We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood. Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Detail
Master bedroom with king size bed 180x200 cm
Master bedroom with king size bed 180x200 cm
Bathroom with bathrobes available.
Bathroom
Well-equipped full kitchen with dining corner and view on the orchard and the mountain.
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
Master bedroom with king size bed 180x200 cm
Living room of our Mountain Hiker apartment in La Vancelle, Alsace. Walls are covered with wood.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
La Vancelle, Bas-Rhin, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a quiet, relaxing time in La Vancelle. Spacious and clean apartment. Lovely views. Would go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect! Peaceful and quiet with lovely views and great walks”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a charming location to spend our time. We couldn't have been happier. The apartment is even more beautiful than the photos. The location in a quiet village is serene and relaxing with beautiful views from every window. We loved the gazebo in the garden and spent lots of time there too. True there are no shops in La Vancelle, but two very good restaurants, one with a Michelin star. There are shops just a short drive away in another village. The location is a short drive to the wine route and we enjoyed visiting the nearby town of Selestat. We were most impressed by the organization and thoughtfulness of the owners. They seem to have thought of everything. Their attention to detail is amazing. They were not in residence during our stay but called to make sure everything was in order. All the information we needed was in a folder in the living room, so we had no additional questions. The large bathtub was wonderful to relax away the days hiking and there was plenty of hot water too. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to details that made it special.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pamela H
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation in Alsace”
Reviewed 6 December 2010 for a stay in September 2010
4
people found this review helpful

At the edge of deep woods in the foothills of the Vosges Mountains about an hour south of Strasbourg in Alsace is the tiny village of La Vancelle. It comprises eight little streets, a church, a handful of houses and a wonderful starred Michelin restaurant (yes, we ate there). La Vancelle is some ten km off the A35 autoroute between Strasbourg and Basel. A few hundred metres from the restaurant is the House of the Four Travellers. This is the home of Jean-Paul and Martine who have converted their upper floor into a spacious, self-contained one-bedroom apartment with fully-equipped kitchen, bath, sitting and dining rooms. Supermarkets and other services are available in the nearby villages. A vehicle is obviously essential here and well-lit free parking is available across the road.
The apartment is a cosy timbered space with views across the village into the forest and mountains. The kitchen has a modern stove, refrigerator and all necessary utensils and glassware, there is satellite TV (but only one English language channel - the inescapable BBC World), however, this is unimportant in the scale of local attractions available to those who stay there.
Within an hour drive lie Strasbourg to the north, Colmar to the south and in between is the famed Alsace wine trail which connects storybook villages, castles and vineyards. This compact region is s wine-loving photographer's paradise and the short distances between photo opportunities make for full days and pleasant nights reviewing each days prized memories and checking the corks of wonderful rieslings, pinot blancs and gewurtztraminers.
While there are many tourist restaurants in popular venues like Ribeauville and Riquewihr etc, Jean-Paul and Martine will happily direct guests to excellent and good value restaurants in other, less obvious, villages nearby. They are always ready to offer information and assistance whenever needed but otherwise don't interfere with the activities of their guests.
La Vancelle is a perfect hub for hikers, cyclists, wine travellers and food enthusiasts. Its in a remote location but is not remote and the House of the Four Travellers provides a comfortable and welcoming base for exploring the heart of rural Alsace.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed 21 July 2010 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GA
Reviewed 23 April 2010 for a stay in April 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Quality!
Liked least: Internet access - ISP problem
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing