonghi Beach Resort Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing