We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”
Review of Al Mare Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Mare Villas
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kiotari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Villas are set in a beautiful spot, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful area of the Island. We stayed in a traditional villa with our own pool. They are spacious, the balcony is large, the pool area is private and the views are perfect.
Do not listen to the previous review that scored the Vilas low (the one not written in English). We too had 2 days of cloud and did not notice the electricity or water problem. There are several tavernas within 1 kilometre in either direction, that serve food and drinks, the pools were cleaned early every morning that we were there, I noticed because I loved getting up early for a relaxing swim and had to wait for this to be done. The Wi-Fi seems to be run through the television so make sure you have it switched on, or you can use a different Wi-Fi setting, there seems to be two channels that we picked up, just speak to the reception and they will help. There is the odd maintenance issue, but only minor, which would be expected of a property that is used.

These Villas are the perfect alternative to the all-inclusive, If you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with your own private pool and beach, these are perfect. Make sure you walk down to the small cove and beach below, there is never anyone there and it is a nice little spot to sunbathe.

We loved them. What can be better than relaxing by your own pool, with a glass of wine looking out towards the ocean?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were booked into a Traditional Villa. Due to late flight arrival,
We did not arrive until 12.45am we were given a warm reception by George
Who showed us to the villa. A welcome pack awaits. The interior is minimilistic with quality furnishings,
There is a large screen Smart TV...Rarely used as the views from the villa are amazing and having the infinity pool outside your door is so good you do not want to leave. This is a total relaxing
Experience and so quiet. All properties have privacy from your neighbours. Breakfast is
Served from 7.30am -10.30am. No rush there.
If you are looking for the ultimate 'chillax' this is for you :)

Room Tip: This is a Villa..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After our stop in Athens we had a few free days so we booked a 4 night stay in Rhodes since we read the "Silver Bridge". This hotel popped up on all the sites as being one of the best on the island and I guess they were right. Greta break and thanks for the staff on finding my iPod.

Room Tip: Book for breakfast and you are good for the rest of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here, in a villa, in the first week of September 2013.
As mentioned in other reviews, George and his staff are attentive without being intrusive. If you need something, just ask. Do seek his views on where to go, he will give an honest opinion, tell you the best route and where to park.

Villas:
The villas are exactly as the photo's on the web site, no surprises of the photos being ten years old or enhanced ...that view is really what you get.
The villas are serviced daily... always clean...good quality towels changed daily.
The kitchenette is basic (no surprise), some might require more kitchen equipment if preparing food regularly .... we ate out most days.
The shower at first looked a little flimsy, but worked well and the water pressure is very good.
There is plenty of patio furniture, all of good quality and condition.
The splash pool ideal for cooling off.... cleaned everyday.. and privately screened to two sides.. ...and that view does not get boring!..... again as per the website photos.
Security - safe provided.

Technology:
WiFi - I found slow, though fine for emails etc , struggles with media streaming , fine for streaming music via spotify or Amazon Cloud.... and better coverage than many hotels (works from the patio)
TV channels limited, but thats not why we came here anyway.
Phone signal good , 3G (or equiv) can be erratic.
We had two aircon units, both modern and efficient (one upstairs, one down).

Getting there:
We used J&D car rentals, recommended by George ...they meet you at arrivals, take you across the road to the car park and hand over ... easy .... on the way back you park in the same place and hand key over to their rep...again..easy ...
From the airport - Follow the web site instructions exactly, using the cars trip meter... George says most people miss the turning away from Lindos (you turn right to Kiotari ).... this is not very well signposted and doesn't feel like the main junction you would expect... so pay attention when near it...And on the way home it easy to miss the left turn to the airport from the main coast road, before Rhodes Town.
Road signs are in English too .... but typically there are not enough of them...you often don't know where you are, until you are way past a village.
The roads are in better condition than our UK roads, but not well lit outside the main towns, be careful and use main beam at night when you can, as the roads constantly change width and often have deep drainage channels at the side.
We were there ten days and never saw a single police car outside of Rhodes Town ... perhaps thats what explains the locals driving, they do not seem to adhere to any speed limits or no overtaking signs, or even one way roads.... Parking - Ha Ha a comedy in the making ..
It easy to get around (good nerves needed for Rhodes Town tho ).

Do go across country , the country roads are like our UK 'B' roads but with hardly any potholes and some great scenery .... Sadly a lot of acreage was burnt during the July fires, but this gives an almost Martian landscape to some areas.....allow extra time you WILL get lost and need to guess on some turnings, but it adds to the fun ... stop at a small village cafe/bar - they look nothing from the outside, old broken or plastic furniture at times ,you may have to point and use sign language , but there is a warm welcome and often they will have their family/village history photos on the walls

Food:
Breakfast is served nearby ...plenty of variety, just ask for what you need.
We ate out everyday. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, or few mins drive.... We tried six of the restaurants nearby and never had a bad meal. Prices are typical tourist level (not cheap/as expected) .... try the 'Greek selection' - all the restaurants seem to do it - served in an earthenware dish as a selection of Greek food.
Drink bottled water (you don't have to, but tap water will upset those with sensitive tums)
Our favourite restaurant in Kiotari was Mourella, more expensive than the others, but a big step up in flavours, presentation and atmosphere (check out the Tripadviosr reviews).

George adds an extra dimension to staying here .... seek his advice ... and ask for anything you need.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights for our anniversary 28th Aug to 4th Sep

The complex is exactly what the doctor ordered if you’re looking for a very private, relaxing, quiet break away.

Normally staying in an all inclusive hotel with the family, this time we wanted something where we could take things at our own pace … and Al Mare Villas is just the place.

Leading up to our holiday, George Hrisafinas, the complex Manager was always on hand with quick responses to our emailed enquiries.

On arrival, our Traditional Villa was perfect; very clean, very spacious and ideal for our needs.

There is a good sized bathroom and bedroom on the top floor.
Downstairs the living/kitchen area is more than enough with a good sized smart HD TV.

Housekeeping cleaned and changed towels every day.

2 very large sliding doors, with insect screens, lead onto the private terraced area.
I was a little skeptical that the pool might not be big enough for me, being 6’ 4”, but surprisingly the pool, being 1.4m deep was ample for the odd dive in.

The location of the villas allow for sunbathing all day from (9:30 till 5:30).

We didn't make use of the restaurant on site except for the day of our anniversary. The breakfast choice was good with hot and cold options. Without any reminders, George went out of his way to ensure that our anniversary started the best way possible – thank you so much!

Highly recommended, so much so that we are already booking our return trip next year !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPABBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for place to relax and enjoy peace ans quiet, this is the place to be!The staff was amazing, rooms perfectly clean, private little beach with sunbeds and parasols. Just 15 minute walk away from great restaurant Stefanos, supermarket and few other shops.We had the best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anke981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is my first time costing Greece and Rhodes was definitely a great choice. We were overwhelmed by the fantastic service received from the hotel staff led by George, the most friendly and helpful guy on earth! We booked for 5 nights for the apartment and luckily got upgrade to the traditional Vila and subsequently also tried classic Vila. Each Vila has a sea front swimming pool with constant running water supply to keep the water fresh and clean. We could spend the whole week in the pool because it was so romantic with peaceful surroundings.
We did not have a car or valid driving license. It did not really stop us from going to various beaches and the famous Old Town. George helped us to plan the trip based on his local knowledge and provided us a useful bus timetable. It was pretty handy and the bus normally gets here on time, so not having a car didn't make a huge difference to us.

There is a large super market 10 mins walk away and a number of family resorts located nearby. We were given free pass to use the facility in one of the biggest resort, which was great.

Another big thing I need to mention is that the breakfast here was so wonderful! You basically can name whatever you want to eat as breakfast and Geogre would make it for you! Yes, do not forget to try the pancake!

It was such a sweet and wonderful stay and we really enjoyed the Vila and the helpful service from the friendly staff! We will be visiting here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thehappytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiotari
1.1 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
478 reviews
9.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Ekaterini Hotel
Ekaterini Hotel
#9 of 15 in Kiotari
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mare Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mare Villas

Address: Kiotari Beach, Kiotari 851 09, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kiotari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiotari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiotari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kiotari
Price Range: £64 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Seaside Suites located in Rhodes. A haven of warm elegance, tasteful design and gracious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Mare Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mare Villas Hotel Kiotari
Al Mare Hotel
Al Mare Villas Rhodes/Kiotari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing