We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is magic”
Review of Eleana Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ireon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eleana Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ireon
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you look you'll see that I've reviewed these apartments before. There's not many places in the world that I feel drawn back to again and again, but the village of Ireon and Iliana's wonderful apartments are something special. The location's fantastic, only about 15 minutes by taxi from the airport, so within 40 minutes or so of landing at the airport you can be wallowing in the warm sea, or sipping your first ice-cold Mythos beer in the friendly kafenion in the village square. The village square is less than a minute from the apartment, and the sea is only a couple of minutes away.

Iliana's apartments are simple, but very comfortable. All are spotlessly clean and each one has a balcony or a terrace with a view down to the sea or up to the mountains behind.

Right opposite there is a fish taverna. It may look a little scruffy, but don't be fooled. Here you will find the freshest fish and the cheapest prices in Samos. I'm really not kidding. Last year three of us stuffed ourselves with fresh fish, greek salad and a litre and a half of the local wine, and it was 11 euros each.

Nearby, Iliana's friends run Cohyli, a charming garden restaurant with amazing food in a lovely setting.

The village is only small, but there's enough great small family-run restaurants to eat at a different place every night if you want to.

There's plenty to keep you perfectly happy in Ireon, but it's very easy to get the bus to different places like the nearby town of Pythagoria with it's old castle, ancient ruins and harbour-side restaurants.

We're already looking at flights to book for this summer, and we'll be staying at Iliana's as usual!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Whenever you want to stay at Samos, go to Ireon and book one of the lovely studio's of Eleana!
I stayed more than three weeks at her place and enjoyed every second of it. The rooms are sunny, very very clean and nicely decorated with warm colors. Eleana and her mom spoiled me with all kind of treats : cake, traditional food, eggs, olives, cheese, lemonade, olive oil...and I had fresh flowers in my room when I arrived.
The location could not be better with the seaview and very close to the square.
I just cannot wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We returned again to the beautiful Island of Samos and stayed in Ireon at the Eleana Apts.
We would not stay anywhere else on the Island even though there are lots of beautiful places to visit; it is always lovely to return to Ireon at the end of the day to relax.
Ireon has a square with some bars and restaurants where you can sit and people watch or just switch off and stare out to sea & the Turkish coast. Pythagorio with its beautiful harbour full of yachts and plenty of bars and restaurants is only a ten minute drive away if you fancy a change for the evening.
Buses also leave from Ireon to various locations and there is a taxi rank in the square.

Eleana has her own web site where you can view her 2 apts & 6 studios for more information. Thomson & Sunvil Flights (Germania Air) fly direct to Samos or else you fly to Athens, then onto Samos either by plane or boat. Well worth it whichever way you go.

Once again we hired a car from Costas at “Friendly Car Hire” and even though we had one last year we still found different places to visit & eat out at. We also went on the boat trip to Patmos, well worth a visit. If you love Greece and its history and scenery you must definitely visit Samos. Do not be put off by the problems of Greece you will receive a warm and friendly welcome on the beautiful Island of Samos and it is this warmth and friendliness from the people that draws you back each time.

We would definitely recommend a stay in Ireon at Eleana's apts you could not ask for nicer people to stay with, so once again thank you Iliana and family, we had a lovely holiday and look forward to our next one with you.

All the very best
Jean & Paul

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent two weeks with Eleana and her family in September this year. Yes, we were paying visitors but Eleana made us feel more like her guests. From the moment she picked us up at the airport until we said our reluctant goodbyes she did everything possible to make us feel at home. Other reviews mention all the wonderful treats she provides for her guests, from freshly baked cake to produce from the garden. It may seem too good to be true .... but believe me my increased waistline bears witness to the truth! The apartment was spacious, well furnished and kept immaculate. Although in a central area of this small village, the location is quiet and peacefull whilst being close to a supermarket, bakery, tavernas etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on Samos, wonderful weather, incredible churches and archaeology, beautiful scenery but it is the warmth of welcome from all the people on Samos that we met that will draw us back again. When we do visit again we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere other than with our friend Eleana.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked our recent week at Iliana's appartments on the strength of the reviews on this website, and can confirm that the reviews and ratings are very well deserved!
We were met at the airport by Iliana and after a short drive, were welcomed into our 1st floor appartment, very clean, with everything you needed and a lovley little balcony with views of the village square and sea. Our fridge was stocked with Iliana's home made cheese, fresh goat milk, eggs and vegetables.
The location was ideal. Ireon is a lovely village and we had everything on the doorstep here - bus stop, supermarket, baker, plenty of restaurants and tavernas and a choice of quiet beaches.
We didn't hire a car and just walked or took the bus to Samos, Pythagoreio and Kokkari.
Iliana was available for questions and supplied information and tourist maps and books. She also supplied frequent 'treats' including my husband's favourite Loukamides (like little doughnut balls with honey) and my favourite Tyropitas (cheese pies). The week ended with her dropping us back at Samos aiport after a very enjoyable holiday.
We have stayed at some of the best hotels (including the Burj Al Arab), but it would be hard to beat Iliana's for comfort, location, hospitality and cost!
We are aiming to travel to more of the Greek Islands (easy for us living here in Cyprus), but if we ever go back to Samos, we would definitely stay with Iliana again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiechaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

our 3rd stay at illiana`s and it gets better and better. the place is fantastic, illiana and her family are wonderful. ireon is the best village by far. samos is a beautiful island, it needs to be promoted in the uk alot more than it is. we can`t recommend the place enough, her hospitality is second too none.
if you don`t go there then there`s no hope for you.
we will be back again and again.
if you read this illiana, sue and kev say hello and see you soon. x

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Having decided on a last minute holiday we booked direct flights to Samos & booked 2 weeks at the Eleana Apts in Ireon. We could not have hoped for a more wonderful holiday.
It started with Eleana picking us up from the airport and taking us to our one bedroom apt which was large & spacious with a balcony which had views down to the sea & to the hills. We also met her Mother, Father & son –Maria, Spiros & Costas and her brother Vangelis who also looked after us so well. Eleana even had us over for breakfast one day as she loves people to sample local food which she makes herself. The whole family wants to ensure you have a great holiday and everything you need & we kept finding things in our apt, homemade cheese pies, dolmades, fruit, we were really spoilt. Thank you so much Eleana & family. Ireon is a lovely village with very friendly people & just enough tavernas & bars. Samos is a beautiful Island & we hired a car (recommended by Eleana) from Friendly Car Hire in the village & the name says it all, Costas & his family are really friendly. We toured Samos which is a beautiful Island with lots of resorts but it was always lovely to return to Eleana Apts & Ireon.

If we had to sum up this 2 week holiday:-
Eleana Apts/Studios 10/10
Friendly Car Hire 10/10
Ireon Village 10/10
Samos Island & People 10/10
The whole off our holiday 10/10
So if you are looking for a wonderful holiday in Samos contact Eleana & go to Ireon. Thank you Eleana & family for making our holiday so wonderful and yes we do definitely want to return. All the best for the future Best Wishes Jean & Paul xx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ireon hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Cohyli
Hotel Cohyli
#1 of 11 in Ireon
27 reviews
0 mi away
Adamantia
Adamantia
#5 of 11 in Ireon
12 reviews
0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ireon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Venetia
0 mi away
Paris Beach Hotel
Paris Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ireon
25 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Galini Ireon Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleana Apartments

Address: Epar OD, Ireon, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Ireon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ireon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yassas! My name is Eleana and I would like to introduce you to my apartments and studios located in the beautiful village of Ireon on the Greek Island of Samos. The accommodation is in the middle of the village and close to supermarkets, bakery, post office, and 80 m. From the sea and 50 m. From the taxi and bus station. From the balconies you can see the village square and you can enjoy the peaceful afternoons reading and drinking coffee in the sunny balconies. In this building I have four studios and two apartments 25 Euro for a single in a studio, 30 to 35 for a couple in a studio and 40 for the apartment, and including 3rd person 45 euro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eleana Apartments sámos
Eleana Apartments Hotel sámos
Eleana Apartments Samos/Ireon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing