We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Xidas Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Xidas Garden
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Like many people, I rely on reviews from other people when choosing a holiday hotel. There were not many reviews for Xidas Garden Hotel, but what I did read was very positive. We have just returned from there and was 1000% plus satisfied with the accommodation and the surrounding area.

This area is perfect if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday in a beautiful 'paradise' looking setting.

The grounds and layout of this hotel is amazing. This is a small
complex of 50 rooms set around the pool, bar and dinning terraces. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and simple which include a kitchenette. Our shower had curtain but we found it easier to not use the curtain and mop up the water from the floor afterwards with a towel. This is a well run family hotel and the traditional dishes were the best I've tasted. Although 'All Inclusive' we did venture down to a couple of tavernas and again quality of food and service was one of best experienced on holiday.

This area is simply beautiful. Down the road from the hotel to the left is a lovely sandy beach set in a bay with a beach bar at the top overlooking the beach. Across the road are several more tavernas another bar and a fish restaurant up a steep hill. The views from there are spectacular. This area is not overcrowded but busy!! The locals come to this beach area as well. It's fairly safe for children. It is however very busy on the weekend. There is another longer stretch of beach to the right of the rock as well and other areas to visit but didn't visit these as was looking just to relax and happy to stay close to the hotel. Thus area is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues as there are slightly steep hills to get up and down to the bay. Plus in the heat you wouldn't want to go walking too far after a day at the beach.

The weather was very good for mid July hot but not uncomfortable and there is generally a cooling gentle breeze.

This area is suitable for family holidays, couples and groups of friends looking to relax by day and enjoy drinks at night. We went to the Mambo bar at night which has a resident DJ. It's not a clubby or rowdy resort. Its also a very European resort which I got the impression is a well kept secret gem that once discovered is not forgotten.

There is an excursion centre here so tours can be easily organised. We didn't take any because our stay was only a week. Next time!! As there will definitely be a next time and would stay again at the Xidas Garden Hotel. If you do go make sure to get some of the olive oil produced from their own gardens!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    60
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
94
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I just returned yesterday from Xidas Garden, stayed there for 1 week..and I can say it was too hard to leave this beautiful place. The hotel is not only clean, with big rooms (some have really big terrace), nice big pool, big relaxing zone with the bar next to the pool, great homemade food... but the best of all was the atmosphere. If you do not like big anonymous hotels, and you want to spend your vacation with nice friendly people - go to Xidas Garden. Nice stuff always smiling, owner walking around talking to everybody, recommending the best places to visit in Crete, even the guests who visit the place are so friendly and nice. I was there with my 5 years old son and my mum. I could not get my son out of the pool (big sized +water was always warm and spotless clean) and me an my mum - we could not leave the restaurant (it was outside with a view on mountains & pool.. amazing ...). There were 2 beaches close to the place. One smaller one and one bigger. Both with sky blue waters, still waters (do not expect big waves --> great for children), with restaurants and bars, with showers at each corner so you always come to hotel clean and refreshed. Weather - the best I can imagine - hot in the day (up to 38) and bit fresh (maybe 26) in the nights.
All was amazing. We had the best time ever, I will certainly come again next year and I recommend the same experience to each of you!
Thank you Xidas Garden for this unforgettable vacation, you' re the best !!!!!!
I fully recomm

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivet1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spotless Clean, good food, very pleasant staff. All Inclusive drinks don't include some spirits, ie vodka. The Bar hours for All inclusive are 11 - 11 you can still purchase drinks thereafter. Alfresco dining and bar. Good size bedrooms and massive terrace. We would deffinetley go back. There are four bays that are all reached by the local little rocket train, as there are no buses or taxis. Beaches are fab and there is a great choice for bars and restaurants/tavernas between the bays. A very memorable place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyTLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent a nice holyday at this place! Returnd from "Xidas Garden" two weeks ago. The hotel is situated very lucky. To get to the nearest supermarket or beach, you need to go about five minutes. There are nise small train, which go along coast from bus station to Caravostasy beach ( excellent beach, I would recommend it ! ) The stuff was friendly and helpful all time, I am suprised, when the owner of hotel congratulated on my birthday and presented me with some flowers from his garden! We enjoyed beautiful setting and very good service in thise hotel! I would recommend Bali and Xidas Garden Hotel everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomsk, Tomsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Returned from Greece only a day ago. To begin with, the hotel is located in the village of Bali (although the Greeks considered the city of Bali). Impressions were only positive. The hotel is situated near the sea. To get to the nearest beach, you need to go down the two slides. Go about 100 meters, which takes about 3-4 minutes.
The beach is very clean. Sun loungers are constantly washed and cleaned them with sand. Sea water is very clean and warm. This beach, by the way, there is a blue flag, and a bit of Crete.
Now go to the room.
The room was nice, clean. The balcony offers views of the mountains and the sea was visible piece. Rooms are cleaned every day except Sunday. Bed linen changed three times, the towels are changed four times.
Of the hot dishes were repeated several times only French fries, fish, pasta and rice with meat. Gave the pizza a few casseroles, pasta, rabbit, lamb, chicken, potatoes, meatballs, seafood and more. Sweet was in the form of baklava, sweet jelly and mousse. In general, everything was very tasty, and eating always satisfying.
The bar is open from 11:00 to 23:00 (though he always worked longer), you can choose ice cream and various drinks.
The hotel staff is very friendly, courteous and communicative. In English, everyone speaks very well, so that you can talk to them it was no problem.
In general, all very much, only positive impressions. The hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank On0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanves
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I've been to Xidas Garden Hotel several times and I like it very much. It is not a big hotel with animation, but a very quiet place owned by brothers. Everybody is very nice. Moreover, the big boss speaks French, which is very rare in Crete !
The rooms are spacy and cleaned every day. The restaurant with its big terrace is very sunny. You can eat traditionnal cretan food, which is not the case in some other hotels. The bar is near to the pool and the view on the montains is awesome ! There are also a lot of trees and flowers all around the hotel. Not far away from the sea, you have to walk 5 minutes to go the the biggest beach of Bali.

Room Tip: I like rooms with view on the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianableue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent a magnificent week in Xidas Garden this year (2012). It was the last week of the season, so our experience may have been slightly different from others.
There was nothing we could actually complain about. Of course it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but the food and bar drinks (we had all inclusive) were better than expected. Only I would appreciate more various fruits and vegetables, but it may be different during season when there are more than 20 people in the whole hotel.
Swimming pool perfect, rooms just enough large and equipped, modern, clean. Only the toilet curtains have been discussed several times, quite weird and could be improved.
The hotel is more distant from the sea, I do not consider it a disadvantage, but it depends. The Bali resort is very calm, especially at the end of season

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bali hotels
0.2 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
0.1 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elpis Bali
Hotel Elpis Bali
#8 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amalia Apartments
Amalia Apartments
#6 of 16 in Bali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
0.9 mi away
Stone Village
Stone Village
#7 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xidas Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xidas Garden

Property: Hotel Xidas Garden
Address: Bali, Crete 74057, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xidas Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Xidas Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xidas Garden Hotel
Hotel Xidas Garden Crete/Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing