We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crabtree River Cottages
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at crabtree cottages they were just gorgeous, I couldn't stop saying wow from the moment we drove in the drive :) beautifully situated next to the creek, it's the perfect view for when your sitting in your private dining area eating your delicious eggs, bacon and freshley baked bread (all supplied), or enjoying a wine on the deck. With the choice of wood or electric heating you can guarantee you will be warm and cosy no matter the weather outside. Close to hobart and a short travel to all the huon valley has to offer, these cottages are set in the perfect location. After a day of exploring you can relax in your very own spa with a glass of wine or cider that you have collected along you travels. My husband and I stayed in the Emily cottage for 3 nights for our first wedding anniversary and it was definitely made one to never forget, as we have had many horror stays, but this time was perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Crab Tree Cottage is a stunning house divided into 2 self contained units. The surrounding grounds are nothing less than divine - with beautiful gardens , a flowing stream at the base of the incline with a resident platypus and wild black berries (yum!) and visiting wildlife. Inside is very neat ,clean and spacious. High ceilings with large windows allowing natural light inside. A tile file place adds to the ambience and warms beautifully. The small dining area over looks the balcony and outdoors. A nice size bedroom and a spa in the ensuite. A very memorable and positive stay - would highly recommend staying here . Near to the gate way of the Huon Valley and surrounds. Thank you would come again... Fee and Tim - Millbridge WA ( Score - 9/10)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very pretty and well appointed cottage close to Hobart and the Huonville region. Comfy lounge room, great bed and excellent spa/bathroom. We stayed in Eliza and were lucky enough to have Emily empty for our brief stay. Nice grounds to have a stroll and if you are quiet enough you can sit on the riverbank and watch the resident platypus on dusk. The supplied fresh bread, bacon and eggs for breakfast are a bonus.

Room Tip: Eliza potentially could be quieter than Emily though the dozen or so cars that pass could hardly bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What an amazing place. Highly recommended. The included breakfast was delicious. Great value for money. Quite surrounds and not far from Huonville or the hobart cbd. Lovely layout with a nice collection of music and DVDs aswell. Spa suite with really comfortable pillows and a great theme throughout

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Why not stay in this beautiful location that is only 20 minutes from Hobart. Sure glad we did not stay in Hobart where I got a parking ticket at the wharf as my ticket expired by only 4 minutes on a quiet Sunday afternoon (revenue raising by Hobart city council)

Located right along a running stream, this nicely fit out accommodation offers peace and quiet with the sound of running water and the feel of being in nature. At night the wallabies come out. The owners were meticulous in leaving generous provisions to make our own breakfast..

Be sure to go the the Tahune airwalk where you walk amongst the tops of an old growth forest where 2 rivers meet and stop and do the walks near there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this accomodation as it was centrally located in the Huon Valley...and it looked lovely on the website! We stayed in the "Eliza" cottage, it would appear there is no difference between Eliza Cottage or Emily Cottage. Eliza cottage is further away from the road, not that the road is noisy with the odd car going past each day. Completely exceeded our expectations. Gorgeous little stream running past the cottage that you can hear from inside. Beautifully appointed and lovingly looked after by the owners. We didn't get a chance to have a spa but we did get an amazing nights sleep. I would highly recommend this little gem to anyone. We will try and stay for a couple more nights next time. Thank you John!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileyky1ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The crabtree river cottages are a hidden gem of the Huon Valley that shouldn't be missed if you are stressed or just need to chill out from the every day routine of nomal life. It's a relatively unique experience to have such inviting and comfortable accomodation overlooking a crystal clear mountain stream. And yes, there really are trout in that stream! We only stayed one night but wished we could have just stayed and stayed and stayed----- and stayed----! We had a long spa together and had our portable dvd player set up to watch a movie whilst we were lounging awat in the fabulous spa bath. Breakfast was good - bacon, eggs toast juice and coffee, a great way to start the day of exploring the beautiful hidden treasures of the Huon Valley. Better not make it sound too enticing though - we want to keep it all to ourselves.

Room Tip: You can't miss - both cottage a in the perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grove
4.6 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
24.2 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crabtree House
Crabtree House
#2 of 2 in Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.4 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree River Cottages

Property: Crabtree River Cottages
Address: 130a Crabtree Rd, Grove, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabtree River Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Crabtree River Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing