We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and looked after....lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Mare Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Mare Villas
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kiotari
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed and looked after....lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here, in a villa, in the first week of September 2013.
As mentioned in other reviews, George and his staff are attentive without being intrusive. If you need something, just ask. Do seek his views on where to go, he will give an honest opinion, tell you the best route and where to park.

Villas:
The villas are exactly as the photo's on the web site, no surprises of the photos being ten years old or enhanced ...that view is really what you get.
The villas are serviced daily... always clean...good quality towels changed daily.
The kitchenette is basic (no surprise), some might require more kitchen equipment if preparing food regularly .... we ate out most days.
The shower at first looked a little flimsy, but worked well and the water pressure is very good.
There is plenty of patio furniture, all of good quality and condition.
The splash pool ideal for cooling off.... cleaned everyday.. and privately screened to two sides.. ...and that view does not get boring!..... again as per the website photos.
Security - safe provided.

Technology:
WiFi - I found slow, though fine for emails etc , struggles with media streaming , fine for streaming music via spotify or Amazon Cloud.... and better coverage than many hotels (works from the patio)
TV channels limited, but thats not why we came here anyway.
Phone signal good , 3G (or equiv) can be erratic.
We had two aircon units, both modern and efficient (one upstairs, one down).

Getting there:
We used J&D car rentals, recommended by George ...they meet you at arrivals, take you across the road to the car park and hand over ... easy .... on the way back you park in the same place and hand key over to their rep...again..easy ...
From the airport - Follow the web site instructions exactly, using the cars trip meter... George says most people miss the turning away from Lindos (you turn right to Kiotari ).... this is not very well signposted and doesn't feel like the main junction you would expect... so pay attention when near it...And on the way home it easy to miss the left turn to the airport from the main coast road, before Rhodes Town.
Road signs are in English too .... but typically there are not enough of them...you often don't know where you are, until you are way past a village.
The roads are in better condition than our UK roads, but not well lit outside the main towns, be careful and use main beam at night when you can, as the roads constantly change width and often have deep drainage channels at the side.
We were there ten days and never saw a single police car outside of Rhodes Town ... perhaps thats what explains the locals driving, they do not seem to adhere to any speed limits or no overtaking signs, or even one way roads.... Parking - Ha Ha a comedy in the making ..
It easy to get around (good nerves needed for Rhodes Town tho ).

Do go across country , the country roads are like our UK 'B' roads but with hardly any potholes and some great scenery .... Sadly a lot of acreage was burnt during the July fires, but this gives an almost Martian landscape to some areas.....allow extra time you WILL get lost and need to guess on some turnings, but it adds to the fun ... stop at a small village cafe/bar - they look nothing from the outside, old broken or plastic furniture at times ,you may have to point and use sign language , but there is a warm welcome and often they will have their family/village history photos on the walls

Food:
Breakfast is served nearby ...plenty of variety, just ask for what you need.
We ate out everyday. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, or few mins drive.... We tried six of the restaurants nearby and never had a bad meal. Prices are typical tourist level (not cheap/as expected) .... try the 'Greek selection' - all the restaurants seem to do it - served in an earthenware dish as a selection of Greek food.
Drink bottled water (you don't have to, but tap water will upset those with sensitive tums)
Our favourite restaurant in Kiotari was Mourella, more expensive than the others, but a big step up in flavours, presentation and atmosphere (check out the Tripadviosr reviews).

George adds an extra dimension to staying here .... seek his advice ... and ask for anything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights for our anniversary 28th Aug to 4th Sep

The complex is exactly what the doctor ordered if you’re looking for a very private, relaxing, quiet break away.

Normally staying in an all inclusive hotel with the family, this time we wanted something where we could take things at our own pace … and Al Mare Villas is just the place.

Leading up to our holiday, George Hrisafinas, the complex Manager was always on hand with quick responses to our emailed enquiries.

On arrival, our Traditional Villa was perfect; very clean, very spacious and ideal for our needs.

There is a good sized bathroom and bedroom on the top floor.
Downstairs the living/kitchen area is more than enough with a good sized smart HD TV.

Housekeeping cleaned and changed towels every day.

2 very large sliding doors, with insect screens, lead onto the private terraced area.
I was a little skeptical that the pool might not be big enough for me, being 6’ 4”, but surprisingly the pool, being 1.4m deep was ample for the odd dive in.

The location of the villas allow for sunbathing all day from (9:30 till 5:30).

We didn't make use of the restaurant on site except for the day of our anniversary. The breakfast choice was good with hot and cold options. Without any reminders, George went out of his way to ensure that our anniversary started the best way possible – thank you so much!

Highly recommended, so much so that we are already booking our return trip next year !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPABBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for place to relax and enjoy peace ans quiet, this is the place to be!The staff was amazing, rooms perfectly clean, private little beach with sunbeds and parasols. Just 15 minute walk away from great restaurant Stefanos, supermarket and few other shops.We had the best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anke981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is my first time costing Greece and Rhodes was definitely a great choice. We were overwhelmed by the fantastic service received from the hotel staff led by George, the most friendly and helpful guy on earth! We booked for 5 nights for the apartment and luckily got upgrade to the traditional Vila and subsequently also tried classic Vila. Each Vila has a sea front swimming pool with constant running water supply to keep the water fresh and clean. We could spend the whole week in the pool because it was so romantic with peaceful surroundings.
We did not have a car or valid driving license. It did not really stop us from going to various beaches and the famous Old Town. George helped us to plan the trip based on his local knowledge and provided us a useful bus timetable. It was pretty handy and the bus normally gets here on time, so not having a car didn't make a huge difference to us.

There is a large super market 10 mins walk away and a number of family resorts located nearby. We were given free pass to use the facility in one of the biggest resort, which was great.

Another big thing I need to mention is that the breakfast here was so wonderful! You basically can name whatever you want to eat as breakfast and Geogre would make it for you! Yes, do not forget to try the pancake!

It was such a sweet and wonderful stay and we really enjoyed the Vila and the helpful service from the friendly staff! We will be visiting here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thehappytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Very cosy and facinated hotel. Great view, nice pool and excellent breakfast. George and others are very kind and gentle people, treat you as u're the family member. My wife had her birthday - she was given a bottle of good wine and great cake during the breakfast time. Any requests are always welcomed. Rooms are beyond the expectations! Better to have a car around, pretty convenient to travel the island.
Must visit this hotel to feel truly hospital Greece.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Олег Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very relaxing holiday - George made our family very welcome. Be sure to have breakfast there!
We stayed in a Traditional Villa for 7 nights which was cleaned every day. My husband and I had the best sleep ever in the very comfortable bed which had a great sea view.

Places we liked on our trip: Lindos, St Paul's Bay (Lindos), Rhodes Town

Restaurant: Broccolino in Lindos (Amazing food and really lovely people)

Room Tip: Traditional Villa for the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julius1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Mare_Villas, General Manager at Al Mare Villas, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site and we are really grateful for your time. It helps to inform other future guests of surroundings and location so that they may decide appropriately on the type of holiday they are searching for along with room types at our property.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back to Al Mare Villas on a future visit.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed at Al Mare Villas the week of May 16-23, 2013 with my husband. Even before arriving, I found George and the staff to be extremely helpful. We had a pool suite which was absolutely amazing, it felt like you were swimming in the Sea, when you were in the pool. Do NOT miss the breakfast, delicious and served by a charming waitress. The location is so peaceful you will want to just sit there and enjoy the view, but you really shouldn't miss Lindos (only 15 minutes away) and Rhodes. I have traveled to many places and found this to be a jewel if you like a peaceful place to enjoy the Greek atmosphere and relax. Note that if you like sandy beaches you may want to rent a car a move around which is enjoyable in itself. The nearby restaurants are delcious, friendly and affordable.
Cathy Rubini

Room Tip: Chose a pool suite if you can afford it, All rooms are in a great position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiotari
1.6 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Rhodos Village Beach Hotel
29.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mare Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mare Villas

Property: Al Mare Villas
Address: Kiotari Beach, Kiotari 851 09, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kiotari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiotari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiotari
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kiotari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kiotari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Mare Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Seaside Suites located in Rhodes. A haven of warm elegance, tasteful design and gracious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Mare Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mare Villas Hotel Kiotari
Al Mare Hotel
Al Mare Villas Rhodes/Kiotari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing