We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a 5* rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kiotari
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth a 5* rating”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel itself is immaculate, however it is not worth a 5* rating.

The food in the main restaurant is average, not always warm, and it is virtually impossible to get a hot cup of tea. It caters for large groups of people, and in complete honesty they're out of their comfort zone. If you want a good meal, I highly recommend the Greek/Chinese Restaurants which are located on site.

Facilities available for families with children are incredible, the Animation Team are fantastic at their jobs and always aim to involve everyone in their activities. Only problem being that the evening entertainment is more often than not, spoken in French.

The Staff at Reception are incapable of multi tasking and unable to work under pressure. On our final day they provided us with an incorrect flight time, and we also had to make our own way to Rhodes Airport because the hotels organised transfer wouldn't have gotten us there on time. The Staff at Reception were quite frankly useless, uninterested and unwilling to do anything to help us out, their response was, "Catch the local bus, it leaves in 10 minutes"...

I also booked myself in for a French Manicure at the Spa, I didn't expect to have to inform, "qualified beauticians" what a French Manicure is, and that I didn't want a child's glitter nail polish with stickers on my nails, which was their first attempt.

All in all, I was very disappointed with certain aspects of this resort, it isn't worth a 5* Rating, the location isn't ideal and as previously mentioned, the Staff working on the Reception aren't interested in anything that doesn't have an easy solution.

On the plus side, Mike who works at the beach bar is absolutely fantastic and makes amazing cocktails!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    709
    274
    89
    50
See reviews for
1,270
713
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springhead,Oldham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Its been 2 years since we had a holiday here, because my husband and myself wanted to try somewhere different. we have been to Rodos Maris 4 times and love it. food good, restaurants good. We play games around the pool in the morning and sand boules and volley ball on the beach in the afternoon, we love that this hotel has its own beach. you can do as much or as little as you want. All children are well looked after and they seem to love it.The animation team are funny and very competitive as is my husband, he just loves to win Rico at sand boules (haha). The restaurant staff are excellent and very hard working. Wine waiter service at every meal, what more could you ask for, we usually go for a week, but the last time we went we went for two weeks and it still wasn't long enough, think we will have to pay another visit this year, maybe
September "CAN'T WAIT" Kim & Chris Metcalf.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a nice hotel, the bars, pools and shared areas are modern, clean and well maintained.

The beach is not brilliant but is OK. It appears most beach / external areas around the hotel are not that clean but are adequate.

The restaurant gets very busy and is not that big but food is good - staff are a bit grumpy but that is due to the constraints working in such a tight area. Bars are good, staff are better and respond well to tips.

Its just a shame it was all spoiled by a booking mistake - I booked 2 bungalows and was allocated only 1. 4 adults trying to share a space for a family didn't work. Hotel were completely uninterested and it was clear that once they have your money you're on your own.

Disappointing for a 5 star hotel - overall I can't recommend the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank me95csh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Been there during Summer 2013 holidays....booked almost last minute.
The price is a bit high but overall the quality of rooms (junior suite), food (breakfast - lunch - dinner), and the facilities is pretty good.

Rooms are clean, food varies and of good quality, swimming pools are ok and clean.

Breakfast: Yes
Dinner we suggest the Italian as people are very nice.

One suggestion: book Greek restaurant in advance as it is always over booked.

Went through Alpitour....car rental is more convenient if done at hotel's desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lugano_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We traveled the first 2 weeks of oct and the weather was lovely and hot came home with a lovely tan,
ROOMS
very clean and cleaned daily, little fridge stocked every 2 days, kids loved this
POOLS
Cold but nice once you have gotten over the shock, kids loved the slides music and games if you want or a more quieter little pool out of the way
FOOD
Very nice great choice my little boy will not eat much but he didn't starve chinese and italian very good the chocolate cake was to die for haha
BEACH
Clean and quiet shingles hurt your feet so get some full beach shoes sea lovely plenty of sun beds and beach bar with snacks
STAFF
Some lovely staff very good with the kids always had time for you and always let you no what was going on in the day and night
INTERNET CAFE BAR AND ARCADE
This was very good in the evening sat outside using the free wifi while the kids played in the arcade chilling before and after dinner
OVERALL
We had a great holiday would defo go back not right away but looking round the island would probably go back to this hotel cause of the shops near by and the beach is just across a little quiet back road, the weather was great, and the views were amazing , all staff were very good with the kids especially the main buffet restaurant staff eve and stelios my little lad never stopped talking about them when he got home and wants to go back to see them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adi12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have no idea why there are bad reviews, no please in some people. I have travelled all over the world to some gorgeous destinations. Honk Kong Singapore Australia Spain Italy France the canaries the Balearics. And this place was defiantly the most memorable and we will be returning. Loads to do the all inclusive amenities are plentiful and not cheap crap like a lot of places. Free mini bar refilled daily. 3 restaurants to choose from. Beach bar and they did food too. The hotel and a partnering tourist place run events and trips. There's is a local doctor seconds away and was on site daily. I fell very ill and he made my time a lot more bearable.

Having read some reviews about the hotel I'm shocked. You will not go anywhere better for less FACT. One reviewer said the guests were rude? How is that the hotels fault, made me laugh.

Get yourself to this place. Not many kids so it was quite relaxing. Only downside is the distance from the airport, we will be getting a taxi rather than coach transfer because if there's a lot of stops it will take over 2 hours. In a taxi it's more like 45 mins or so tops.

The hotel manager and management team were always around and were very very nice. Along with the hotel employees, such nice people all of them.

Room Tip: We went in a bungalow type buildings not the main hotel, would definitely recommend these. Also get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort for a week in September.
Good Points.
Fantastic Selection of Meals in the main restaurant.
The food was really good quality and cooked to a very high standard.
The Italian restaurant was fantastic,(best pizza in Rhodes)
The Bars Served decent lager and a reasonable whine,Local spirits were ok.
The staff were very accommodating especially the entertainment team.

Not So good.
Room was not bad but not 4*,
Pool area was good plenty of beds but the water was freezing.
Main dining room could get very busy.
Some of the guests were very impolite,

All in all if you want all inclusive it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the theater as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiotari
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Rodos Village Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
418 reviews
28.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,660 reviews
9.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa
Address: Kiotari 85109, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kiotari
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kiotari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiotari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kiotari
#4 Family Hotel in Kiotari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kiotari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa is a unique hotel, located at the southeast coast of Rhodes Island. Its elegant and picturesque rooms and bungalows are ideal for couples and families who seek after high quality in a quiet place. Since 1998, we are specialized in the All-Inclusive program, and with all our experience we invite you to explore the various facilities in Mitsis Rodos Maris. In 2011, the hotel was fully renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort And Spa
Mitsis Rodos Maris Kiotari
Mitsis Rodos Maris Resort & Spa Rhodes/Kiotari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing