We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, tasteful rooms and a top restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Vancelle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge Frankenbourg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Vancelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

On our trip north we made a 1 night stop in Auberge Frankenbourg. The former hotel has been completely renovated in the local style, including the restaurant.
Reception was very attentive, the rooms are small but comfortable and cosy. We had room 11, which is the biggest. Bathroom was nicely decorated, revealing craftsmanship.
Dinner in the restaurant is a must. Top Alsace-cooking in every sense. No wonder the place has a Michelin-star.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

A small hideaway well hidden in the beautiful little town La Vancelle. Lovely rooms, amazing surroundings and a good family feeling runs through the entire hotel. Actually this review might be a mistake, I really dont want it to be sold out the next time in the area. Ohh and I forgot to mention - its cheap as well. Wifi is included, breakfast cost extra. There is a restaurant at the hotel as well - fantastic food.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFabricius-Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had the privilege to have dinner at L'Auberge Frankenbourg with friends. The décor is very nice and modern, the staff attentive and the food amazing. We took the degustation menu (10 courses) with the matching wines and did not regret it one second. The sommelier was very knowledgeable yet very discreet and not bragging as I have experienced it in other Michelin restaurant. They are really worth their star and I wouldn't be surprised if they soon get a second one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We were looking for lunch close to Château du Haut-Kœnigsbourg and stumbled across the Auberge Frankenbourg (location was perfect - just 10 minutes by car from the castle). We went for a set menu and were bowled away by the taste and quality of the food. So much so that after experiencing the Auberge Frankenbourg's take on some of the more classic dishes (for example their foie gras) we were loathe to order them anywhere else because we knew we'd only be disappointed. The service was excellent, very attentive without being to intrusive - we never felt as though we were being watched but someone was always on hand when needed. The decor is modern but pleasant and the tables are spaced well. Full house on the day that we were there so you'd be well advised to book in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank futzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This a superb restaurant. Here (and at the "hotel") everything is done perfectly. Guillaume sees to that.
Service is studied and slick. Clearly, time has been spent training staff. It shows, right through to the colleague explaining and presenting cheeses. Brother, chef Sebastien is on top of his game, and all dishes are right, in terms of presentation and preparation.
The restaurant is in a new part of the premises and is roomy and comfortable.
Rooms are adequate, but bathrooms are large and bang up to date.
We recommend a stay here, as a base for exploring the Alsace wine route and its villages. A most exciting experience at the Auberge Frankenbourg. Thank you, Buecher family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We ate here recently after a recommendation and we were not disappointed. (We didn't stay in the hotel)

We opted for the Menu Découverte Gourmande with wine included which consists of 10 different courses. Each course was fantastic, with very original use of great ingredients.
A highlight for me was the 'Huitre en coque de pain' which was served alongside the Tartare de Boeuf. It was a small crispy ball filled with fresh oyster which exploded in your mouth.
Each dish was the perfect size and moved elegantly into the next, at the end of the 10 courses you felt ver satisfied, but not overly full.

The wines which were served with each dish were perfectly matched and generous.
Service was very efficient, friendly and informative.
I will definitely return !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Asowtn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lesateliersdemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Vancelle
3.7 mi away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
778 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
4.5 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Val-Vignes
Qualys-Hotel Val-Vignes
#1 of 3 in Saint-Hippolyte
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Kieffer
Hotel Kieffer
#1 of 2 in Itterswiller
143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Parc
Hotel Le Parc
#2 of 3 in Saint-Hippolyte
247 reviews
9.1 mi away
Les Pres d'Ondine
Les Pres d'Ondine
#1 of 2 in Baldenheim
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Frankenbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Frankenbourg

Address: 13 rue du General de Gaulle, 67730 La Vancelle, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > La Vancelle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Vancelle
Price Range: £40 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Frankenbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Auberge Frankenbourg La Vancelle, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing