We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek Experience - Gaia Palace Hotel!”
Review of Gaia Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We took a gamble on this booking and we were not disappointed!
The reviews worried us a bit as they were quite negative so it just goes to show that they can be wrong and certainly are in the case of this hotel as we found a little gem here and will certainly be visiting again hopefully next year with a bit of luck!!
Nitsa is the most wonderful lady and she manages this hotel with great passion and professionalism. Her aims for the hotel to be a welcoming family hotel are succeeding and are pretty obvious throughout the whole complex as the experience there is one of customer focus and getting the right level of entertainment and relaxation for everyone. We found the food to be excellent and the theme nights with extra touches such as appetizers and aperitifs were quite different in such hotels so a welcome change for us. (Chef cooks excellent fish!).
Our prerequisite for a ground floor apartment near the pool was no problem whatsoever. And that suited us as pensioners staying with our granddaughter as it allowed her freedom but we were also able to keep an eye on her at all times.
The Greek Night was fantastic! Usually this is made with extra charge at all inclusive hotels but here it was all part of the booking and I can't tell you how much we enjoyed it! The food was 'proper' greek cuisine which was delicious and the greek dancing got everyone in the mood for a fun filled night - an old fashioned greek night like we used to enjoy years ago - not to be missed!
Another surprise in the entertainment was when the staff put on Aqua-zumba sessions...
Carolina, a receptionist by day, turns into the most amazing zuma queen at night and got all the guests involved in the action - our granddaughter loved it as she is a budding dancer herself!
We also loved the grounds and paid a visit most days to the beach which again is not commercialized and so relaxing. The little farm was another surprise and part of our daily routine as was the on site market shop.
We cannot give enough praise to this hotel. It is one of the friendliest we have been to, we loved the fact that it was quitet and out of the way but near enough to the town if you needed it, the customer service is excellent and the whole place has a very welcoming glow about it which is sadly missing from most places these days.
A great greek experience!!

Room Tip: All apartments are in a good position.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Islandlovers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Gaia Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived 24th July and reception staff weren't notified that we were coming but we were soon sorted out room with a view of all stunning pools virtually all staff spoke English everything was very clean my only complaint was that the bar staff were drinking more alcohol than the customers!!! On show in full view of customers, food was ok bbq was great not much to do nothing in english in reception so we hired a car and did our own thing very very quiet not really for teenagers had a good week thou

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Gaia Palace for a week on July 13th to 20th and we had an awesome holiday.

We arrived quite late on the first evening and the receptionist was only too helpful. She booked us straight in and told us all we needed to know to get us started on our holiday stay at the palace. It was rather late and the food hall was shut so we were both given a bag with fresh fruit,sandwiches and water which was very welcome as we had been travelling for some time. We were then greeted by a young man concierge who took our cases and loaded them onto a golf buggy and then transported us to our room.

The room was brilliant. It was fully air conditioned and very spacious and looked out onto a small swimming pool. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.

Breakfast the morning after was lovely. Quite a selection to choose from and te staff again very friendly. Lunch much the same and dinner also served a great variety.

The whole stay was very good for us and there was also some great live singing in the main bar on the Saturday evening. There was also a fab BBQ at the pool bar on the Sunday evening which was very tasty.

Overall the stay was made great by staff who were more than happy to help and also the room was kept very clean every day by cleaning staff who replaced towels and washed floors to a high standard.

There is also a mini market on site which offers a small amount of variety however there are 2 other shops nearby the tea or which offer a more varied amount of things to buy. The beach is also really nearby within a 5 minute walk where you can access sub loungers and a small kiosk for drinks etc.

The only thing that I would make comment on is the fact that there was no tour information in the reception area in English so we could not see if there were any trips we could go on however I am sure if we had asked then the Staff would have provided us with some but we hired a buggy instead and did our own exploring.

I don't have a bad word to say about the place at all. There were always enough sun loungers to use by the pool and because there are several pools to choose from you can change your position every day if you wanted to. The pool bat also offered snacks and drinks all day for people and although there was no entertainment Provided,this actually suited is as we liked the quiet environment that the Gaia Palace had to offer.

Overall very pleased :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Hotel was a great choice and we had an amazing holiday. The place is quite and very relaxing, probably not ideal for those looking for lots of entertainment but great for family and couples. The room are very spacious and cleaned every day along with the towels and the bedding every other day. Great facilities which include pools, sauna and a well equipped gym and the hotel's gardens and building are very well maintained. Plenty of sun lounger at any time. The staff is great, always happy and working very hard to make guests happy, satisfied and welcome. Most of them speak a second language (English, French or German) a little bit also of other Eastern European languages, which is a bonus, after all we are in Greece. ;-) Sunday is the Greek night with typical Greek food and musical entertainment with Greek dancers. Overall it is a perfect hotel and location for an amazing relaxing holiday. Loved everything of it and I think that we will definitely go back again. I will certainly recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms closed to the smaller pools are quieter than those near the main pool and pool bar but a l...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tecky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

One of the poorest AI I have ever stayed in. It all looks ok, the rooms and pool are a little dated.
The 'free' drinks include poor wine, dodgy beer, and fizzy sugary drinks and the food is very boring.
There is no free wifi and you have to pay for beach sun loungers ( although the beach is really nice and worth a walk on!)
These kind of places are ruining the Kos economy and should be banned.
We only stayed for 2 nights thank goodness and the rest of the time was spent in guest houses owned by real welcoming people, a much better option. Save yourself the money and spend it in decent tavernas and small hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 713happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went to the Galia palace with my wife brother and sister in law in. May . The gardens and pools were very picturesque and very well kept. Restaurant and food very good,staff polite .we arrived at 10-30 pm and were given sandwiches fruit and a drink.The rooms were nice,towels needed renewing as very thin and worn. There was not any evening entertainment but we did not mind that,drinks were ok but being all inclusive if you wanted gin or vodka you had to pay,if you ordered a cocktail which touch paid for it held service up as it took a time to make it .Reception staff were perfect.A very nice holiday will go back .

Room Tip: No high rise ,so anywhere is fine
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theeagle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Gaia Palace the week of my husbands 50th b-day traveling with family, the hotel was very welcoming at 11pm that eve with sandwiches,drinks and fruit, checking in was quick and friendly and we were driven to our rooms, which were spotless and had a very good view of the pool and mountains. The food was exceptional with lots of choices and wasn't repeated all week, also on request they made my husband a beautiful and yummy choc cake and the staff bought it out singing 'happy birthday'. The bar men on our stay ( Marios & Mike) made our holiday, they worked hard and were very attentive and friendly. All the staff were great, our room was cleaned every day and clean sheets on request, the beach was just at the end of the lane, the only down side of our stay was it was quite isolated, it was 10 euros by taxi to the nearest village both ways,or a very limited bus journey (2 buses a day) we hired quads through the hotel a couple of times for 80 euros but found out it was cheaper to hire a car for 5 days, visited Kos town and went up into the mountains and on to kefolos All in all was a brilliant place to stay, we got a good deal on this holiday and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
0.2 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#9 of 16 in Mastichari
371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#3 of 16 in Mastichari
276 reviews
6.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
786 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Palace Hotel

Address: Main Street, Mastichari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
#2 Spa Hotel in Mastichari
#3 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range: £47 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Palace Hotel Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing