We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant must go hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I am going to get the quibble out of the way first! This hotel is brilliantly located on a clifftop with massive gardens which are beautiful. steps lead down to about 3 or 4 bays which are cut into the rocks and have sun beds and shades in an idyllic location. however the hotel charges 4 euros a day to use them!!! and this is in a fully all inclusive hotel. they are free after 3pm so during the day they lay there empty and are descended on at 3 pm. 30 euros a week is a lot for one person and out of the question for a family. The rep said it is because people fight over them so much but thats nonsense and insulting. After that I have nothing but good to say. the grounds are beautiful, there are about 7 pools shared between this and its sister hotel. pool bars were open even in october. rooms are huge with a settee , very light in good condition with nice pictures and a fridge, black out curtains too and good air conditioning. staff are unbelievably helpful and pleasant - including reception staff which is unusual. nothing is too much trouble. house wine very drinkable - not always so in greece. local spirits are ok too - especially the gin! food very varied and good. afternoon tea brilliant and whatever the time of day there are fridges dotted about with nice rolls sandwiches and cakes in. the only downside for me is that i am a terrible sleeper and i was in room 501 whcih was on the end nearest the road and it is quite noisy if oyu have the windows open. my friends also had trouble in the rooms immediatle over the bar at the other end of the hotel. ask for a room overlooking the pool gardens - they are quietest and have lovely views. but all rooms have lovely sea views so you do not have to pay for one. we hired a car and our triops up into the hills were fantastice - you were in old crete almost immediately with friendly welcoming people, great ancient sites and great views. but this whole area is very unspoilt even on the coast - very little tourist rubbish around. panormo village is really sweet - walking distance with nice tavernas.

Room Tip: looking over the pool gardens
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments about Iberostar Creta Panorama on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays so much. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our principles in Iberostar hotels & resorts.

It is really great to have such loyal costumers among our guest; we really work hard to keep improving so that we are able to keep our repeating costumers satisfied.

I really look forward to welcoming both of you in your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,142)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good hotel located at a very large complex.Not recommended for older people.Pools where overcrowded.Rooms are large.The location is to far away for visiting the seigtseeings and the main city.Best way to travel there is hiring a car.

Room Tip: bungalows with seavieuw
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotemdilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for your positive feedback on our location and room.
We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Excellent example of an all inclusive hotel, the hotel had a vast amount of choice of food that satisfied the fussiest eater. No shortage of local beer and spirits, bar staff and restaurant staff always happy to help.
Maid service was of the highest standard, cleaned every day and room was spotless. Only feedback was that the bed was very firm but this is only personal taste and not a criticism, reception staff polite and friendly. The hotel is set in it's own grounds but other accessible towns by local bus and the little train, animation staff enthusiastic but not too in your face. Really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kim281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed from 4/10/11-11/10/11. Lovely hotel, clean and airy with good services. Most of the staff were friendly and welcoming and we had a good holiday. Plus points: Manolis in the bar was a gem, Rob on SixT car hire a wonderful source of information and ideas. The hotel had clean comfortable beds and great swimming pools and a really friendly animation team. Minor downsides: The shower had weak pressure, we were there as the season was coming to an end and visitor numbers were declining and whereas at the start of the week there was a very extensive buffet menu and a full animation team, by the end of the week a third of the restaurant was closed off, choices were reduced, and the shows lacked a bit of content (5 entertainers as opposed to the original 14) Yiannis in the bar was a bit of a killjoy too, berating one of his team when they were laughing with us at a joke and having harmless fun. I don't know what was said, but she never spoke to us for the rest of the week. There were also 'bridge overseas' players there who thought they had a right to enjoy their holiday and woe betide anybody who interefed with their 'fun'. Demanding the lobby be cleared one wet day because people were making too much noise and disturbing their concentration. Pillocks! Overall good value, but I wouldn't go much later in the year than this as the weather was starting to turn and you are a bit out on a limb location wise, so unless you have deep pockets (the organised trips are pricey) or are prepared to hire a car you may get a bit bored.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cornish-Food-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hello everybody !

With my wife and my two childrens, we were at Creta Panorama in September 2011. When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and polite. They were nice ! When we got to our room we had a heart shaped chocolate cake and champagne on arrival as it was our anniversary. The Gardens are well kept and very beautiful. There are about 3 lagoons that you can swim in and they also had water sports on offer. The Animation team worked very hard all day with the kids and right through to the adults. The only things were that you had to get up early if you wanted a particular sunbed but there were plenty left on the grass at about 9. The restaurant got very busy at certain times of the day but the food quality was very good. Actuality, french waiters (particulary Valère and Hadrien) were polite, funny and they were at guests's disposable ! The bar staff are extremly friendly and polite, very lovely people ! The evening entertainment is mostly done by the animation team with one professional show once a week. The pool areas were clean and tidy, many pools to go to from the loud to the quiet. The hotel is out on its own but its got a bus stop about 5 mins from the entrance . There is a little train into the village of Panormo which is a very greek village which is very pretty. Rethymnon is about fourty minutes away on the bus and the old town is very pretty, also you should treat yourself to a meal overlooking the beautiful harbour. Overall had perfect holidays at Creta Panorama and didn't want to come home!!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank john H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just returned from an excellent end of season break at this lovely hotel. The array of food on offer was mind-boggling, but minor criticisms would be a lack of fresh veg (maybe I just didn't find it among all the other dishes on offer) and the carving station tended to run out of the roast of the day. However, the bread was fantastic at every meal and themed nights offered a variety of options, Also, the 4 o'clock crepes and cakes are not to be missed.The animation team were enthusiastic, without being pushy, and put on a range of shows. The landscaping of the site is just beautiful and there is a range of pools as well as other sporting activities on offer. The artificial bays were all easy to reach, with good facilities, slthough sunbeds are charged for. The snorkelling in these little bays was quite good and felt very safe. Our room was large and clean, with a nice view of the garden/coastline. Although the site is a bit isolated, catching the bus to Rethymnon is easy and cheap. We also hired a car on site and drove to Knossos in about an hour, which was very worthwhile. Overall this was an excellent place for our party (all 50+) to spend a relaxing week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just returned back from 1 week at the Creta Panorama. We travelled as a party of seven with ages from 3 to 58. The transfer took around 1hr 10 mins, after a suprisingly quick flight.
When we arrived, after a lengthy check-in, we were allocated in the Bungalow rooms which had a partial sea view. These were fantastic with loads of storage space, a seperate bedroom, flat-screen tv and a fridge. It is true you get 3 bottles of water on arrival and no more but this was no issue as there were plenty of water outlets to fill up.
There are lots of pools, mainly saltwater. We had no issue getting 7 sunbeds together round the main pool each day, although the hotel was only half full. There are lots of different nationalities there which was nice in a way, but you do get the same usual problems with certain people who refuse to queue.
LOCATION...
Yes, it's really isolated but this didn't bother us really. The Mini Train runs like clockwork every hour from the hotel reception to the local village Panormo. It cost 4 EUR per person return and took around 15 minutes. Well worth a visit to experience traditional Greek life. At the hotel, there are 3 little coves. Not quite beaches but nice all the same. As the waves were really high there were no watersports on during our stay which was a bit of a disappointment but not the Hotels fault. Sunsets were amazing from here. Lots of people headed down and sat on the seats overlooking the sea late afternoon. Stunning. Rethymnon was about 15 minutes away in a taxi. This cost us 60 EUR return which may seem expensive but we thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was worth every penny. Our taxi driver even offered to come back for us. The resort is huge and stretches for a few miles but our taxi driver dropped us off at the port (nr the pirate ship) and we sat and had an amazing mezze overlooking the sea. Great for people watching.
FOOD...
If I had any criticism it would be there was TOO much choice. Breakfasts were anything from full english to fresh fruit, pastries, cereal etc. with fresh coffee on every table. Lunch we had by the main pool every day, where they had burgers, hotdogs, gyros, pastas etc for a light bite. This was from 12 to around 3pm. Here you could get soft drinks, beer, wine and coffee on tap. Great for saving time from queuing. There was also the main buffet where you could get even more choice of food.
Dinner: Every night was a different theme night from Asian to Greek with appetisers and shots before heading into the main buffet. There was literally something for everyone. Carvery, fresh fish, pizzas, salad, pastas. You would never be stuck, which is possibly my problem as there were too many options to choose from. And then you get to the puddings...enough said.
There was also the Italian A La Carte restaurant which is part of the main buffet. We never went so can't comment.
ENTERTAINMENT: I'm not usually a fan of the "Organised Fun", however, this is what made all our holiday what it was. The entertainment staff were truly amazing. They worked so so hard from around 10.00 with aqua aerobics, shooting, darts, the usual stuff. If you didn't want to take part it was no problem unlike other hotels I have been to. During our stay they even had a qualified Zumba teacher called James there on holiday who offered to take 2 classes which were very popular. He was fantastic. On the night time after dinner we went with my 3 yr old niece to the Mini Disco. She absolutely loved it, as did we!! Us big kids have been practicing 'Soco Bacci Vera'. Mauro was great with the kids and made her feel so special. Despite the language barriers, all kids had a blast and at the end Smiley the dog comes out which is the icing on the cake. (Ask if you can be Smiley too!)
The shows on the night were what can only be described as "Well executed rubbish" And i mean that in a good way. The ideas of the shows were somewhat thin, but they were terrific in what they made of it. Obviously they had to cater for all nationalities which can't be an easy job. But all the entertainers did such a fantastic job and without fail, the best entertainment I've seen on holiday. None of them are professional dancers but they love what they do and it shows. I usually mock others on here for naming names but now I know why!!! Sylvia, Sunny (a star in the making), Mina, Georgie and especially Mauro:- you made our holiday and are an asset to Iberostar.
After the show head to Calypso bar til half 1. Possibly the most depressing bar man ever, but good mix of music and cocktails.

A special mention to the cleaners also. They were fantastic, friendly and did an amazing job. Wish I could take one home.

All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic trip. Location was a minor issue as there was so much to do within the hotel, you didn't have to leave. The gift shop on site wasn't even too overpriced. Cigarettes (even Lambert & Butler) were the same price as anywhere else. We would love to return but the only thing putting us off would be that it would not live up to the same experience we had this year.
Thanks mum, from all of us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank familyguy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
42.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,113 reviews
6.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
28.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Creta Marine
IBEROSTAR Creta Marine
#5 of 13 in Panormos
1,564 reviews
28.0 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
61.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare

Address: | Panormos Beach, Panormos, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panormos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: £62 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the gods had been on holiday, they would have chosen the IBEROSTAR Creta Panomara & Mare hotel, where everything wonderful about Greece is concentrated in 30,000 m2 of gardens on the Aegean seafront. Stay in this Olympus of luxury and relaxation, where everything is devoted to honour your existence. A stay unlike any other. There are a variety of accommodation choices for one or more people, including rooms on the top floors with privileged views and bungalows of different sizes right on the beachfront. Swim on your own beach. Located in Panormo, the hotel offers direct access to two coves where you can enjoy the Island of Crete and feel truly special amongst mortals. Mediterranean feasts. Cuisine tailored to your every whim, so you can explore the best of Greek and international cuisine in the various bars and restaurants with welcoming atmospheres filled with aromas from around the globe. Swim in a variety of waters. Combine the salty water of the Aegean Sea with the freshwater of the hotel’s six swimming pools, one of which is indoor and another a children’s pool. You can swim in one, and then take a dip in another… Great fun. This is the perfect place to bring your family. Here, the little ones of the family can have a thousand adventures and become real heroes. There are activities for all ages, both in the daytime and evening. Feel worshiped. This is what is special about All Inclusive; the feeling that everything is available to fulfill your wishes. Exquisite service, exclusive access, personalized to your needs… Now you know; at this hotel, you are a god. Celebrate everything, not just that you are on holiday. Your honeymoon, your wedding anniversary, your birthday… At this hotel, let your imagination run free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Creta Panorama Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Hotel Creta Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Panormo
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare Crete/Panormos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing