We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and fun as close to paradise as possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel, Horizon Beach Resort, on Kos island, Greece, offers everything almost any holiday maker can wish for. It is located on a long clean sandy beach, where the crystal clear sea is very calm most of the times (giving the opportunity to swim for long). However, the occasional wind gives an opportunity to the more daring traveller for parachute wind surfing at times. One can also enjoy long walks along the beach, as the adjoining parts of it are also sandy and clean. The view from almost all buildings ( of two or three stores and aesthetically beautiful matching the environment), which rise up gradually from the sea on low hills, is magnificent. The sea and the mountains of the Greek island of Kalymnos (opposite the beach) are changing colours throughout the day. The magnificent sunsets are not to be missed. I gazed at it from the balcony of my large room with admiration and a feeling of contentment for being there on most days. The hotel can accommodate up to circa 900 people, but one never feels crowded, because all buildings are spread out over a large area of exceptionally beautifully landscaped gardens, that combine both Mediterranean and English styles. The paved pathways of these gardens are kept very clean, so that one can safely walk barefooted at all times and mothers can easily and safely steer the strollers with their babies. There are two small and two large, very clean swimming pools, where one can refresh oneself (swimming under a bridge admiring the gardens) or really exercise doing several laps every day (in marked 25 meter long lanes). There are classes of water aerobics in the pools, tennis, basket ball, volley, beach volley, and football (5 by 5) courts in excellent condition. table tennis. The hotel's gym was spacious and fully equipped. The cuisine (a token of true civilization) is remarkably exquisite (pleonasm is intended!). It combines a huge variety of Greek, Mediterranean and international dishes, which also manifest an added personal touch by the Chief Cook. Pastries and fruit of all kind satisfy everyone's pallet. All staff (speaking at least one or two foreign languages) at all levels are obviously carefully selected and very well trained, pleasant in their attitude and behaviour and extremely professional . Rooms are spacious, and kept pristine clean, and they have low noise air conditioning outfits and good television reception of satelite stations in many languages. Service at the reception desk, two restaurant s and three bars, house keeping and maintenance, are very efficient and hospitable, and seened to enjoy their work. All my specific requests, be them in the restaurant or at the reception desk, or in connection with my room or room service, were met promptly and with a smile, making me feel that all staff wanted me to have a good time. When I stayed there, the second half of October, the sea and the swimming pools were warm enough to swim in. Although the number of hotel guests was down to 350, I did not feel as if I were stranded in a half empty hotel resort. I easily socialised, meeting people, and immensely enjoyed the evening animation program presented in the elegant (quasi) open air amphitheatre (really funny comedy sketches, karaoke, high quality Greek music and dances night, music quiz, dancing by the swimming pool), despite the fact that the hotel would close for the winter the first week of November. I particularly enjoyed a fresh production in English of the classic one act play "Dinner for one" presented by talented animation artists, although I had seen it on tv several times befoer. I stayed in the resort for 12 sunny days, I was never bored or displeased, and I did not wish to leave it not even for a few hours to make a day excursion to the island of Kalymnos, or to do sight seeing on Kos (after booking it or hiring a car at the hotel). However, as I have visited the island of Kos twice before, I have seen the most interesting historic sites (notably the ancient Greek Hospital of Aeskulapius [Asklipios] - Kos is the birth place of the father of Medicine, Hippocrates - or the picturesque town of Kos or one of the other most beautiful beaches, e.g. Kefalos beach, of Kos island). I simply had everything I wished for within my grasp at the Horizon Beach Resort (I even had my hair trimmed nicely at the hotels hairdresser's, the way I always wanted it). Everybody, families with children, couples in love, mothers with their children, babies and infants (in the specially designed play ground) and a few solo people, appeared to have a very good time. Most importantly, the quality of hotel guests was also high. People were polite, considerate, discreet, friendly, relaxed, having a good time, making for a congenial atmosphere all round. It would be a hard task for anyone to find a flaw in this hotel. I will certainly stay there again more than once in the years to come.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, However, rooms on top of the first hiil from the beach have the nicest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank THEODORE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Nice resort which consists of several apartment houses with two or three floors. There are two pools and three bars, two of them next to the pools. The resort is very clean, the grass and the plants are well maintained. You can walk from your apartment to the beach in just one or two minutes. There are sunbeds provided at the beach which cost 3 EUR per day, whereas they are free of charge for the pool.
One of the strongest aspects of the resort is the food: The food in the restaurant is excellent. For breakfast and dinner there is an all-you-can-eat buffet with a wide selection. For dinner there are various salads, cheeses, fresh fruit and – usually creamy – desserts as well as a choice of several meats and fish as well as different vegetable dishes. Of course, Greek specialties are offered every day.
The food is prepared and presented perfectly. If you order a bottle of wine and cannot finish it, you can take it to your room after dinner. You can choose where you want to have breakfast and dinner – either inside or outside on a terrace overlooking one pool and the sea.
There is a bus stop directly outside the resort with frequent and cheap service to Kos town (30 min.) and the airport. Airport taxi costs 20 EUR per car.
There is free wireless internet all over the resort.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers of all ages searching for nice surroundings and good food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 4U4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent a week at Horizon Beach Hotel and it was a great choise! You have everything you need to relax and enjoy your vacation. The room was big enough for 4 persons. The hotel in general was very clean and tidy. The people working there are very nice and they speak many languages. We had breakfast and dinner included and We don't regret, it was just fantastic! all kind of fruits, geek yogurt, salads, veggies, and always different dishes. It was amazing! We'll come back for sure :) Efharisto Kos!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Odette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Excellent Hotel near Mastichari. We stayed there for 6 nights and everything where superb ! You are getting a 5stars hotel for the price of a 4star. The beach and the gardens are really great and the food in the restaurant and the taverna is excellent. The rooms are very spacy with very nice view to the pools and the sea. Really beautiful sunsets ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kost80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

very, very good experience. i would recommend it to anyone interested in kos. the buffet breakfast and dinner are excellent, but limited as such. therefore, i would also recommend a car after two or three days and tour the various tavernas on the island. on the other hand, for families, it was outstanding, and such travelers might rather just stay there.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms tend to have better views and less of a mosquito issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globalyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

PROBABLY THE BEST HOTEL IN KOS. cosy enviroment full of activities, nice beach, pool, very clean and the best cuisine by far.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank platinakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Unfortunately we didn't do enough research prior to booking

We stayed for two weeks on a half-board basis. We knew that the hotel primarily caters to guests from German speaking countries. Nothing wrong with that of course. However, if like us you like to get out a bit and meet the locals, then you could find the location rather isolated.

The nearest village, Mastichari is a short bus ride away and not within easy walking distance especially given the high daytime temps. Busses are not that frequent and the last is at 2100 from Kos town, which isn't great.

Rooms were absolutely fine with a balkonies overlooking the pools. We had difficulties with the mattresses which were replaced with new ones promptly. Unfortunately didn't help - simply too soft.

Staff are very friendly and attentive, and I must mention the animation team - they really put in a lot of effort to put out entertaining shows every night. The hotel bars lack atmosphere though so we ended up going to Kardemena or Kos town, especially during the second week.

Surprisingly, the hotel mini-market had the same prices as the local shops - a welcome change to the norm.

We missed not having a kettle, so BYO if you like your morning cuppa. As mentioned by others, TV channels very limited and we missed the Rugby World Cup :-(

Would we go again? No, there are other better-located resorts that have a more international flavour.

Recommend? Yes, for families. Not for couples who don't like to be stuck in a fixed environment. I suppose a week maximum.

Room Tip: They have two pool areas. The main pool(1) also backs onto the animation stage - so could be loud la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edelstoff208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
1.3 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
606 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#3 of 16 in Mastichari
327 reviews
7.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Resort

Address: Mastichari, Mastichari 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mastichari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range: £67 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Beach Resort, located in front of one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Kos Island, is the ideal resort for relaxing and sporting holidays, as it offers a wide range of facilities and it combines comfort, elegance and style, all complimented by a high quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Hotel Mastichari
Horizon Beach Resort Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing