We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mastichari
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A large complex, with new & old bungalows, by the sea. Excellent welcoming staff, nice & fresh food but the most important all the activities within the complex. They have entertainment staff which makes you day unforgettable. If you have a chance try to go to Bodrum ( 1 hour with ferry) it is amazing place.I hope one day I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pub_mylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    277
    158
    55
    39
See reviews for
299
235
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel is a purpose built holiday village with over 400 accomodation units. It has a main building complex which includes the reception area, main bar, main restaurant and speciality restaurant. Immediately outside of the main bar is the swimming pool and small kids pool which is adjacent to the pool bar. The accommodation blocks (mainly two storey) are spread out between the main complex and the sea. It's a complicated site and the first time I went they issued maps to guests when they checked in so that they could find their way around. The rooms are a good size, and well equipped with the bonus of a fridge. (As it's an all inclusive complex that might be seen as overkill but for a cold drink or to keep milk fresh to make a cuppa (bring your own travel kettle - they don't provide one) in the room it's a blessing.) The aircon is an additional charge as is the wi-fi. (and safe if you want one). The food in the main restaurant is buffet style with beer wine and soft drinks (literally) on tap. The buffet dishes are replaced as they become empty and theres always a multiple choice of hot meat and / or fish dishes together with vegetables and salads. The dishes are mainly western european with some scandinavian influences. If you're coming on holiday for Greek food this buffet isn't for you. There's ice cream and mixed desserts on the side. The down side is that when the restaurant opens, especially at dinner, there tends to be a bit of a scrum. There's ample seating so it isn't a fight for tables, it just seems everybody wants to be the first in the queue. The themed restaurant is much smaller and you could say civilised but is only available by reserving a table. That reservation has to be done no more than 2 days before the booking and generally speaking the tables book up very very quickly. The bars, which serve alcholic, soft and hot drinks, are open from early morning until late night with an overlap between the pool bar and main bar so if you want you can drink pretty much continuously. The pool bar also serves snacks, sandwiches and ice-cream. There are loads of sunbeds but those at the pool bar / kid's pool end get snapped up very early in the day.The complex is in the middle of no-where, but a half hour walk along the beach path (the street lights weren't working last year so maybe not on a night!) takes you into Mastichari. It's only a 10 - 15 minute taxi ride from the airport so it's great for the likes of me flying into Kos before moving on to another island. (You can also do day trips from Mastichari to Kalymnos). Kos is a long thn island and a taxi to Kos town is going to cost in excess of 40 euro each way, but there is a regular bus service which can be booked at reeption. Additionally for families a bus leaves the hotel daily for a round trip to the water-park. The clientelle is multinational - last year the predominant nationlity when I was there was Russian, the year before Italian. There's also a variety of "entertainment". I didn't indulge so can't comment on the quality.

Room Tip: The none family rooms are all very similar. I am not aware you can actually book a specific one - y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Astipalean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaPapp, Reservations Manager at Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel on Tripadvisor site further your recent holiday with us.
We are glad to read that you had a good time in our resort and we would like to thank you for your comments. Also, we would like to inform you that the air-conditioning, the Wi-Fi and safe are paid extra, due to the fact that we do not want to include it to the fixed price as it will increase. It would be unfair for some of our guests to pay extra for these facilities although they don’t wish to use them.
In the main restaurant, especially in dinner time there is a queue. For this reason, we extended the operating time of the restaurant. Of course, as you understand when our resort is full at the high season, the queue at the buffet of the restaurant will be relatively long. Indeed, the beach path to Mastichari village is very practical and enjoyable. For the path lights we are sorry but we can not do anything. They belong to the municipality of Antimachia. The only thing that we can do is to inform them about the breakdowns in order for them to repair them.
We are truly looking forward to welcome you back at the island of Kos and the Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our third time to this hotel, although we go at early or late season we find it very good, we also enjoy it because it's not full of lager louts, although there are not many Brits that go there we always enjoy the company of people from different nationalities, we find the food in both restaurants very good and plentiful " there are plenty of sun beds around the pool and on the beach ? The only down fall is you have to pay for your sun beds on the beach now 2 euro each , we also like it because you walk down a path strait on to the lovely beach that leads to a lovely village mastihari, with plenty of shops and resaurants ,? Overall the hotel goes out on space you around the pools their is always plenty of room this was our 7th time on this island and it will not be our last can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Don't take notice of any bad reviews .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eldorado709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaPapp, Reservation Manager at Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us in EuroVillage Achilleas Hotel.

Regarding the charge of the sun beds, we would like to inform you that we have to pay big amounts to the municipality for renting the beach and as a result we are forced to rent them at the small price of 2euro.

Thank you once again for your understanding. We appreciate your loyalty, and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Maria Pappouli
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I Cannot see how this Hotel as received some of the negative comments, for a start it was spotless they cleaned everything from the floors to the walls our sheets where changed everyday along with fresh towels. Sun bed where easy to get by the pool but then again it was September so may be harder during peak season. You have to have your own towels as you cant use the hotels.
The free trip to the water park is worth it, as its free, not a lot their but a change of scenery is always nice they charge 3Euros for a locker but you have to leave 5 until you return the key, trip is usually from 10-4 from the hotel itself.
You can book other excursions from Masticari which is a 30min walk along the beach with aplo bar half way along to stop for a drink (or the free WiFi) We did the 3 island tour was good value for money as your foods included and English speaking crew too and all for 35Euros was not bad.

Yes ok a remote is 20Euros but you can use the T.V by getting up and using the buttons on the top if it saves you 20euros why would you not, AC is also at a charge but again we didn’t feel the need to use it at start of September.

The hotel charge 18Euros to go to Kos and back but if you don’t mind the walk to Masticari it will only cost you less than 6Euros to get on the service bus, the drivers get off the bus to ask where you are going to make sure you get on the right one that will take you to the right place so very helpful.

The animation team where amazing they all worked very hard and had a lot of stuff to get involved with if you wanted, including aqua-aerobics, Zumba, water polo, darts and so much more. Entertainment was provided every night- not a lot was in English but pretty sure we were the only English guests there. The Fire and Fakir show was just as good as I had read about on here.

*Well done girls & guys- special thanks to Andra, Erica, Sylvia, Thomas, Roman and Marco- we will miss the olaaa….olaaa song!

The only down point to this hotel is the food but then again im super fussy and my friend is a celiac so not the easiest to please. The themed restaurant was much nicer to eat in and the food slightly better- Italian night is a must! All inclusive drinks where not great unless you are a vodka or Ouzo fan. Even the soft drinks where strange.

Not amazing but you get what you pay for! KOS i shall return :)

Room Tip: Older part is nearer to pool/resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LILGEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Having just returned from a two week stay I can honestly say it was a really lovely holiday. Being in the minority being British did not make any difference in fact as the brits are so polite we were probably treated better than the less polite europeans. Pool bar staff were lovely and I was even make hot milk every day. Pool was amazing olympic size. Rooms were basis but adequate with plenty of room for clothes. We were in the old part which I was pleased about as the walk to the restaurant, pool etc wasnt too far away. There are two restaurants one is themed which you have to book but to be honest we preferred the main restaurant as there was much more choice. Something to please everyone and restocked as soon as things are running low. Didnt go to breakfast so cannot comment. Evening bar opens at 5pm and it is only then that you can get spirits unlike most allinclusives where you can get spirits all day. Here you can get wine and beer all day but only spirits from 5pm but to be honest this isnt a bad thing as it saves people being roudy from being drunk all day. Weather was amazing although rather windy which meant we couldnt use the beach a lot but we did see the beach on a regular basis as you had to walk along it to get to the village of Mastihari which is small friendly and has some lovely restaurants if you want a night out. The main bus stop is also here which will get you to Kos and Kardamena which are well worth a visit. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Old part is nearer to facilities but new part is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneBasildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have visited this hotel quite a few times over the years and although its visited more by other nationalities than English maybe because none of the major tour operators don't use it .It is a great hotel the food is what you expect from all inclusive in Greece but it has improved substantially over the last few years and there is a new resterant that has theme nights you just have to book the day before. we have never seen the evening entertainment but the animation team keep everyone busy during the day! the staff are all really nice and friendly there are 2 pools one is Olympic size! the beach is big but the hotel charges for the sunloungers they didn't used to but they do now so there aren't too many people on the beach the hotel also charge (a lot) for Wi-Fi. There is a path next to the beach that will take you to the small village of Mastichari the people there are all fantastic! its not the prettiest Greek village theres just something about the place that gets us returning year after year! try the number one bar Stephanos will look after you! also the Aplo bar George runs it in the evenings and his mum & dad run it during the day. they sometimes have live music in the evenings(Wi-Fi is free there) also the halftime bar further up in the village shows all the football matches it also has a free pool and sunloungers(free Wi-Fi here too) its all well worth the visit!!

Room Tip: there is a new part of the hotel where the rooms are a bit nicer but quite a way from the main ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Where shall I start? This is going to be quite long, but bear with me.
The Eurovillage Achileas Hotel lies in a beautiful part of the island of Kos, very close to the village of Mastichari. We stayed here for 7 days and were given a seaside view villa blessed with stunning views of breathtaking sunsets every evening. The weather was excellent and we loved swimming in the warm sea. Unfortunately this is where all the good things about this place come to an end.
We have been on many all inclusive holidays throughout the years and have come to expect a certain standard. This hotel is a far cry from the Mexico all inclusive hotels, I wouldn’t even call it all inclusive but rather full board, and a bad one. We arrived at Achilleas at 10PM and were 'greeted' by a grumpy receptionist who handed us a piece of paper with information about the hotel. We weren't given any information about the place, she only said dinner was now finished (at 9:30!) and showed us a basket that contained some dodgy looking sandwich rolls. Unfortunately they only had ham and cheese rolls. When I asked if they had anything vegetarian because I didn't eat pork, she said 'just remove the ham and eat the cheese'. I was shocked. The only thing I could choose out of that basket was an apple. We were taken to the room in an electric kart by the male receptionist. That's where we found that there was no remote control for the TV, A/C or key for the safe. As it was late and we were very tired, we just went to bed, and went to request these the next morning. We found out that we had to pay 20 euro deposit for each remote control and 20 euro deposit for the safe key, on top of the 12 euro charge for the safe for a week. They also charge 6 euros a day for using the air conditioning. This was not written in the paper she gave us the other night, and the receptionist said if we don't like it we should take it up with our tour operator. This is the first place were we had to pay extra for such a basic feature such as air conditioning in the room. We had no hot water the first day, and they told us there was a fault and they were working to fix it. Indeed in the evening there was hot water but when we turned on the tap, the sink filled with sand. There was no chance to even try to wash your teeth with that water. Next day it seemed to have less sand and we could take a shower.
The villas were clean but the furniture was the worst quality, worse than IKEA, beds were small (180-190cm), anyone that is over 6 foot tall will sleep with the feet outside the bed. The seets were clean but had signs of wear and there were tears in them but the maids seemed to replace them every 2 to 3 days. Bathroom sink was leaking and the toilet seemed to run for ever unless you pulled out the flush button which seemed to get stuck when it was pressed. There was a strong drain smell coming from the drainage hole which was in the middle of the bathroom. We had to cover that with a towel to keep some of the smell away, and kept all windows open when we were inside to get rid of the smell. We didn't bother paying the extra for the A/C as some people told us it was useless, just making noise and not cooling much. Fortunately the nights got cooler and we didn't suffer from heat.
The property is kept clean throughout. On some days the beach was full of seaweed but there was nobody out to clean it. The pool is really large, like an Olympic size. Sunbeds were quite basic but did the job. Unfortunately if you decided to go to the beach instead, they charged for sunbeds 2 euros a day. Most of the people however seemed to stay by the pool side. Be aware that there is no towel service at the pool, so you must bring your own towels (you cannot use the towels from the hotel room).
Now on to the food. Unfortunately this is where we suffered the most. The manager of this hotel definitely needs to take some lessons on how to run an all inclusive hotel. The food choice was very limited, and it looked like they were buying the cheapest supplies available. If you are a vegetarian, you will have great difficulty filling your plate. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs (they also had boiled eggs), sausages, ham (not every morning), some very thinly cut cheese and either slices of cucumber or tomatoes, but never both. There were only 3 types of tea (no English tea, in case you are wondering, and also no tea infusion, mint, camomile or any other fruit tea). All they had was green tea with strawberry flavour, lemon flavour and another one which I cannot remember. There were no croissants or any pastries. What they called orange juice was something made of chemicals with a yellow colour and lots of sweetener. In a country where orange trees grow in abundance, there was no natural orange juice to be seen. What they had was worse than the cheapest supermarket orange flavoured drink. I drank water the entire week, as the thing they called ‘orageade’ was undrinkable. Coke was again the worst quality, tasted something like the 15p a bottle Tesco Cola. My wife liked the beer, but as I do like beer, I cannot comment. The only fruit they had every day was watermelon. On a couple of occasions there were grapes and once I saw plums and another time apples. There were signs everywhere in the canteen saying ‘do not take any fruit out with you’. What fruit? The bread was not very fresh and not sliced, there were always queues of people slicing their own bread, some of them used bare hands to handle the bread. I didn’t understand why they didn’t at least slice some of the bread and leave some for people that wanted to slice it themselves.
Lunch and dinner were a little better in choice than breakfast, but there was the same feeling of cheap food, I felt like we were in a second class canteen. We only saw chicken twice in a week, there was lamb, veal and pork but not all at the same time. They even had rabbit one evening. Luckily there was fish which is what I ate most days with vegetables. The fish seemed to be cooked the same way every time, but was edible. At times I was having trouble filling up a plate.
If you are a vegetarian you will suffer at this hotel, as they do not seem to cater very much for people who do not eat pork. Even in potato salad that should not have had pork I found traces of ham, probably they use the same utensils without cleaning them after making some other dish that had pork in it.
The restaurant is too small for the amount of guests they had, we had to wait in the queue at the door a few times waiting for people to finish eating. Manager didn’t seem to be bothered by this, he could have organized it better.
The bar has very limited choice of drinks, only 4 alcoholic cocktails, beer and coffee, if you ask for non-alcoholic cocktails you are pointed towards the machine that serves ‘orageade’ and ‘fruit punch’, both horrible chemical tasting drinks.
The pool side bar serves pork sandwiches, microwave reheated cheese pizza and cheese and spinach pies that are very oily and smell like they have been burnt, I guess the oven where they make them needs to be cleaned as every day they had the same smell of burning. On both occasions when I ate them I felt sick afterwards, at first I didn’t want to believe it was because of the pie but the second time I had the same sick feeling. The same happened to my wife.
The entertainment team didn’t seem to speak any English, only Greek, Russian and Italian. They were playing the same 3-4 songs every day, one in each language. Entertainment started around 10 with their traditional ‘signature’ greek dance and then after another couple of songs all was quiet, until the times when they were having 30 minutes a day dance lessons. In the mean time, there was no music played, while they were playing darts, bocce balls or beach volleyball. We didn’t spend a very long time by the pool, but when we did, we had the impression that the entertainment was lacking very much in quality. In the evening they seemed to have some entertainment for the kids, we never stayed after that as we would rather wake up early to go for a swim in the sea or go on various trips.
I am sorry for the long review, there would be much more to say but to conclude, we liked the location, the scenery was fantastic but the hotel and its employees were a let down. I tried to give an honest account of the facts as they happened, through the eyes of the person who has had quite a few all inclusive experiences, but his has been the worst so far. This wasn’t a cheap holiday, we paid much more than on other holidays which were much better. If anyone says they liked the food and they think there was lots of choice, they have never been on an all inclusive holiday to Turkey or the Caribbean. I know I repeat myself, but this hotel is a far cry from what we had before. I could talk about the lack of other things such as watersports equipment, the basketball ground with no fence, but you get the idea. The only place you could do some watersports was at the German club in the village. You can take kitesurfing lessons, rent kite equipment or windsurf but they do not have any kind of motorized watersports such as jet skis. On the bright side, you can rent a car, bicycle or moped to go round the island, or you can take the bus to Kos and do some shopping or eat at the nice restaurants. The Mastichari village has some nice places to eat, well worth the 2km walk along the beach.
The day trip to Bodrum, Turkey was fantastic, we loved the city and can’t wait to go back to Turkey. As for Kos, we do not plan to go back very soon, and certainly if we do we will give Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel a miss next time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, you will love the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tootancommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mastichari hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
12.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#14 of 49 in Kos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#6 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#11 of 15 in Mastichari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#3 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess of Kos
Princess of Kos
#9 of 15 in Mastichari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel

Property: Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Address: Mastichari, Mastichari 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurovillage Achilleas kós
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing