We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, cosy and calm apartment hotel Aspres” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspres Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Votsalakia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspres Apartments
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Votsalakia
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy and calm apartment hotel Aspres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having left cold Sweden for a visit in Votsalakia one week (8-15 June 2013) we can recommend Aspres Apartments very well worth its price. The host couple Alex and Rena are warm and welcoming and very easy to find and contact. The little hotel is clean and looks almost new. No noisy music around the pool and in the pool bar one can order a steady continental breakfast with boiled egg, bread, juice and coffee every morning. Near the hotel is a good restaurant with traditional Greek food ("Anna's") and a few minutes more walk away there are plenty of good restaurants, a supermarket, car rental companies etc. And the whole little village of Votsalakia is situated along the beach which means you can go directly from the restaurants into the Mediterranean sea!!! Wonderful place if you want to relax. The nature around hotel Aspres is magnificent with mountains, olive trees, beautiful flowers and on the other side the Mediterranean. Aspres has many guests returning year after year, which maybe are the best credentials a hotel can get.
Anders Astrom, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anders226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I went to Aspres with my Family and thoroughly enjoyed it, It was relaxed, placid and calm however the apartments were small but clean with basic facilities, If you do go I Would recommend getting Air-Conditioning as the Apartments can be quite warm and the Air-Con will cool it down. The Pool bar is clean and a bit expensive but is quite good, The Pool is defiantly an added perk and is well worth the travel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool if you can :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrimsonSHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have just come back from a week's holiday at the Aspres Apartments. We expected the apartments to be simple but expected a basic set of utensils for two people. However, there was only one small and one large plate, 2 glasses of different sizes and two knives which were only just useable for spreading butter. No wine glasses but thankfully a kettle.
The owner made no attempt to smile or talk to us although his wife was more friendly and did talk to us when we saw her. The pool was quite small but perfectly adequate although there is not a lot of room for sunbathing around the pool. We hardly ever went to the pool area. On the odd occasion when we swam in the pool, we were the only ones there. However, even though the apartments were even more basic than we had expected, the location is very good. It is right at the end of the resort and therefore very quiet but still close to the beach and all amenities. There are many tavernas near the apartments and also a supermarket in easy walking distance. We loved the island of Samos and will certainly return but definitely not to the Aspres Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Apartments are small, clean, and very relaxed. Excellent friendly environment. We went as a family, but two of my teenage sons were a little board. It is very quiet and would suit anybody who just wants to "chill" for a week of two. Each apartment has air conditioning and is a must for a good nights sleep. Alex and Rena, who run the apartments, are lovely helpful people who can't do enough for you. Both speak good English and keep a good bar and clean pool.

Votsalakia is a small friendly resort with many excellent restaurants like Nostos, Taverna Votsalakia, Chester's, Finikas, Bill and Salome's, and of course Anna's! It does have one or two bars like 'Heaven' that serves a cool beer in a frozen glass. It is also worth taking a walk up to Mystic Ocean for a great lunch and a swim in the free to use pool. And I must just mention the warm sea .

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, and most have a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed the first 2 weeks of September and really enjoyed our holiday. Samos is a wonderful island, with many people returning year after year.

As already mentioned by others (and as expected) the apartments are basic. The kitchen facilities are very limited but at least a kettle is provided. We stayed in one of the maisonettes which don't have a particularly great outlook as all the balconies seem to face the small carpark and with the surrounding area being so lovely with views to mountain and sea we couldn't understand why they were designed that way. Some of the smaller apartments have really good views and if we were to go again we would book 2 apartments instead of a maisonette, as there were 4 of us.

The owners are friendly and helpful. The pool area is very good with a fantastic view of the mountains. The beach is pebbly close to the apartments but further into Votsalakia there are sandy parts. There was a lot of fish and octopus so it was great if you enjoy snorkeling. Would recommend beach shoes to avoid the embarrassment when getting out of the water.

It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Proton supermarket which is well stocked. They sell fresh crusty bread in a morning so you don't have to walk the 10 minutes further to the bakery.

We hired a car for 3 days in the first week from Mirto car hire and got around the island. We enjoyed getting out and about so much we had another car in the second week. Loved the drive up through the mountains and wonderful scenery to the small village "at the end of the road" called Drakei. After visiting a few other beaches we thought Psili Ammos (the one 2k from Votsalakia) to be the best beach, sandy and gently shelving. Our boys enjoyed climbing through the rocks and streams to the small waterfall at Potami. It is a really nice, shady walk through the trees on a hot day - that is until you reach the steps/ladder to the restaurant - definitely not for the faint-hearted! I'm not sure which was worse - climbing up or down!

If we decide to return to Samos we would definitely consider using the Aspres as our base again as it is just far/close enough to all the bars/tavernas etc without having all the noise on your doorstep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at the Aspres from 23rd June - 7th July 2011. We found the apartments largely clean but basic. Actually we seemed to have one of the worst rooms on the first floor which was in need of upgraded facilities/furniture and with a balcony where vine type plants obscured almost all of the view. I think the room number was room 8 and we compared this to our neighbours rooms which were definately of a better standard. As previous reviewers have stated the the owner is very laid back and unless you make the effort to talk to him he won't make the effort to speak. We thought the air conditioning charge was excessive at 7 Euro per night and didn't choose to pay for it. Fortunately we only had a few nights where the heat made it uncomfortable to get to sleep. We actually used the pool and bar area very little as the pool area was quite small and not many sun beds could be placed around the pool. We also found much better pools and bars to visit at or near the resort. My wife had an ear problem on the holiday and we were recommended by our Thomas Cook rep to go to the private Doctor in the centre of the resort . This is a mistake if you have transport as there is a Doctor in a village about 5 kilometres away who is free and you may avoid an unecessary charge (the charge for my wifes ear investigation was 50 Euro which was not covered by Insurance as there was a £50 excess on the policy. We were also advised to collect the prescription from the village 5km away and found out from the pharmacy when we arrived that it could have been sent to the Doctor in the village . Also note that public transport is almost non existant here so if you want to get about the island you need to hire a car, quad bike or scooter. We hired a quad bike for three days at a rate of 25 Euro per day from Mirto hire company in the resort and had a great time. Roads were not busy so we felt safe enough on our quad bike excursions. The beach at Votsalakia is quite pebbly and is best at a few small bays at the far east end of the resort (opposite end to Aspres). However best beaches are at Psili Ammos about 2km walk west from Aspres and Limnionas beach a further 1km walk west. Both are definately worth a visit and a nice walk (outside of the hottest periods of the day). Further west of Limnionas is a nice walk or drive along a rough coastal track to the 'Taverna at the end of the world'. Our favoutite place to eat was Meusses (a traditional friemdly greek restaurant in the back streets of Votsalakia) + Romeo's and Anna's were also good in the resort. Our favourite pool/bar area was called 'Mystic Ocean' and was a regular stopping off point for us on our trips west of the resort. It is only about a 1km walk from Aspres and if you have a drink (very good cocktails served here) and/or food you can stop here as long as you like and use the lovely pool and seating/sunbathing areas. Also in the back streets of Votsalakia vist Mary's Hotel at night when the bar is open to non residents and the owners son Filimon and wife Maria make you feel very welcome. Actually if we go back to Samos we will stay at this lovely hotel.
So hope you enjoy your holiday as much as we did. Samos was great but the best that can be said about Aspres is that in our case the holiday was booked as a late deal and it was good value at the price we paid.
Ivan & Carol

Room Tip: See my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just returned from Aspres after a 2 week break with Manos Holidays.
The apartments are clean but basic with all you need for a Greek holiday.
better cooking utensils for cooking and eating would help. A very nice clean pool and pool area which is well kept. 4 staff cars parked does not leave much room for guests if you decide to hire a car.
My main problem was with the owner. He was most Un Greek. No smiles or welcome it was all you could do to get an acknowledgement. Surely you want to make your guests feel you appreciate their presence
The pool bar was too expensive 3.5 euros for a small beer and 3 euros for an ice cream.
So very few people used it more than once.
I am sure if the prices had been sensible more people would use it and that would improve the atmosphere of the place
Things are tough for everybody at the moment and a little effort would make a lot of difference

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Votsalakia
2.1 mi away
Votsalakia Hotel
Votsalakia Hotel
#7 of 14 in Marathokampos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 14 in Marathokampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Kerkis Bay Hotel
#6 of 14 in Marathokampos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Anastasia Village Hotel Apartments
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marathokampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.3 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspres Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspres Apartments

Property: Aspres Apartments
Address: Karlovassi, Votsalakia, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Votsalakia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Votsalakia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspres Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Aspres Apartments Hotel Votsalakia
Aspres Apartments Samos/Votsalakia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing