We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayflower Apartments & Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Would recommend Mayflower Apartments. If you like self catering, then this is for you. Would like to thank Spiros and Diana for helping make our family holiday a good time, along with the cleaners for being so friendly and helpful. They give you advice on what places are nice to visit and are more than willing to help when needed, (thank you for getting William's watch from the bushes!) There is a washing machine for you to do some before you go home. Reception has dvds, books and leaflets on restaurants, beaches and bus times. The boys loved the pool and it was always kept clean. Yes it is a small walk down a hill with your bags, but if you actually read up on where you are taking your holiday there won't be any surprises! The only problem we had was the holiday company not telling them we needed a cot, but Spiros sorted this out quickly. It isn't that far to walk to the beach and we found the best supermarket was a short walk behind the hotel. Would highly recommend Jimmy's for tasty, reasonably priced food. We found the children's meals cheapest here too, 2.50 euros. The Island does a great Stamnas if you want to try Greek food. Bella Vista has great views. I wouldn't try 75 steps unless you go in a taxi. We walked it as said 2km, but took ages to walk there and they were shut when we got there! There is a bakery if you go to the right out the drive. They do gorgeous cakes and biscuits. The kids loved Elvis night down by the beach at Golden Beach restaurant on a Friday night, so plenty to do around the area. Again, thank you for helping make our holiday a good time.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment at the end of the hotel, but had a baby in a pram. Remember to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks for the nice review, sorry for the 75 steps disaster (good exercise though!) and the lack of cot. Holiday companies seem rather good at forgetting the finer points of requests, but luckily we had one to hand. I do so like it when people make recommendations and give info - I think the bakery is winning this summer! We have so many different kinds of guests, families, singles couples etc. and they all have different questions, so all they have to do is scroll thru TA and they can pretty much get an answer for everything, and a sense of what the apartments, and the village generally, are like and if it will suit them. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    26
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here in August this year, myself and my 12 year old son in a studio apartment on the ground floor. We loved it! The apartment was basic, which is what we expected, scrupulously clean, we had 2 full changes of sheets and towels in a week, plus cleaning and bin emptying virtually every day. The room had a ceiling fan which surprisingly was enough to keep the room cool even in August, and we both slept extremely well.

The pool and surrounding area are lovely, again beautifully clean, water a perfect temperature and lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. There are lots of magazines and books in reception as well as info about trips, restaurants, etc, as well as free wifi access. The pool was never overly busy but got fairly lively when the children got together! We didn't use the pool at the other hotel nearby as we didn't think it looked as nice and we preferred not to have piped music all day.

The owners, Diana and Spiros, were there every day and both very helpful. Spiros even fixed my son's goggles when they broke! Diana sorted out our return transfer which was very useful, and knows the island like the back of her hand so can recommend places to go, things to do, etc.

Moraitika is a smallish resort, fairly quiet but with lots of bars and restaurants. We liked The Islands the best, lovely traditional food and very friendly service. The apartments are a couple of minutes walk from the main street and about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The old village is up the hill, with lots of lovely old buildings and great views, as well as 3 or 4 restaurants.

We would thoroughly recommend Mayflower apartments if you are looking for a restful holiday, perfect for families or couples.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks for your very nice review (I'm sorry I start them all the same but we really do appreciate it!) and I am glad you had a good holiday. Its nice that you mentioned the point about the pool not having a bar and piped music.....every year we wonder if we should start up the bar again, and every year most people say they prefer independence to bring food and drink from their apartments, and peace and quiet (apart from the kids having fun in the pool) so every year we don't do it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Mayflower apartments for 1 week from 1st-8th August. We had looked at other parts of the island but eventually settled on Moriatiki after some research online.

Our flight arrived about 9pm and after a little waiting about for our bags and then transfers we were on our way. The resort is about 30min away from the airport and our transfers only cost a total of £15 for 2 return journeys. Because the road to the hotel is quite narrow our transfer coach dropped us off on the main road but this only left a 3-4min walk to the hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel there was a notice board that had our name, room number and directions on how to get to the room and when we got there the key was in the door so we could let ourselves in.

This is our 2nd time visiting a Greek island so we did not expect anything apart from the very basics but we were pleasantly surprised with our accommodation. We picked a self catering studio room and it had everything we needed for our stay. Microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer (with a bottle of water), 2 rings to cook on, plates and cutlery etc for 3 people. There was also a hair dryer and even mosquito plug-ins provided as well, not sure if other people had kindly left these for us but we were not expecting them. The room also had a tv with 4 English channels and a dvd player with dvd's available to borrow from the reception area. There was also 3 single beds.

The pool area was very clean and tidy just like the rest of the hotel with free wifi available, the signal didn't reach the far end of the pool but was fine around the reception / baby pool areas. The reception area also had lots of information about trips and a bookcase filled with books, there was also a large selection of magazines available to read as well. The safety deposit boxes are in reception as well and only cost €7 a week, we didn't feel the need to rent 1 though as the hotel is very secure and the only people we ever seen were either staff or other guests.

Some people might be worried or put off because the reception is not manned all the time but this was not a problem at all. There is a communication book available for any questions / issues you might have and you get a reply ASAP, either that evening or the next day.

We were able to keep our room on until 7pm on our last day for a fee of €20. This was great since we had a late transfer to the airport and meant we could still enjoy the pool / beach etc and then have somewhere to shower before leaving.

We would gladly return to this hotel again and would like to thank the owners for providing an excellent hotel.

John / Christine.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHerr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks for your review, and the information it contained - I would mention though that you had one of the larger studios with TV etc. and there are only a couple of these - the majority of the studios which the UK tour operators rent for the whole season from us are the more basic, smaller ones which so far don't have TV/microwave, and only some of which have a/c - although they all have ceiling fans which most people find to be perfectly ok. I'm so glad you enjoyed it though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014, we had a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean and well maintained, in the kitchen we had a toaster, kettle, fridge, 3 ring hob, ceiling fans in both bedrooms, rear and front balcony (room 8 ground floor) we were very impressed. It is about 200m from the main road so no traffic noise but walkable distance to the bars and restaurants. There is no on site cafe/bar but there are plenty around and there is a fridge at the pool, there is a general market on the way to the beach that is awesome and cheap. Wifi and safety deposit boxes in reception area. The staff are very friendly and could not do more for you, The local beach is about 10 mins stroll and mostly sand the odd section is small pebbles but it's nice and clean. Moraitika is about 30 mins from the airport. We would come back here again but one piece of advice I would give I a take plenty of Mozzy killer, I do not normally get bit but we were all eaten in Corfu just don't let it ruin your holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueakyLeekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks for the review, nice to have one from family point of view, and some info and recommendations as well, glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed ay Mayflower in Moraitika Corfu in June 2014 once again & as I have wrote before is still the same.
Its such a lovely quiet place to stay with the convenience of self catering or the choice of a selection of restaurants just a short walk up a slight incline to the main road.
Not much I can say that I or others haven't already said.
We cannot wait to return in August :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loversofthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you yet again- its so nice to have returnees.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay in July 2014. Our transfer from the airport took around 40 minutes including a few detours to drop other people off en route. The Mayflower is set a couple of minutes walk from the main road down down a small and quiet road with a few houses and lots of olive trees. There is another similar small apartment complex also on this road and a couple of houses and some kind of mechanics workshop. The apartments are basically unmanned so signs directed us to our room where we found the key waiting for us. The rooms are very clean. Quite basic but good value for the price and have everything you would need. We had a studio which consisted of a kitchenette in the entrance hall with a small shower room and twin beds and a lovely private balcony surrounded by vines and flowers which overlooked the pool and garden. The whole place including the pool area is kept exceptionally clean and well presented. There is an ample size pool and beautiful gardens. There is plenty of information in the room and reception area regarding local shops, restaurants and trips. The owner is present at around 8-9 in the morning to open up the reception area and pool and returns at 7pm and 11pm to close the pool and lock up. Other than that you are on your own which was fine for us and with the supermarkets, restaurants and bars so close and a kitchen in your room it was very convenient to bring a bottle of water and baguette down to the pool side. If you really can't live without a pool bar then the neighbouring apartment compelx has a sign saying that it welcomes guests from The Mayflower. I would highly recommend this as a good value quiet and relaxing holiday for young couples, young families and older people. Teenagers may be bored as the resort of Moraitika may not be lively enough but they will probably go to Kavos anyway! Thank you for a lovely stay at The Mayflower.

Now on to the surrounding area. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and is perfectly adequate if not stunningly beautiful. It is quite narrow with a lot of tightly packed sun beds costing 6 euros for two sun beds and an umbrella. The beach is mainly sand with quite a lot of small stones. The water is very clean, warm and shallow and has soft sand under foot. There are plenty of bars and restaurants for refreshment.

The resort of Moraitika is centred around the main road from Corfu Town to Kavos. This can seem busy at times but is not too bad. It is by no means a "strip" as seen on boozy TV shows! There are plenty of supermarkets, gift shops, restaurants and bars. These are frequented by young couples, families and older people rather than teenagers. There are also several chemists and cash points. Our particular favourites were the restaurants of "Bella Vista" which is a 10 minute walk up a very steep hill into the old town of Moratika. Also the restaurant "75 Steps" located up in the hills a 10 minute taxi ride away. (This cost 7 euros each way). Both we found recommended at The Mayflower and both have beautiful views of the bay, lovely food including traditional Greek and Corfu dishes and good prices. The bakery in Moraitika is also highly recommended with lovely Greek cakes and biscuits and delicious ready made baguettes for 2 euros which are handy for lunch at the pool or beach. There are fairly regular busses going to Corfu town which cost 2.20 euros per person each way. These are air conditioned coaches with a bus conductor who takes the money. There is a taxi rank 5 minutes walk from The Mayflower at the roundabout between Moraitika and Messonghi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrisg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks for your review, and again, for the information (I could probably write a full guide book on the info from all our guests), it us just so helpful for people considering us, and the village and area generally when they are thinking about their holidays, and they do really arrive knowing exactly what to expect. The comment about 'basic' is also good, because we have some such lovely reviews that I don't want people coming with false expectations and being disappointed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week recently and had a great stay in Corfu!!

The apartment- We had a studio apartment with a balcony and it had everything we needed for a self-catering stay including kitchenette equipped with utensils and crockery. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the mornings and evenings.

The grounds - very well maintained-lovely flowers blooming and the pool is cleaned regularly. Also very nice reception area with free wi-fi ,security boxes and information about the local area.

The owners- As stated the owners are not at the apartments on a regular basis although they do come in the morning and evenings to maintain the place. I could see this might be a problem for people who like to have the owners there all the time to speak to but we didn't mind this at all as we are usually quite self sufficient on holiday. There is a request book that you can use to inform them of any issues that you have with your apartment. We used this once to ask for more towels and pillows and our request was met within hours. We arrived during the day to the apartments so the owner was able to show us to our room but if you arrive at night it is possible that there will be no-one there to greet you in which case there is a notice board up front which should have your name and room number (not sure what they do about keys).

The location- fantastic! short walk up the drive from the apartments and you are on the main street which runs through the lovely village of Moraitika and straight through to the neighboring vilage of Messonghi. Lots of wee supermarkets, shops, tavernas, bars and bus stops. Short walk to the beach, about 5 minutes. Lovely place, lots of flowers blooming and great wee shops and tavernas to explore.

Our recommendations- If you want a quieter spot on the beach, walk straight along to the end near the river. More sun loungers available, less noise.

Take a boat trip to the Blue Lagoon caves and mainland Greece. If you go to the Messonghi travel centre then you can try and negotiate prices with them, we got a good discount.

Take the bus from Moraitika to Corfu Town. Lots of lovely wee shops, bars. We went up one of the fortresses, well worth it for the stunning views. Bus costs 2.20 (euros) each way and takes you right to centre and back.

Take a walk up to old Moraitika village. It's so quaint and there are lovely wee tavernas up there.

And for bars- Time Out, Planet Bar and Cafe (they did a great Latin night on Thursdays when we went) and La Nuit...something. All on the main road at Moraitika.

And please go to Bella Vista taverna! If you come out of Mayflower drive, turn right. Cross the road and walk along past the wee shops...keep checking down to your left and you will see a wee sign down an alley for it. It is a bit of a walk up the hill but it is soo worth it. Delicious Greek food and stunning panoramic views!!!!

Hope this is helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank erk0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayflowerGreece, Owner at Mayflower Apartments & Studios, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review - and also for the recommendations - we always leave information in Reception but we don't always see people to answer questions, so the more info that is collected on TA for people to see (the boat trip hasn't had a mention before I don't think) then it helps a lot. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraitika
0.3 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Moraitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaBird Hotel
SeaBird Hotel
#6 of 9 in Moraitika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.3 mi away
Messonghi Beach Resort
Messonghi Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Moraitika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantica Leftis
Romantica Leftis
#1 of 7 in Moraitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments & Studios

Property: Mayflower Apartments & Studios
Address: Moraitika, Moraitika 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Moraitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayflower Apartments & Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for an economic family holiday. A small, attractive complex, of studios and two bedroom apartments, with a large swimming pool and kid's pool. They are conveniently located less than five minutes walk from the beach, shops and restaurants of the village of Moraitika, which is well known for its sandy beach and calm waters, ideal for kids. The property is in lovely gardens in a peaceful olive grove and offers everything you need for the perfect family holiday, with no need for car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mayflower Apartments & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments & Studios Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing