We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for a great place to stay in Mastichari.”
Review of Ilios and Irene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilios and Irene
Ranked #1 of 2 Mastichari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Ilios & Irene at the beginning and end of our holiday. It is very convenient of course for for the port of Mastchari.

Right from the start, Sokrates makes his guests very welcome, with an ouzo and few nibbles; his high level of service continues throughout your stay and nothing is too much trouble, either for him, or for his excellent team of staff.

The apartments are large (each with 2 rooms) and are kept spotlessly clean. They are also very well equipped, with not only everything you need for the kitchen, but also nightlights, an iron and ironing board, and all-important mosquito vapour machines. Each apartment has two balconies, which means that there is always a choice of sitting in the sun or the shade. (They each have a drying facility too).

Breakfast is good value at €4.50 each, and the dining area is also the venue for barbeque nights, which are held every 10 days or so.

At some places, we might avoid such events, but not here! For a start, the food is a great deal: €10 per head for a buffet of 15 or so dishes and meats, all really well- made and in greater quantities than any reasonable person could eat. Wash it down with cool beer in chilled glasses, and enjoy Sokrates and the others teach you to dance (sort of - with tsiftateli especially for the ladies). It is a really good night for anyone with any sense of fun at all.

So many thanks to Sokrates, Serva and Soula, for a great service in excellent apartments. We would recommend Ilios & Irene very highly.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit sunnier (if that is what you want)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Pedro_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Ilios and Irene
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here in 2011 and really liked the apartments, but since Socrates has taken over, the improvements really show.
The rooms are still as clean and have the same facilities But with little touches such as shower gel, soap, wipes and mosquito plug ins.
The bar area offers a nice place to meet other guests and to have a great breakfast, €9 for two people.
The centre of the village is around a 5-10 minute walk away, ensuring a peaceful stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rln72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Apartment clean, comfortable, not expensive. near to the beach. very good location, quiet, peaceful. Breakfast delicious. I'd love to go back. Mastichari a refuge of peace. Beach wide, sandy, beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Another great stay at these apartments. Comfortable, clean, spacious and quiet. Good location but thing that makes it extra special is the helpfulness and friendliness of your host. Feels like home from home, nothing is too much trouble thanks for a wonderful stay. Breakfast also excellent overall extremely good value definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 722sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for an Easter break in these lovely apartments and enjoyed the hospitality of Soctrates.
A great peaceful location at the edge of the village.
Rooms are spotlessly cleaned.
Would definately recommend !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 321JandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked a week here at the end of April, hoping to repeat the tranquility of last year's stay in Rhodes.

The apartments, which are either on the ground floor or the first floor, have a kitchen with two single beds, table and chairs, hob, kettle, toaster and fridge, a bathroom with a shower and a separate twin bedroom. They are spotlessly clean with adequate crockery and cutlery and a handy clothes dryer and pegs, saving me a lot of the stuff I brought from home! Each has a terrace and a balcony so you can enjoy the sun at different hours of the day with a table and chairs. We never heard our next door neighbours, and enjoyed copious hot water in the evenings with good water pressure. Our apartment had airconditioning, but this did dual duty as a heater, very welcome when the temperature dropped suddenly as it did a couple of times during our stay when the sky was clear and starry.

Our host was the genuinely-friendly and competent Sokratis! From cooking an imaginitve fresh breakfast every morning (no two days were the same!) to being an invaluable source of local knowledge, he was an important part in the success of our visit, coming in early to cook us breakfast on the day we went on the morning boat to Kalymnos, and letting us use the internet to confirm travel arrangements and to deal with mail. A charming man who really puts his guests first.

The accommodation is situated approximately 200 metres from the main road, turning right at the Half Time Bar, which offers a public pool. The apartments are at the bottom of a country lane, and are peaceful at night, and very safe for children. Sokratis can arrange car and bike hire (including children's bikes) and you can easily walk to the beach from the apartments without having to go into town.

This is not the place for noisy nightlife, although there is a bar and TV. Families will feel at home and English guests (and those who read English) will appreciate the books on loan if you get through everything you brought with you!

Highly recommended for a centre to visit Kos and Kalymnos, not too far from the airport but not affected by aircraft noise. My husband and I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor might be best for kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alsacienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We only stayed for one night en route to Kalymnos - but what a lovely start to our holiday. Ilios and Irene greeted us, sat us outside at a candlelit table and brought us complimentary ouzo and snacks. They were really friendly and chatty, asking us about the climbing, about where we came from, and if there was anything they could do while we were here.

The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast was delicious. It set us up nicely for our trip over to Kalymnos later that morning.

Highly recommended for a stopover, and I'm sure it's delightful for longer stays too if you're looking for a friendly, clean budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mastichari hotels
0.9 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luis Apartments
Luis Apartments
#10 of 16 in Mastichari
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#3 of 16 in Mastichari
277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
1.4 mi away
Horizon Beach Resort
Horizon Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Mastichari
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilios and Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilios and Irene

Address: Main Street, Mastichari 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mastichari
Price Range: £24 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilios and Irene 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilios and Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilios And Irene Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing