We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Avra

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tess_Horn
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Panormos is a little village in the north side of the island, approximately 75 km west of Heraklion airport. It is also within close proximity to Rethymnon. Villa Avra is situated on the bluffs of Panormo village, overlooking the sea. This 2- bedroom and 2-bath villa is perfect for families with small children. It's very spacious, clean, and comfortable with all the amenities needed and the kitchen is well equipped. The villa is also equipped with a dishwasher and clothes washer. The outside patio with a little green grassy yard, and garden area is a perfect place to relax and dine in. There is a large pool, although we were not able to use it due to construction. We didn't mind as the weather was a bit chilly in the Spring time during our visit. The pool, I'm sure is refreshing during the warmer months. The villa is about a 10-minute walk to the village. There are excellent tavernas in the village; Taverna Geronymo has an excellent menu with delicious home-cooked meals. All meals come with free deserts and raki (most restaurants in Crete offer this). The villa is about an hour drive to Heraklion, 20 minutes to Rethymnon, and one hour to Chania. Elafonisi (a must see area) is about 3 hours drive, with stops at tavernas along the quaint villages through the mountains. Argiro's hospitality is excellent. We arrived late in the evening and was greeted with a welcome basket with bread, red wine, olives from her mother's garden, and homemade raki. Argiro also provided us with deli items, juice, milk, and yogurt. We requested these items as we anticipated the kids to be hungry in the middle of the night after traveling for long hours. Argiro was also quick to respond to our needs. Our power went out one morning and the maintenance person showed up to our villa within 15 minutes to fix the power issues. Argiro also went out of her way to take care of our parking ticket we received in Rethymnon. I'm not so sure as to why we got this ticket, as we just followed everyone parked in the same spot. I recommend checking with the locals for parking rules. Needless to say, the whole experience we had at the villa was seamless. I highly recommend staying at this wonderful villa; its is reasonably priced, conveniently located to all sights, and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I love the comforts of the villa and excellent service from our host.
Liked least: The odd smell in the morning and overflowing trash in the area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primmy1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Avra for two weeks in July/August 2014. We are a family of 5 and the villa was perfect for us. Three double bedrooms meant that each child age 9, 14 and 17 had a comfy bed and lots of space and my husband and I had a wonderful bedroom with a gorgeous sea view to wake up to.

The villa has a very large sitting room with adjoining kitchen and a large table with six chairs on the terrace, perfect for eating breakfast and lunches and we enjoyed watching the sunsets there most evenings before heading into the local village for evening meals.

The village of Panormo is only a 10 to 15 minute walk away and is full of lovely restaurants and bars. Many lovely restaurants such as Geronymos, George and Georgias and O Makis have their table and chairs on the street and offer delicious homemade Cretian food at very reasonable prices. Around 50-70 euros for a family of five including starters, mains and drinks. Around the harbour are more touristy restaurants but they also offer delicious fresh food. Most evenings were rounded off at Elias Cafe Bar for a cocktail (or two!).

A small beach with sunbeds and beach bar is about a five-minute walk away and is well worth a visit as most days you could get a lovely breeze. The communal pool was also very relaxing. No need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve your sunbed as each apartment/villa has their own allocated beds. Some days the pool was so quiet we had it to ourselves (even in August!). Saying that, my daughter made lots of friends from many different nationalities.

Argyro and her family were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Thank you Argyro, Irana and Maria for the lovely welcome pack, gifts and friendship. We will most certainly be back. My only doubt about writing such a good review is the fact others may read it and the villa will be booked-up when we want to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eligiusz...
Portstewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Short fat Greek holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family has spent 7 days enjoying Villa Avra /first week of July/ . That means short , because according to my wife we should stay much longer.
What we like:
- Argyro, Makis and in general Greek people -in particular their hospitality
- accommodation itself - house is new and very clean ,air conditioned ,access to the swimming pool, very nice patio ideal for morning coffee and observing sunsets. Peace and quiet thanks to house location in the village outskirts.
- Makis taverna - means fat - highly recommended . You can always see the food in the kitchen before you order it. Anyway does not matter what you order - everything will be really top quality. There is is also very nice small local bakery just opposite the taverna offering nice fresh bread and some local sweeties.
-renting car is recommended .It makes travel to Panormo much more comfortable and also let you travel a little bit to see some local attractions. Do not afraid Greek drivers -they are only slightly crazy , but you will get use to it quickly. In addition you can stop from time to time and buy some fruit and veg from locals.
- there are only two small sandy beaches in Panormo . They were not extremely crowded but if you wish you can drive somewhere else . If you need some advice ask Argyro.

What we do not like: nothing really

In conclusion owned by Argyro Villa Avra is strongly recommended as a holiday destination and seems to be one of those places you want to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvgeniaMo...
Moscow
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just returned from our third vacation at Villa Avra. The impressions do not change with the time - the villa is the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Comfortably equipped and perfectly located it gives you an opportunity to enjoy the sunset from the patio or have a walk to a nearby taverna. Very comfortable for holidays with kids.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJMillsPe...
penygraig
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid Villa Avra”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very attractive modern three bedroom villa with everything you could need to make your holday so enjoyable. The owner made it that little bit extra special with a basket of produce including homemade jam,a bottle of wine, olives and dip and more. There is everything you could need in the villa with all modern appliances such as dish washer, washing machine, although the kettle is a little small, plenty of clean towells, including beach towells kids toys books and waterwings. The village of Panorma although small and quaint was lively and had plenty of eating and drinking places with a small beach with a beachfront restaurant with very friendly and attentive staff. The villa is only a five minute walk to the supermarket, giftshops and tavernas. It is aproximately 25 minute drive to the larger town of Rhymyno which is well worth the trip. What we particularly liked was the garden area was enclosed and you had to go through the garden gate to get to the pool which with a very lively three year old was great. The complex the villa is on is quiet and has a lovely view out to sea where we sat and watched the spectacular sun sets. This was a lovely villa and we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was wonderful
Liked least: not having a big enough kettle as we all like our tea!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayAnthon...
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Everything went smoothly from the detailed instructions for finding the house to the welcoming basket, the supplies, the cleaning halfway through our visit, to eating breakfast on the patio. The villa looked just like the pictures. It really is just a ten minute walk to the nearest taverna and fifteen minutes to the harbor. Panormo is a tourist village but still has much of its original character.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarineP33...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a perfect holiday house with all commodities and a beautiful sea view. We couldn't have asked for more. On top of that Panormos is a lovely little town! Go there and you won t be disappointed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing