We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“corfu 2014”
Review of Sea Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Bird Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we enjoy our stay at the seabird clean comfy room lovely food freindly family staff & only 2 minute walk to one of the best beaches i have seen in 20yrs of visiting the greek islands .returning to corfu next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank k2sde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Wasn't too impressed as we pulled up to the seabird, tucked down a side street and didn't look impressive. The room was nothing special but clean which was a bonus, the bathroom..... Well bit of a joke here, shower curtain was 6 inches short of the tray which meant the floor was flooded everytime it was used and a stench of rotten eggs frequently came out of the drain.
Air con is an extra option at €6/ day and the safe in the room was €20 for the fortnight, free wifi throughout the hotel is very patchy and hit or miss whether you get a connection or not.
We were on bed and breakfast option, another bit of a joke ! Ok if you like cereal or spam and cheese, if you were lucky they sometimes threw in hotdogs to add some variety, every now and again they put out a bowl of croissants but you had to be like lynford christie to beat the Germans who snaffled them in giant handfuls in under 3 seconds !
On the plus side, it is close to the beach( 1min walk) but don't expect the luxury of sand, it's sharp shingle and expect to be charged €8/day for 2 sunbeds and a parasol.
So to sum up, it's a bit dated but clean, cleaners in every day with fresh towels, close to the beach and lots of shops and places to eat within walking distance. Just bear in mind they arn't charging 5 star prices so you arn't getting 5 star hotel, it serves it purpose as a cheap fortnight away !

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Paulharris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We are family - father, mother, with 2-year and 9-year old kids. Moraitika is a very beautiful village with a gorgeous, flat sandy beach only 100 m.from the hotel. The hotel may be a bit old , but spotlessly clean,in a great location and the staff are all wonderful, so welcoming and helpful - nothing too much trouble.The pool was with a separate small children aream and in the adjacent gardens are a small playground area. Our room as we only for showers and sleeping use the somewhat small room completely enough for usm with a double bed and a bunk beds for the kids but very clean. The room had a nice balcony with seating. Breakfast was verry good with a buffet of mostly cereal,yogurt and honey, jam, butter, eggs, cheese, ham, sausages,eggs,fruit, breads and fresh coffee, juices and more. - very good. Unfortunately The food at the dinner tasted allways good, and that where I always like it, cooked with greek cuisine and Greek flavor. Many people do not like it, but in Greece you must taste greek food. The drinks at the dinner on extra charge. Than that it is a small family hotel, the guests were mixed (older couples, families with children, young childless couples.) and all nationalities. It was great and we will be back next year in the summer holidays there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yianniscorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel may be a bit tired, but spotlessly clean,in a great location and the staff are wonderful. Owned andrun by Yiannis and his 2 sons, who are all so welcoming and helpful - nothing too much trouble. And, so trustworthy - after a few too many beverages one evening I left my handbag in the bar, panicked next morning when I realised I hadn't got it, only to find Alex had put it safe behind the bar - all intact. Even better, our coach transfer back to the airport was early, and in a panic my new iphone was left on the bar. I spoke to the Yiannis, who told me to email my address and he would send it on. Most people i told this too said I'd never see it again, but I knew I would and sure enough I week later it arrived safely, intact. Yiannis had also insured in just in case. When I asked how to reimburse him, he replied "you can pay me when you come back on holiday". Not that we need an excuse but........ We me some wonderful fun (if slightly crazy) people from Wales and Germany who return year after year and I can understand why.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CHooley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have never been so ashamed at the rudeness and disrespect of hotel staff in all my life! The waitresses made our stay uneasy and the owner made us feel uncomfortable in many ways frequently! However one male waiter was very nice to us throughout our stay!
The bathroom drainage is terrible to the degree that every shower you have ends up that you are walking out the shower to a pool of water across the bathroom floor!
The rooms electric and air con were very dodgy and temperamental to the degree that we were sat in pitch black for half an hour!
The food is another matter in itself! I have never been so let down by a lack of choice and soggy buffet with only 1 meat option per day. The soup was made with powdered flavouring and it came through in the taste!
The hotel wifi works in one small room and that's all, which is disappointing!
The distance to the beach is good which leaves a small distance to walk however when it comes to reaching our room on the top floor, a lift would be much more convenient!
The pool is located at such an angle whereby it is deprived from sunlight all day which is disappointing
Moratikka is a great place however the stay at this hotel has let down our holiday mainly due to the rudeness of staff and poor quality of food which we ended up purchasing our own food everyday!
Not worth the money and a very disappointing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MRmarting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Have just returned from 9 nights at the Sea Bird. Rooms are clean and basic but totally adequate for our needs as a family of four, two adults two children aged twelve and ten. The room consisted of a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The bunk beds did make a bit of noise when my daughter got into the top bunk but we just put the mattress on the floor, there was plenty of room. Bathroom has a shower but no bath. The air conditioning and safe deposit are extra which you pay for on arrival.

The half board option was ok food was basic especially breakfast (no toast!). Wasps are a problem so don't sit in the outside area of the restaurant you will be plagued by them. Only one choice of main meal in the evening and one dessert.

The bar is more expensive than some of the local bars, buy your bottled water from the supermarkets it's much cheaper.

The pool was ok but did look a bit murky. We did see some cleaning done. The staff at the hotel not overly friendly apart from the two young girls who work very hard and are lovely.

Location wise for the beach it's ideal just a short walk, plenty of supermarkets bars and restaurants either along the beach or around moritika itself.

Cheap and cheerful is how I would sum up this hotel.What made our holiday so good was the people we met and made friends with. I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room as there isn't a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karaoke-kate-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Arrived to find our room did not have a mountain view, but was about 5 feet from the road with a van parked literally up against our small balcony. However... the manager was extremely helpful and moved us within a couple of days when another room became available.

Rooms are average in size, comfort and design (slightly dated) but have excellent air conditioning (additional cost of 6 Euro a night, but well worth it).

The pool is quite small but because most of the other people on holiday there are on group touring trips (mainly Germans), it is empty every day, I mean empty! Had the pool to ourselves most days. Including the kids’ pool too.

It's a 60 second walk to the beach, and what a beach! It's huge, uncrowded and soft sand all the way out. Our kids could go 500 yards out swimming with the water at just waist height. It's worth staying just to have access to the beach.

We booked half board, but would probably go B&B next time.

Breakfast was quite good with a buffet of mostly cereal, eggs, fruit, breads and fresh coffee, juices - very good. Unfortunately, you had to be a champion table hurdler to beat the greedy Germans to the croissants that were brought out at regular intervals (every 15-20 minutes). Because the Germans were always going out on coach tours, they would take every single croissant (10 per person) and shove them in their bags/back packs for the day - presumably to save money on buying lunch etc.

At one stage my 8 year old daugher was literally pushed out of the way by a huge German backside so that they could load up for the day trip. I told her to stick her fork in the aforementioned buttocks next time it happens.

Evening meal/dinner was nothing to write home about really - I suppose this was the only truly disappointing aspect of the hotel. The food wasn't very varied and was never hot - luke warm at best. There was enough choice, but of the ten days we stayed, we chose to eat out on 7 of them after seeing what was available in the food room. I say "food room" because it's not a restaurant - just a cafe type room with no air con. A place to shove basic food into your gob before going out for the evening.

The pool bar that was advertised was actually a shed near the pool that didn't open the entire time we stayed. To be fair, it looked like if they opened the door, the rest of the thing would collapse!

The hotel is immaculately clean. The manager is very approachable and the rest of the staff are friendly enough. It's a family run hotel and it has that feel about it throughout. It's not luxury, but it is a lovely place to stay and in an incredible location.

There are plenty of tavernas and places to eat, drink and be merry in Moraitika, so we will definitely be returning one day.

Golden beach bar on the seafront is a huge bar with Elvis, Greek Dancing and even cuban dancers ala strictly come dancing. It's a great night out.

Get yourself to Bella Vista restaurant (up a huge steep hill - get a cab) for the greatest view of the Island whilst you eat.

Despite the food and a couple of other minor niggles, I'm still giving this five stars as it's great value for money, brilliant location and a family that would do anything for you as a customer!

Yamas!

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room - not a car park/street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wazzygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraitika
0.3 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#2 of 7 in Moraitika
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#6 of 7 in Moraitika
121 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#1 of 1 in Boukari
49 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Yannis Corfu
Hotel Yannis Corfu
#2 of 7 in Ipsos
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bird Hotel

Address: Moraitika 49084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
Price Range: £27 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Bird Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bird hotel is a pleasant family 3 star (***) Hotel, recently renovated. Located close to the beach, in a quieter part of Moraitika and offers real Greek hospitality. Moraitika centre is a little further away where you 'll find a broad selection of bars and tavernas. With its own swimming pool and bar on site it is ideal for those quieter days when you don't want stray too far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabird Hotel Corfu
Sea Bird Hotel Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing