We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot for some winter sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Blanca
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot for some winter sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a refurbished one bedroom apartment. The inside is well equipped, but it is pretty small (lounge, kitchen bathroom and bedroom, and the furniture of an IKEA type standard. However the outside terrace is of the same floor area as the entire apartment, and gets the sun from about 1pm (mid March) until sunset. It is also quite private, and the space we spent most time in (apart from maybe bed) whilst at base. The whole complex was pleasingly peaceful, though we were staying in term time.
There is a small bar next to the nice rooftop pool (plenty of beds), and a restaurant which we didn't try. There are a LOT of steps in the property.
There is nothing in Taurito at all, apart from huge hotels where I presume people eat in. We went out every evening in Puerto Mogan, where there are loads of restaurants. We got the public bus there (tip - you can out {but not in} of the complex at a gate at the lower road fence which is much nearer the bus stop), and a taxi back.
Unless you are going to sit around the pool you need a hire car, but not in the evening as apparently there is a zero tolerance of drink driving now.

Room Tip: Apartments at the far end (looking left as you enter reception) have better views around the headlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are pleased to read the account of your recent stay and we hope the we will be given another chance to host you and offer you a great quality stay in the near future! Thank you for your kind words!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    183
    52
    20
    34
See reviews for
126
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Cala Blanca. I am quite fussy and was concerned when reading some of the reviews as this was such a good price. We tried to cancel but we were unable to - I am soooo happy we did not cancel!!!! The unrefurbished rooms are absolutely fine and the balcony is huge with a view which is exceptional. The restaurant food quality is excellent and the staff are all so friendly and helpful it was a really lovely experience. The hill leading to the Cala Blanca could be quite difficult for some people but there is a shuttle bus taking you to Mogan and Puerto Rico. We much preferred the quieter beach of Taurito which the hotel overlooks from the hill but we also spent time at the pool area which was spotless. If you are looking for a quiet, chilled break then this is perfect. The public transport is great if you can cope with the hill to the bus stop. Mogan port is gorgeous to wander around and there are sometimes live musicians playing in the square surrounded by some lovely restaurants. We cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Only Timeshare members were allocated refurbished rooms but they are in the process of refurbishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkihodgson_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are always very grateful for all positive feedback and so we would like to thank you for your comments, opinions such as yours allows us to reach out past negative reviews and prove that we are a great resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you're looking for somewhere busy, with lots of nightlife, then, this place is not for you!
The resort is on a hillside, with 6 floors. You enter from the road on floor 6, where the reception is. The resort then descends to floor 1.
We had an apt on the 6th floor, which was ideal. Great views and a large private terrace, complete with sunbeds.
The apartments are well equipped, with everything you need, should you wish to eat in.
The on site restaurant was alright, but, I wouldn't rush back.
We had a car, which cost about £70 for the week. There was never a problem getting parked.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning, again, for some Winter sun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sure future travellers will be taking advantage of your tips on the location and car hire.
We hope you will visit us for some winter sun again in the future.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This complex is perched high on a cliff and has all the facilities you would need. However, it takes about 20 mins walk to the beach. You may want to get a taxi back as it is a bit of a climb, certainly not suitable if you have walking difficulties. Also, Puerto Mogan is 10 mins away, by taxi, which costs about 8 Euros each way. Buses run regularly. The complex is actually situated in Taurito which is very quiet, with hardly any restaurants or bars, just a water park, a few trinket shops, a supermarket and half a dozen hotels. A hire car is a good idea, although there are plenty of buses to nearby resorts if you don't want to drive (driving in Gran Canaria is easy as traffic is light). Take a trip into the mountains, the scenery is stunning. The apartment itself was adequate although a refurb is well overdue (2nd floor). We had a few housekeeping issues but staff are friendly and helpful so things were sorted quickly. Food and drink at the bar/restaurant was ok but better dining options are available in Mogan. Note that there are some maintenance works occurring currently at the far end of the complex, near the tennis courts. I would recommend this place for a cheap winter getaway.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room, higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great for us to read that all your encountered some issues our staff were able to resolve this and provide you with a great level of customer services.
We are sure other travellers will take note of your location tips for their stays so we thank you for these.
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have been Diamond members for 12 years and been to many resorts throughout the world.Cala Blanca is up there for it's location,accomodation quality but above all the maid service and reception staff who are second to none.
Like all 'timeshare properties' , they age and need refurbed- but we found our 1 bed unit in good order with a great terrace.Great selection of DVD's and wi fi was reasonable strength for skyping.
Very good restaurant on site and good shuttle bus service to Puerto Mogan- a wee gem amidst the 'concrete' of other resorts.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angusaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for expressing your appreciation for our services, we are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay here at Club Cala Blanca and we hope to see you coming back in the future!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The pros: fantastic staff, particularly the entertainment and bar staff, lovely swimming pool. The cons: we booked our holiday through Expedia and were given a ground floor un- refurbished apartment in dire need of updating. As this is a timeshare complex we were hasstled on a few occasions by the salesman. Cleaned only twice during the week and strangely on the day before we left. Location could be better, we fortunately hired a car. Loved Gran Canaria and particularly Mogan.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We regret to read of some of your comments, our resort is currently undergoing some refurbishments. While we wish we could accommodate all of our guests in refurbished accommodation at this time is it not possible.
We are glad our staff provided you with an excellent level of customer services.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night break here and whilst the hotel was excellent our apartment was a bit worn out in places, bottom of the doors look full of rot and are in dire need of replacement.The hotel itself did not get any sun until around midday so it was very cold every morning. There is nothing really exciting about Taurito itself as a resort and you need a car to explore the area. The mountains are amazing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littleegg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we regret to learn that you found your apartment a little tired, yet we assure you that our on-going refurbishment will soon address any such issues. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Property: Cala Blanca
Address: Calle Albaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mogan
#1 Green Hotel in Mogan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing