We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”
Review of Princess of Kos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess of Kos
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Reviewed 17 May 2010

very quiet location, sea views from end block we stayed in, basic but cleaned every day, complementary bottle of red wine left is a nice touch.Staff very accomodating, as we were the only English couple in a german hotel, which was a little lonely, but we wanted a very quiet relaxing break. Pools x2 virtually to ourselves, plus easy access to beach. No watersports, which might have been good, but very early in Greek season, so things not yet ready for the bulk of tourists. Plenty of food, mixture of german, english and greek, red wine decent, plus lipton's tea! Trips by Cosmos/thomas cook very good, to greek evening, Zia and Nisyros island with volcano. Take euros, as atms not plentiful, hotel doesn't change money, but all speak english, so very helpful.would have liked to use fitness room before 8.00am but was only open when the minimarket was.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

Anyone who takes any notice of the rest of these idiots is a fool, and is missing out on a great holiday experience. I read all of the reviews before i left for Kos last week, and found myself drastically phoning our tour operator begging for a change of hotel, thank god they couldn't do it.
The staff are very well mannered and can all speak perfectly good english, we avoided most of the entertainment as people wrote that it was all in german, but they spoke 4/5 languages including english! The pool was always clean, and yes there were a few wasps around the poolside but the staff sprayed something in the morning and they left people well alone. The drinks dispenser was never surrounded by wasps, and the pop was lovely. I myself got very ill with sunstroke on the second day, and the head receptionist, Nicko, offered to interperet if i needed to go to hospital, our Olympic holiday rep had his 24hr contact phone on voicemail.
As a fussy vegitarian i found that the food was disappointing, but my sister and mother loved the well stocked salad counter, and there were new meat and veggie dishes every day. The hotel is only a short walk from bus stops to all over the island, and the staff are always ready to help with directions. Yes, many of the tourists were german or french, but we met at least six british families in one week.

This hotel and it's staff made our stay worthwhile, for someone who isn't used to 4 star holidays i thought it was great! Maybe the rest of the people commenting are expecting too much.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The overall experience was not good. We expected somehow lower quality 4* hotel but this wouldn't even reach 3*. Starting with our room which had a terrible smell from the bathroom, molded wall behind the bed, bare wires on the bathroom wall, mosquitoes splattered on the walls, windows and such, ending with dirty pool with broken tiles on the side. The hotel is a narrow strip of land between two cow pastures infested with mosquitoes. We have seen rooms of other 2 families who traveled with us, and no rooms had screens on windows or doors so the mosquitoes are a problem. Local Minimarket has a good supply of plugin repellents, unfortunately the local bugs are probably already used to them.
Food was very repetitive and some badly cooked (got little better selection on our second week). Beach was nice.
We were All inclusive and I was surprised what all was NOT included. Just as an example, there was a scooped ice cream available in the Taverna, but only 1 hour in the afternoon (15:00 to 16:00 I think) with a limit of 2 scoops per person.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pstrelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

perfect for a chilled holiday, the staff very friendly, rooms of good size cleaned daily fresh towels sheets and free air con,outside taverna and main restaurant good buffet breakfasts with eggs sausage bacon fresh bread fruit yogurts etc..lunch and dinner typically greek,salads, pasta,meat rice and potatoes no chips!! great lunctime bbq, good all round drinks help yourself, no queues at all.beach wonderful,plenty of sunbeds near the large pools,animation okay,only 9 english people! overall a great relaxing holiday by the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytime_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

In this hotel most of the people are German or Czech I don't mind because I am Czech so I feel like home. Most of the staff are Slovak and we spoke to them and they said that they hate this job because is low paid so they look bit angry and they were not usually able to speak any other language than Slovak except the receptionist which was able to speak very good English and German. The food was excellent just the breakfast was bit early. The pools were great just they close early so we were not able to swim in the evening.The sea and beaches were great because on the beach there were trees. The rooms were great just if you go there with cheap agency you can be in really horrible room without air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We have just returned from The Princess of Kos, though we had a good time I must warn British travelers that this is dominantly a German hotel, and our 1st week we were the only English couple in the hotel, all the entertainment, also the TVs in the bedroom are all in German. The food was o/k but I would not recommend this hotel to any of our friends. In our opinion this hotel should not be in a British brochure.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

A lovely hotel though not set up for English people. Meals ok but after 4 days quite repetative though deserts were morish.
Hotel very good in the fact we paid extra for our room and were allowed to stay in untill 3am not 12pm as paid for.
Swimming pools lovely but all inclusive drinks ie local spirits left in the sun all day and it was 114 some days.
Room lovely and big though asmell of sewers as we walked out of our room and in the bathroom at times. Cleaners done an excellent job.
It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and the hotel manager supplied a bottle of wine - lovely surprise.
Make sure you take insect repellant as Mosquitos swarm at night but the shop does sell raid which we used every evening for piece of mind.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
0.2 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#8 of 16 in Mastichari
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#3 of 16 in Mastichari
305 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess of Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess of Kos

Address: Mastichari 85302, Greece (Formerly PrimaSol Princess of Kos)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range: £50 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess of Kos 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Princess of Kos is located on a beautiful beach of the north side of the island near Mastihari Village, 18km from the city of Kos and just 8 km from the airport. Hotel Princess of Kos is built in Aegean style architecture of blue and white, surrounded by beautiful gardens with palm trees and colorful flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess of Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Of Kos Hotel Mastichari
Primasol Princess Of Kos Mastichari
Princess Of Kos Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing