We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest hotels ever! - Paradise (yes really it is)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tazacorte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Perfect location, excellent well trained friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Stunning hotel, full of antiques and great facilities. Can genuinely be called paradise. Set in a banana plantation, with an amazing tropical garden, you could not ask for a better locale. A few minutes walk from the beach, yet close to the village, plenty of places to eat nearby, but we ate in the hotel most nights as the food was outstanding. You must try a gin and tonic, (the best I've ever had) It's worth paying the extra for this hotel as it's leagues above anything else in La palma.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

This must be one of the most interesting and intriguing hotels in the world, for its underlying philosophy and rationale. Indeed it is so difficult to position that the Canaries Government had to create a new designation – Emblematic Hotel.

These days the re-creation of a “traditional” form of hotel accommodation but with all modern conveniences, as a pastiche of some form of living in “yesteryear”, is fairly commonplace, especially in Spain. So the re-creation of what might appear to be a nobleman’s or merchant’s estate, complete with chapel and “public” square, could have resulted in a parody of whatever the original intention might have been. Rather, the opposite has been achieved, and very successfully. A combination of high quality design and attentive detailing of buildings, gardens and services provides for not just a very comfortable stay, but for the opportunity to be stimulated and delighted. The public rooms and the bedrooms are quite exceptional, not even a philistine would fail to find the design of the rooms and the art works they contain remarkable; it doesn’t require an expert eye to recognize the exceptional quality of the landscaping; and the history of the estate and the family which have conceived the hotel, provides much food for thought and debate with other guests about European history and the changing nature society and trade. However, perhaps the most refreshing aspect was the obvious commitment of staff to ensuring that this very new hotel will be a success; their excitement was obvious and showed through in their quiet determination to ensure that every guest was treated personably yet professionally, and that all requests made of them resulted in a successful outcome.

Although this might be a glowing review, since it is in my nature to be hypercritical I will mention my only frustration, which was getting the toaster to work at breakfast time!

Room Tip: All the rooms had great character, but some, probably only those on the ground floor, had baths whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This quiet hotel, located on the sunny side of La Palma far exceeded expectation.

Jam packed with priceless antiques, yet enough charm in itself for the non fussed about antiques, this newly renovated and converted original ‘hacienda’ is a peaceful haven for adults & adult foodies!

Room Tip: All rooms have period furniture and are individually decorated, many have 4 poster beds. Suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JC-CC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have had time to digest our four nights at this marvellous place and we are still convinced that you can hardly find a better place to stay.as long as you are not looking for cheap accommodation. On the front gate it says: "HE", which we learnt means Hotel emblematico, which again tells you it is a place not only for sleeping and eating but also a place which contains cultural items. Entering the hotel was like walking into a museum with a host of fascinating artefacts and 17th century paintings. Furthermore, we experienced wonderful service by a smiling staff, among the maids, in the restaurant and at the reception. The inner yard with the pool, sauna and jacuzzi was a peaceful retreat which gave us the feeling of real luxury. Being situated in the middle of banana plantations this is a place of tranquility but in addition we appreciated the hotel's greeting. "We welcome all children over 18". The restaurant provided exquisite meals, and our room was good also offering a view to the Atlantic. The location is also very good, a 20 minute walk, and you are down at the beach. We hope to come back to this jewel of Tazacorte.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jens W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we found it necessary to write this review.....In October 2012 we visited La Palma and heard about the new hotel that had just opened. We had also heard that it was possible to eat at the restaurant "El Sitio" even if you weren't a hotelguest. So, we decided to try it, and boy, did we not regret it!! The atmosphere is absolutely fabulous. When you arrive you will find a very warm and pleasant welcome by Carlos and David two lovely waiters who know their trade and make guests feel very comfortable. The food prepared by Georg (from south Germany and who talks very passioned about his job) is fantastic and has unique and innovative flavours. (Try the steak tartare as a starter, which is (very well!) prepared at your table by Carlos.) The main courses, a great choice of meat and fish dishes are a real feast for the taste buds. Also the barraquito-mousse is an absolute must. We liked it so much that we immediately booked for a second time later on in the week. Next time when we visit La Palma we will certainly go back there. Thank you Carlos, David and Georg!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dietuishuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We loved the Hacienda de Abajo. We stayed 7 nights in early January in a standard room, which was superb. This a unique hotel situated in Tazacorte town’s centre, close to local amenities and within walking distance (about 20 minutes) from the black sand Tazacorte beach and the port. Everything is beautiful in this hotel – the ambiance, delicious food, first class service. The hotel is based in the former residence of local trading family and boasts an unbelievable art collection consisting of paintings, porcelain, antiques, tapestries, etc. The facilities are excellent, especially their wonderful bathhouse which offers a Jacuzzi bath, sauna and massages. The hotel’s restaurant serves food of a very high standard; it may be Michelin star quality but that accolade is not a current priority for the management. The staff are all very professional and friendly, most of them speak at least 3 languages (e.g. Spanish, German, English) and go out of their way to ensure that every guests’ wishes are fulfilled. We did not hire a car and relied on local buses and organised tours. It worked for us just fine, as we love walking. We particularly enjoyed the solid climb from Tazacorte beach up to El Time, and the 16k trek through magnificent Caldera National Park. Also, not to be missed is Santa Cruz the beautiful capital of La Palma (very accessible by bus) and the dolphin spotting trip on the ‘Fantasy’. Overall, we had a fabulous time and definitely would like to return to La Palma and the Hacienda de Abajo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank possum t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

La Palma is the most beautiful Canary Island and this hotel is the most luxurious and calm of the island. Its rooms and communal areas are plenty of incredible antiques and they have a little but ver nice spa and a no children policy which make the hotel a perfect place to rest. The service is perfect and everything is prepared to have the most luxurious holiday you can imagine for the rate paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ATerronM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tazacorte
10.4 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,780 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
579 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,005 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Benahoare
Hotel Benahoare
#1 of 19 in Los Llanos de Aridane
39 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda De Abajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda De Abajo

Address: Calle Miguel de Unamuno 11, 38770 Tazacorte, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Tazacorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tazacorte
Price Range: £181 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda De Abajo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda de Abajo is the result of a careful renovation of an ancient XVII century sugar estate. Decorated with unique art objects of the 1st - 20th century, the first "emblematic hotel" on the Canary islands combines traditional elegance and style with modern amenities. Each of our 32 rooms has been individually decorated. Therefore each stay in our hotel will be an unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hacienda De Abajo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo Tazacorte, La Palma, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing