We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!”

The Village Taverna
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Moraitika
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Okay - so it's a bit of a walk up the hill - but the food more than makes up for it!

The menu was explained and an offer then made of them providing a "selection" of dishes. Unfortunately all options were meat which I do not eat. As soon as I mentioned this I was told it was not a problem and the dishes were arranged especially for me.

The starters were wonderful - and filling! The fish that arrived for the main course was stunning and filleted in seconds in front of me. Desserts were refreshing and delicious.

Prices were no more expensive than some of the restaurants in the town but the food better quality.

We went early so getting a table wasn't too much of an issue but if you wanted to ensure a table it is worth the walk to book!

Helpful?
Thank MightyMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    53
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely food on the main road at the junction. Has garden so kids are safe. Serve can be slow but hey we are in Greece!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagsvaerd, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No way”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

What a difference from last time i am sad to say. This time I was ignored from the father "because I was alone I think" When he finally came to take my order, he didnt write it down and off course he forgot all about me. So I had to ask for my drinks and food again. When i wanted to pay i had to ask 5 times, and i really mean 5 times! Before they got me my check. I was so angry when I went down the mountain. SAD

Helpful?
6 Thank Stw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Taverna Ever”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Situated in Moraitika old village, this taverna is pretty with lots of plants and flowers, and has excellent food, very friendly staff and a, lovely atmosphere - buzzing but not noisy. Advisable to book in advance!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissypp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An all arounded beautiful restaurant...

I went here 3 nights in a row and we had between 5 and 9 people in our party and each time, every night we could not fault the experience.

The food was amazing, every day we tried starters, mains and desserts and loved each course. Nikos asked if he could simply surprise us and not choose from the menu... I was too afraid to do this at first but members of my party went for it on the first night. I tasted each course they got and loved them as well as my own. I tried a large number of courses in the 3 nights therefore can't list each one but honestly they were all amazing.

On top of amazing food, the service was amazing. The family who own the restaurant work there and provide such lovely, warm service. They are funny, sweet, kind, happy...I could go on!

If you don't visit this place you will be missing out! I wish I didn't have to leave!

Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Siân-marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Taverna also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to The Village Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing