We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I wanted a relaxing week away doing very little .... And that's what we got. We never left the hotel all week and never felt the need to either. The hotel itself consists of a main building and lots of little 'bungalows' dotted about the vast grounds, almost all have sea views. We only used the main pool which was very busy (never managed to get beds at others) and you had to be down way before 8 to get sun beds. However, some reserved sunbeds with towels and never used them all day or emerged late in the day which caused a little friction among some guests. This problem should be addressed.
The entertainment team were pleasant and professional at all times and really united all nationalities, they provided a great source of entertainment and fun even if you didn't join in. The kids clubs appeared very popular with varying clubs up to the age of 18 and everyone seemed to have a ball. Parents should be congratulated on the excellent behaviour of their offspring. No swearing, shouting, drinking or rowdy behaviour, the teens were a pleasure to watch, integrating and having fun.
Not once did we observe any drunkenness or discriminating behaviour against other nationalities from adults, everyone respected each other even throughout the World Cup!
The food in this place is enough to feed an army. I have never seen so much choice, variety and effort put into the buffets. The restaurant staff are very polite, helpful and efficient and are not in your face like some other hotels wanting tips. In fact we were only once asked for a tip from one barman!
Apart from tips and internet (9 euros for week) we didn't spend any money at all as there was nothing to spend it on. Every need was provided although you could if so desired use the spa or buy branded drinks or attend the beach party.
All in all a lovely relaxing week away with a nicer clientele in a beautiful, clean entertaining environment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

me and my family including a 16 year old daughter went to this hotel 2 weeks ago for 10 days and we hope to be returning back next year, everywhere was so clean, one day a lady was cleaning the roof top, it felt more like a 5 star than a 4, all the staff are friendly, and when we had an incident with one staff member we were given free wifi for our remaining time at the hotel. The wifi is really good until from about 5 o'clock to 8 o'clock as theres a lot of people using it at this time. For us we felt there was no need to leave the hotel until tuesday comes and the animation team are off. They give you so much to do and make a really effort to come around the pool each morning and learn everyone's names and say hello and ask how you are doing, couldnt ask for much more. special thanks to mauro simone and tony macaroni for making my daughter's holiday. Every night they did a show and if your worried about the noise soon as you close your balcony door its all gone they are pretty much sounfd proof as well as this one night a week they have a bbq or a beach party it alternates and id really recommend going to the beach party the firework show was amazing! Definitely will be going back there next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elishia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a lovely holiday in Crete, but I fear this was more due to the company (there were 10 of us) than the hotel itself.

The hotel is OK. Bedrooms are basic, beds are hard but bearable, bathrooms are really dated and the showers are terrible - this really needs attention. We booked a sea view bungalow and got a sea view room... my mum asked reception and they convinced her that they called all their hotel rooms 'bungalows', but our friends booked the same holiday and got what we expected to get, so I think we were fobbed off there (by the ever confused staff...)

The hotel advertises three restaurants - the buffet, the Italian and the Greek (A la Carte). The buffet and the Italian are the same restaurant - you just enter through separate doors!! This was pretty hilarious for us, wandering around like donuts. When we choose All Inclusive, we ALWAYS choose hotels with lots of different restaurants as we find eating in the same restaurant very boring. We were pretty disappointed that there wasn't a separate Italian. Little did we know, you are only actually allowed one meal in the A La Carte restaurant. At first, we were disappointed, but when faced with the bland food (no menu choice at all - not even vegetarian options!), we realised we'd never have returned anyway. It was nice to be served a drink for once though!! I've never been to a 4* hotel with NO service at all before. To have somebody take your drink order at dinner would make a huge difference. You even have to leave your table to find a member off staff if you want to PAY for a bottle of wine.
The A La Carte is sold as a 'special event' dinner by staff, so we were again misled by the cards stating 'Special Event' BBQs and Beach Parties. You have to pay extra for these - and for 20 euro a head we would rather have gone out to eat (which we did, a couple of times). We felt it would have been a nice touch for these to be offered complementary to All Inclusive guests on a first-come-first-served basis.
That said, the food in the buffet is tasty and there is lots of traditional Greek style food which was commendable for an All Inclusive. The staff are very keen to take your plates - they tend to hover and whisk in while you're finishing your last mouthful which is annoying! The white wine is drinkable, the red disgusting - like squash. We paid for red wine every night. It also wouldn't hurt staff to make a proper cocktail instead of pouring ready made ones out of machines. Would be nice if staff could refill water bottles in rooms...?! 4*!!!

Some staff are friendly - especially the animation team who always say 'hello!' if they see you in the grounds. The reception/bar staff (bar a couple) don't seem to have a clue and aren't very helpful. Always very confused when you ask a question (for example, telling us the Italian restaurant was separate...) and generally disinterested. It's a shame, because the staff really make a hotel and we have had some fabulous, friendly helpful staff at other 4* all inclusive resorts.
It was World Cup season and some games were showing very late (up to 2am at extra time). The bar with the TV closes at midnight, no exceptions, and one lady was fairly aggressive towards my Mum when she asked for a drink at 10 minutes past midnight, shouting 'CLOSED!' and pointing at a sign. It's a shame they couldn't make an exception now and again - but this was the general attitude of the staff, speak as little as possible and be as unhelpful as possible.

Myself, my mum and my boyfriend had a massage in the Spa and that was fabulous and the girls were really friendly there, could not fault it.

The pools are salt water which is a shame but you get used to it. Be careful pool side- it is so slippy. Two women we met had broken their arms while we were there from slipping!! One had to cut their holiday short as it required an operation.

Make sure you get out - Panermo on the little train is lovely and has some great sea view restaurants with really friendly staff and great cocktails. Rhythmno is lovely too, but further away - only 2 euros each way on the bus though. Try Alana's restaurant - the steaks there are delicious. We went to Rhythmno in the day time for an ice cream too and it's a lovely place to have a look around.

Overall, the hotel is well kept and clean but basic, and there seem to be lots of areas where the owners are trying to get extra money out of you (gym, safe, evening tennis courts, internet, 'special events' etc) which is a shame. I wouldn't return, and would class it as more a 3* than a 4*, as I've had far nicer 4*s elsewhere. That said, we had a nice holiday in the sun and it's a good base to explore Crete, which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank castone23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama hotel for your holidays in Greece and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We lament reading that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s services and facilities at the time of reservation; as you can see on our webpage a full description of our hotel is available. The Italian restaurant is advertised to be buffet style for lunch and theme menu for dinner, at no time it is advertised as an à la carte.

Moreover we understand that there is a bit of confusion in respect of our special BBQ event that is not an a la carte either; this is a special event with a huge barbecue and folkloric dances and shows on extra charge, of course guests not willing to attend this event have the possibility to choose between our different restaurants as usual.

The mini bar service is also reported to be on supplement both on our website and brochure, our guests staying on all inclusive basis have the possibility to have drinks, bottled water and snacks throughout the day at any of our 6 bars.

Our pool area is tiled with anti-slippery tiles, of course guests are advised to avoid running and walking bare feet as being wet any surface can get slippery, we however would like to clarify that the two guests you refer to did not hurt themselves by any of our pools nor in our hotel grounds.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, this is why we were surprised to read your comments on our reception and lobby bar staff; for future occasions, please do not hesitate to contact our management team available throughout the day to point out any service imperfection as they will do their utmost to assist you, unfortunately being informed about your disappointment once home does not allow us to make the amendments required for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

On the other hand, we appreciate your positive comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent one week all-inclusive in this hotel with a group of 8 family members in early July. The superior bungalows (we had 4201) are really much nicer than the regular ones that are a bit dated (we switched after first having a regular one but that was not a nice one and hat ants everywhere, bungalow 2318). Others had rooms in the hotel building first floor and these were very nice rooms. The pools, mostly salt water, were nice and you have a choice of more than 4pools so no need to lay in the overcrowded loud main pool area. Of course here too many selfish people "reserve sunbeds with a towel" to only show up hours later, a habit that is incredible, we never did as we used our garden in front of our bungalow nearby a pool. The food : if you can't find anyhting you like, I wonder what you eat at home, they really have everything.... Choice abundant, plentiful, healthy or less healthy, huge buffets and it was very nice. But the thing I will remember most, is the incredible animation team. We did not participate in the animation activities except once a stretching and once a aqua gym class given by little Italian Anna, she is so nive and funny! But we did go to as many evening shows we could, and this is the very best by far. Simone, Tony Macaroni (my favorite), Angelo, Anna, Georgina, Mauro and sorry the others I dont't remember e names were simply vibrant, brilliant, extremely good entertainment crew together. Folks in our party are very seasoned travelers in such hotels and had never seen such an incredible team, so hats off to you guys you are amazing! One more thing, extremely friendly staff, always a smile and a happy greeting.

Room Tip: Just do not spend daytime nearby the mainpool area as it crowded and loud, and there are plenty of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel following 2 week stay and I would highly recommend. Staff are wonderful from house keeping to entertainment team including everyone in between! Nothing is to much trouble and they are fantastic with the children.

Rooms - we had a superior bungalow with stunning sea views, it was nice and big and house keeping did a fantastic job. Room was cleaned every day and was spotless (believe me..I have an OCD husband and no complaints!!) only thing I would agree with from other reviews is that the bathroom is a little dated but again kept spotless so not an issue.

Food - we have always stayed in 4-5* hotels usually having more restaurants so we were a little anxious about just having the main buffet and 1 Al la carte however the buffet was so good we didn't even get around to trying the al la carte! The buffet is huge with massive choice of foods lots of fresh salads , meet and fish along with pasta, pizza and list could go on!

Entertainment team are absolutely fantastic with everyone but not at all pushy if you just want to relax. Our 6 year old daughter loved the mini club and really enjoyed the mini disco.

The hotel grounds are the best I have ever seen and kept immaculate along with the spotless pool areas.

The only reason I have held back on the 5/5 is due to a couple of things that could be improved on - there are no ashtrays on the outside tables at the buffet restaurant however some guests still feel the need to smoke while you are trying to enjoy your meal which I think is just rude! Hotel staff did not say anything to these guests so I am not really sure what the policy is as outside, but still restaurant area where people are trying to eat! This was the same in the outside theatre, no designated smoking areas which given the known health implications and being a non-smoker I would expect to see designated smoking areas. Sun beds can be a bit of a nightmare if you want to get around one of the pools, they are reserved early in the morning so a few days we did struggle to find three together. Also there are a few extras to be aware of, the safe is 19e per week, internet and pool towels are also at a cost but to be fair not much as I can't remember! Oh and the sun beds on the cove are 4e each which is a bit strange as hotels owns these sun beds? The hotel also run two different Greek nights a beach BBQ and pool BBQ again you have to pay extra if you want to go to these.....we did try both and really enjoyed them fantastic fire work display at the end of both nights.

Hotel is in the middle of nowhere however this has its benefits like stunning views and peace & quiet! There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you into the nearest town in about 45mins only 2e each way well worth the visit beautiful shops and restaurants.

Wanted to say a big thank you to Doris and Maria for making our holiday memorable they are both fantastic at there job and an asset to the hotel.

Overall I would defiantly recommend this hotel, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NRThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First all inclusive experience and if this is anything to go by won't be the last. Cannot find fault with anything and ticked every box for a family with two teenagers (15+17). Accommodation in a family bungalow totally exceeded our expectations. Unlike many on here we found the beds (firm) very comfortable Customer service was second to none so thank you to all the staff and animation team who do a brilliant job. Before we left I have to admit I didn't really see why everyone comments on the quality of the animation team but I do now. Not only do they put on a great show in the evening they organise a great range of activities for all ages and abilities during the day. Loved the cosmopolitan feel to the place with all the Belgians, Germans, Russians, French (and even a few of us Scots) around. Hotel and grounds were amazingly clean and well maintained. Not once did we feel isolated and the hotel met all our needs as a family .Congratulations again to all the management and staff and we (for the first time ever) are planning a return visit next year.

Room Tip: Family bungalow was great and bigger than we expected. Near small pool and excellent location with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank katcol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had been to Crete a couple of years ago and stayed at theSensatori near Heraklion which was good.
However this year we decided to try the Creta Panorama to see what it was like, What a surprise!.
Yes the transfer time is about an hour and a a half, but it didn't seem like it.
The hotel is well laid out with numerous pools and areas for sunbathing, and there is a smashing wee cove nearby for those who like the sea.
The all inclusive package naturally includes all food and drink , which is widely available throughout the complex on a served or self service basis. The standard is excellent and rivelled our stay at sensatori.
Our accomodation was a tad basic, however comfortable and realistically we were only in it to sleep.
My one complaint was the charge to hire a safe (I Think it was about 20 odd euros for the week). Surely this could be includedin the overall cost?.
That said it didn't take away from the holiday which I would class as excellent, and worth considering if you are looking for a all inclusive deal.

Room Tip: We had a garden bungalow which was quite basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jhonhaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
26.8 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
691 reviews
7.5 mi away
Amalia Apartments
Amalia Apartments
#6 of 17 in Bali
99 reviews
28 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Creta Marine
Iberostar Creta Marine
#5 of 13 in Panormos
1,598 reviews
2.5 mi away
Idili Traditional House
Idili Traditional House
#1 of 6 in Panormos
44 reviews
0 mi away
Z Boutique Hotel
Z Boutique Hotel
#4 of 6 in Panormos
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Address: Rethymnon | Panormos Beach, Panormos, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: £45 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct access to two private beaches, seven pools, live show cooking, free Wi-Fi, Miniclub, spa, all inclusive... The IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare hotel in Crete is an amazing experience where couples, children and sports lovers alike can relax and enjoy some of the best possible comforts. This is a 4-star beach hotel with a quintessential Mediterranean essence and impressive views of the Aegean Sea. Its three restaurants serve Greek, Italian and international cuisine and its eight bars make sure that you have the best dishes on offer. The 461 rooms, suites, and bungalows of the Creta Panorama & Mare hotel are fully equipped and even the smallest detail has been taken care of, including ample spaces, comfortable beds, terrace or balcony, free Wi-Fi, TV with international channels, air conditioning... Everything you need to guarantee rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Creta Panorama Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Hotel Creta Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare Crete/Panormos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing