We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Costa Taurito
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hmmmn, before we set out to hotel paradise costa taurito, we had read a lot of reviews that convinced us we were in for a rough ride. Thankfully, these turned out to be unfounded despite all the issues we had on our trip.

Firstly, the hotel is in an enclosed sub city 35 minutes away from the airport and for a gran canaria trip, we would recommend car rental as the first choice especially with a family and young children. This gives the option of exploring other towns with ease whilst there.

The paradise resorts in taurito all share a similar style of hotel, with all inclusive options, family entertainment, waterpark, directly located on the sea front as well as supermarkets, salon, spa, gift shops, atm machine and so much more.

We arrived quite late after check in, and found everything to be smooth and easy going. Parking is free directly in front of the hotel and as long as you are able to nab a space, then life is made so much more easier. We all received our different colour coded wristbands so we could access food, drinks, amenities and attractions.

The bedrooms are clean, modern, good sized and as described both on their website and in pictures. There is a standard crt television that could do with updating and a lack of english channels but to be fair you should not be indoors watching tv while on a hot sunny island.
The bathroom was spacious also, with a very clean bath, good working shower, a vanity desk and mirror for the sink and the wardrobes were also large enough to store all our belongings.
Wifi is not free at this hotel, which could prove a bit of a snag for those wanting to communicate with loved ones at home.

Once we were settled in, we treated ourselves to our buffet dinner which consisted of a starter section, a mains section and a dessert section. The first night was comforting because we had read so so many bad reviews we thought that once we ate, we would either go sick or hate the taste.
This was not the case however, there were fish and meat options as well as a wide range of salads, bread and we noticed that drinks including red wine and beer are all on tap, yes thats right all running through dinner unlimited to drink.

After dinner, we took a walk through the whole grounds and marvelled at how massive the whole complex was to accommodate a lot of families. The entertainment area called Arena Plaza hosted families from all the Paradise hotels and also had other children's activities including mini golf, mini disco, trampolining, carousel, bowling, snooker etc. These obviously come with an extra price tag but you can imagine how easy it would be to literally walk out of your hotel onto a children's/family funfair without breaking a sweat. There is live entertainment every evening and the Arena Plaza bar also serves unlimited drinks until about 11 pm. There is also a discotec for the adults that runs from 11pm but the drinks in there are not inclusive.

After a very comfortable night's sleep, we awoke to a buffet breakfast which I would probably say is where they struggle a bit on the options. It's not that breakfast isn't edible, it is quite nice but the options are very repetitive on the combo of eggs meet eggs meet eggs again and sausages in three different shapes. There was still a good range to cover all eaters except non pork or vegetarians who would be reduced to toast and eggs and beans and tea for breakfast.

We explored the grounds some more for the rest of the day checking out the hotel pool, the gym which is located next to Villa Taurito and having some fun on the beach and at the water park. Do note that the pools in the water park are all salt water pools and this is warned. There are floats for both adults and children available and quite pricey too but once gain to be fair it is for tourists so will be priced at that rate.

Lunch was very very nice with freshly barbecued chicken and fish outside on the deck and other meat and fish options inside. All guests were spoilt for choice and we were quite impressed at how friendly the staff were especially a lady called Maria who helped us when our baby hurt her lip and provided unlimited hot water for baby's milk.

We never used the hotel pool opting instead to spend days out at Puerto Rico and Puerto De Mogan which are both thirteen minutes drive on either side of the hotel. We would recommend using the second exit both times at the roundabout onto the GC1 motorway when leaving the Taurito enclosure which is much safer as it is a bunch of new roads and tunnels rather than the steep hills recommended by the Navigation. Though the scenery is beautiful on the exit directed by the navigation, ongoing works and bends make the roads quite difficult to manage but not dangerous.

Meals and service for the remainder of our stay were very good and we were provided a packed lunch for our early morning departure which we requested at reception a day before.

Now the snags are, the buffet meals are targeted at everyone and can be eaten at two or three locations on the complex, however if there were fussy eaters, I would recommend Puerto de Rico which has a Chinese buffet, quite cheap at seven euros per adult and four euros a child.They also serve a buffet breakfast there and there are other cheap breakfast and lunch options in Puerto de Rico from about three euros a person. The meals are also targeted largely at the Russian and German guests that frequent the resort so be prepared for a lot of pork! A lot of simple sauces that would normally be vegetarian had pork in them and this is not always clearly stated so do ask the staff who in turn have to ask the chef.
The drinks asides soda and alcohol are squashes parading as juice.Expect orange, apple, pineapple and any other juice you ask for to taste exactly the same as they are all watered down squashes and don't make good mixers for any cocktails so stick to 7up, Cola, water and get a vodka with 7up so as to avoid disappointment. This is a running theme at all the bars including the pool bar, piano lounge, arena bar except at the discotec.

For the rooms, the cleaner expects you to pre-clean before she cleans otherwise you pretty much find your room in the same state and whilst she does the bed up, sheets are not changed every day, so if it is stained by a child you might find yourself using them for a day or two more. The air conditioning does not work if the balcony door is opened and it is best to get a room on the 2nd floor up because ground floor (floor 1 in the lift) rooms are directly next to the pool and piano lounge which wouldn't be a very good idea during busy periods.
Although only one lift was working when we were there, we never had a complaint about lift waiting periods or difficulty going up and down because once you're out for the day, there is no need popping in and out of the room for anything else.
Be warned that there is a fee for pool towels, so bring extra if possible and sun loungers at the water park and beach are about three euros each with extra charges for umbrellas though there are combo deals.
The charges on the beach stop at 6pm at which point the beach loungers are free for all.

Overall, good service for what the resort is supposed to represent, good environment for families, younger people are better off at puerto rico or playa del ingles whilst older people would probably prefer puerto de mogan.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from ground floor rooms (floor 1 in the lift). Carry pool towels if possible, keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DammyKrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great location with everything you need all in one resort.
But I must say a massive thank you to Michael T from the animations team who was the nicest bloke he was friendly fun and always up for a laugh any time of day or night and for 19 was amazingly mature.
He always got everyone involved in every activity bringing all nationalities together to make it a fantastic holiday for me & my 6 year old daughter.
If your reading this Michael thank you for everything you did what a true gent you are.
And hope to see you next year

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Loftus1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Excellent hotel, food was lovely, setting was ideal, near beach and water park. A small resort with about twenty shops. I would certainly recommend it and go there again. The only bad side was the grumpy waiter at the hotel pool bar, that made you feel that he was doing you a favour in giving you drinks. So much so we went to the beach then after that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lollysoul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned from our second visit in a matter of months to this lovely hotel & will return again next year. The staff at this hotel are very friendly & some of them even recognised us from when we were there in November. We had a room on the second floor which was quite central, clean & spacious. There was a good choice of food something for everyone. They had more entertainment in the hotel this time which was good if you didn't feel like venturing out of the hotel. There were more families this time & more British than the last time we were here. I have read some of the other reviews & don't understand why people can fault this hotel as we have never had a problem. We even got to keep our room on as we weren't leaving until later on our day of departure. We would just like to say a big thankyou to all the staff who made our stay a good one. See you all again next year

Room Tip: We have had a room on the ground floor & 1 on the second floor they were both equally as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just arrived back from a two week stay at the Costa. This is the first time we have stayed here. I have previously stayed at the sister hotel, the Lago Taurito for at least eight times. The Costa has approx 25% of the number of quests compared to the Lago. After being to both i would strongly recommend that if you have kids, the Lago is a far better choice as it has the facilities and atmosphere to cope with little people. The first week we were there, the majority of the quests were German, closely followed by Polish. 80 % were couples and over 50. The second week the majority of guests were Russian closely followed German and were approx 80% couples, with maybe a similar age group, but with a few families there.

We normally spent the mornings at the Lagoon( which Paradise hotels own). We would then head up to the pool bar for a drink before lunch. The entertainment the first day was to guess at how many cards the entertainment girl was holding. The second days entertainment was grabbing a stick, to test your reflexes!. The third day was to throw a small hoop onto a peg. You get the flavour!!!!.When we stayed at the Lago, the lunchtime entertainment was generally boisterous and had aqua gym, water polo, music and generally busier and livelier. Now i must be getting old because we got invited down to the Lago for a drink at one lunchtime and i prefered the peace and quite of the Costa.

Food, was excellent, with two bbq,s every week. I have read the negative reviews about the food at the Costa, but i was more than happy with the quality and the chef cooked small amounts at a time to ensure the food was hot and fresh. The great thing about the restuarant was that it also had an outside terrace for eating. While the Lago has a larger selection it is more like a canteen and has its food cooked en masse, which meant it was often cold and had to be eaten inside as there is no outside facilities. Also no bbq,s.

Both hotels provide free entrance to a massive Water park/ lagoon with also has All Inclusive facilities. It amazes me that both poolsides are busy when 100 yards away the guests have this underused facility.

Nightime entertainment was centred on the Arena Plaza for both hotels. This kicks of with mini disco and is popular with all. This is followed by either professional shows or shows with the animation team. The animation team practice every day and are a credit to Paradise hotels, through there hard work and enthusiasm and energy. If you are into nightlife there is also Disco La Bamba (which i,m too old for, so she says!!!).

Rooms in both hotels are very clean and serviced six days a week. Staff in both hotels are hardworking, friendly and helpful.

Costa also has its own inside lounge with an external terrace (where you can sit and enjoy a drink from its bar). While Lago has its own lounge and terrace , over the years its difficult to predict whether its open or closed.

To sum up, at our age (couple 52) we would prefer Costa. If Costa was unavailable we would not hesitate to return to the Lago. The Costa is , in my opinion for couples and the Lago for families.

Hoping to return for our tenth visit to Paradise hotels this October.

Room Tip: Dont pick a ground floor room or you will be looking into a hedge and people will be constantly be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We spent a week here in March 2013, animation staff were very friendly, bar staff great but the food was abysmal, very poor selection,, if you like pork then this is for you because thats what was served up every day, breakfast was usual cold meats cheese etc, then you could have scrambled egg, fried egg, boiled egg or omelette, some german sausage.
Lunch was chips, pasta, pizza, rice etc, for evening meals see lunch plus any variation of pork you can think of, one night the label said sirloin steak, it was very poor beef.
You could not relax by the pool because it is between 2 main roads, like sunbathing on the verge of the a34, you can go down to the water park and that is a bit quieter. Rooms clean and spacious, satellite tv but usual german channels, only English one is BBC world news.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 114Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Paradise Costa Taurito is a welcoming, clean hotel but is not a 4 star. Rooms are clean and adequate for the amount of time spent in them but not particularly luxurious. Whilst all rooms face the main resort complex, those to the rightt of reception cannot see the sea despite all rooms claiming to have a sea view. The view opposite is of a incomplete development, which based on previous travellers photo's, appears to have been in this state since approx 2006! The only bonus is that there no noise from the site!
Hotel room walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbours. Also all front doors are off an open air corridor which backs onto the main mountain road which means you can hear all the traffic.
The pool is very small, but that said, we didn't have any issues getting a sunbed providing we were down by 1100hrs, sadly some people did insist on putting towel out to reserve beds but not too problematic. The fact that the pool is on a narrow terrace does mean that half the sunbeds are in the shade. Left and far end of the pool is fine until lunch then as the sun tracks round the left side goes into the shade and people migrate to the right if not there already!
The pool bar was ok although there didn't seem to be any still mineral water available only sparkling and the orange juice was very strong cordial!
The menu was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel, plenty of salads and breads, a fair selection of main courses and a weekly lunchtime BBQ. You definitely need to arrive at the start of service though as once the dishes run out they are not always replaced! Mussels and hamburger were a huge success but once they ran out the chef said there were no more despite the fact that they were only half way through service.
There are local cats and quite a few doves hanging about on the terrace outside begging for foods scraps. Whilst asked not to feed them, many do. If you don't like animals then best eat in the main dining room.
Disappointing that you have to pay to obtain a key for the room safe.
The local bus services are excellent although they drive very fast (so not for the faint hearted as they wizz round the mountains with sheer drops behind a small crash barrier!) The #1 was a great, frequent service which we used nearly every day for 2.80 euros one way for 2 people. You must visit the neighbouring resort of Puerto del Morgan - a beautiful marina, nice beach, lovely restaurants and bars. If you walk along the front to the far end of the beach there are a couple of restaurant/bars that have beer for 2 euros. The frappachino (iced coffee) is also lovely.
The ferry is quite expensive, but seems very popular.
Puerto Rico was not as nice as we'd hoped, alot larger and commercial.
Evening entertainment alternated between the main Plaza with the other Paradise hotel guests and the individual hotels. Costa is a very small hotel so not that lively. The entertainment team worked very hard.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of reception (when facing hotel entrance) more likely to have sea view, but those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.2 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
0.7 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.2 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Costa Taurito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Costa Taurito

Address: Calle Alcazaba No. 1 | Playa de Taurito, Mogán, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mogan
#8 Spa Hotel in Mogan
Price Range: £103 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Costa Taurito 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Costa Taurito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Costa Taurito Hotel Mogan
Costa Taurito Mogan
Paradise Costa Taurito Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing