We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, centrally located apartments and studios”
Review of Amalia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amalia Apartments
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week after reading the reviews on TA. Having stayed in S/C apartments in Greece many times before we were very impressed with the standards at the Amalia. This is a family business owned by two brothers and their wives who stay on the premises. They look after all your needs.

We booked a studio but after one night we were offered a free upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. This was spotless, spacious and well equipped with a good balcony overlooking the pool. We had a small oven and two cooking rings in the kitchen area. There were well enough equipped with utensils and you could make a meal there if you chose to do so. We only had brunches there and it was fine.

Air conditioning is available for 5 euros per night, It's well worth it if you are there during the hotter months.

The pool is small but large enough to have a swim and it is very clean and well maintained. There is never any shortage of good sunbeds. There is a pool bar where drinks are the same price or perhaps slightly cheaper than in the village. They also do a limited range of breakfasts, sandwiches, snacks and toasties.

If you have late flight you may be able to keep your apartment on but if not there is a shower in the toilets downstairs. We had a seven hour wait from our 12 noon checkout and it was fine. We just spent a few hours by the pool and wandered down to the village for a late lunch before taking a shower before leaving.

Apartments are better than studios so it is worth paying the little bit extra. We loved our apartment and had a great time there, thanks to Nikki, Adonis and Manolis. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Amalia. Efcharisto!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool and the sea, It is worth paying the extra for a one bedroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just come back from our holiday in Bali Greece Crete. We stayed at the Amalia apps and have done for the last 12 years.The apps are in a central position with easy access to the beach and supermarkets all be it a bit hilly . Apps are well maintained as is the pool. Adonis Nicky and all the family are very welcoming. Family run taverns are excellent some with stunning views and very good home cooked food. There are five beaches to choose from one of witch is ideal for snorkelling. We would recommend Bali and the Amalia apps if you have walking difficulty perhaps it would not be for you.Thank you all for the wonderful holiday see you in September Jennifer and Gerald from Wales

Room Tip: Room 12 or 11 have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just moved on from another fantastic holiday at the Amelia ,it is a spotless ,laid back ,friendly ,family owned hotel ,only 12 rooms ,6 with full sea view ,Antonis does his very best to be accommodating but if you need to guarantee sea view pay the supplement on 1 of the booking websites that has the allocation or take your chance all rooms are superb 3star accom , been coming to Bali for many years and since staying here don't want to go anywhere else,a very big thank you for your hospitality again ............also paradisio beach bar brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hi just had a week in June here. The experience was one of the best. This is a small self catering apartment complex in a central position in Bali. It is beautifully designed with an attractive pool. The welcome is exceptional and the customer service quite beyond what I would normally expect. I found things to be clean and generally in good order. It was populated by English families mostly and had a relaxed , almost private atmosphere. Bar prices are reasonable. There are good tavernas, car rentals and shops all around and some excellent sea views from many rooms. The price paid was very low for early June and for those who like a bargain but still want a decent holiday, this must rank as a leading choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment looking out over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The apartments are well-located (it takes only several minutes to get to beach). Ours were huge and clean. Some of the rooms have a sea view. You can also enjoy swimming in the pool and coctails in the pool bar on the roof of the hotel. They helped us to organize earlt taxi transfer and gladly answered all our questions.It is good option for those who have a car because otherwise you should walk a while from the bus station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having read the reviews we were expecting a 'very' warm welcome so were very disappointed when we arrived to expect these amazingly friendly people but instead got our suitcases grabbed and to be dutifully followed to be told 'this is your room' and were immediately abandoned. no welcome, no info on air con or safe etc.
We later discovered this wasn't the owner (as we never saw the guy again) but have to say the apartment was unpleasantly uncomfortable as the aircon only exists in the bedroom and not adjoining lounge. pool was pleasant and they were 'moderately' friendly at the bar but not overly so... we ended up spending alot of time next door where the barman knew us by name and interacted with us everyday. my husband felt that when he went down to the amalia bar late at night (when they were having a family night) that they saw him as a nuisance. We liked the apartments, apart from the temp problem and location is great but after reading the reviews we were expecting a more personal experience and a warmer welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mazzy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We enjoyed our week at Amalia but a few small improvements would make this a great place to stay. Rooms are nice and reasonably well equipped. Staff were generally friendly. The apartment was very clean but our bathroom bin was not emptied for two days at one point which was not so great.. Also the shower was awkward and so small the shower curtain would stick to our bodies when having a shower. We were given very few towels and no kitchen towel for the dishes, and also there was never enough toilet paper. I know this is a budget hotel but these things are fairly basic requirements and not luxuries. The air condition was charged at 5 euros per day and in July we had no choice but to pay as the weather was very warm. The air con was not particularly effective and the apartment was very hot most of the time. Also not possible to have air con on inside while sitting outside on the balcony (with the door closed) as the air con switched itself off as soon as you opened the balcony door. So it was a choice of sitting inside with air con on or sitting outside and then going to sleep in a stuffy apartment.
Other than this Amalia apts are well placed in Bali village with only a short walk to the beach, supermarkets and restaurants. Sun bed hire at the beach was only 6 euros per day for an umbrella and two beds. Psaropoula was definitely our favorite restaurant as they provided great traditional food in lovely surroundings at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KariJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bali hotels
0.0 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bali
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elpis Bali
Hotel Elpis Bali
#8 of 17 in Bali
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 17 in Bali
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#4 of 17 in Bali
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Apartments

Address: Bali, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bali
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bali
#4 Family Hotel in Bali
Price Range: £26 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amalia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Studios And Apartments
Amalia Studios & Apartments Hotel Crete
Amalia Studios Apartments Crete
Amalia Apartments Crete/Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing