We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing”

The Village Taverna
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Moraitika
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astonishing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited on our last night only last week and we were amazed by the quality of the food and the hospitable welcome from the owner and his family. The taverna itself was typically authentic Greek - not tourist Greek and the owner made us feel very welcome. We took Nikos up on his offer of choosing our three courses and we were not disappointed. The food was heavenly and very reasonably priced. If only we'd discovered it earlier in our holiday!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    58
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real Greek food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited the Village Taverna several times. Food is really great. The atmosphere is nice, prices are ok. Thank you Nikos!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Konrad T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerod, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy traditional taverna, with great food, great atmosphere and great service.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Thanks to Nikos and his family, we had 3 realy great evenings. Our experiences with this cosy restaurant, are only positiv. The wife in the kitchen is preparing tasty, original greek food and we are served by Nikos (the dad), 2 daughters and the son in law. Everybody so friendly, smiling and make you realy feel welcome. The best recommendations from Ulrik and Martin, Denmark

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HEDE1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of the best on Island Corfu!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

spectacular traditional Corfu food. We have an extended holiday in Corfu every year visiting family, therefore have had opportunity to try many Tavernas. This is one of the best (if not the best) on the island. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Efficient service, amazing wine and authentic traditional Corfu food(which is second to none). No bland tourist food here. This location is in middle of village which is part of its charm. This place is defiantly worth the effort to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank curlieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moraitika June 2014”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited several restaurants during our stay in Moraitika last week and The Village taverna was the very best. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and when we said we were from Wales we were greeted in Welsh much tio the delight of my daughter.
It was our first visit to Greece and the owner asked us if we trusted him to cook his best Greek food noting our likes and dislikes so the menu was abandoned and we were treated to some really delightful cheese , veg chicken and lamb dishes. The crepes which followed were to die for.
Our 3 course meal with wine came in at 30 euros ao amazing price as well.
On our second viist they remembered us and where we had sat and gave us the same table again the service and meals were equally amazing, i can recommend the sole .
We booked the table for our last night and arrived to find it set for us with fresh flowers in the serviettes a nice touch. Again the food was fantasic, a lovely last evening with fond farewells at the end
If you do visit please say hello from Ann & Emily from Wales.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Taverna also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to The Village Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing