We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - food average - overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grecotel Club Marine Palace
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have spent 10 days in that hotel during mid October 2013 and came to a venue in a 300 people village called Panormos, (Rethymno being 22km away).

The good:
very friendly people at all places, very much service-minded personnel, aware of every move one does, bearing with all the kids' complaints and quarrels, and always fault-tolerant. Top!

The bad:
While there were many outdoor pools (i counted 7!), all of them were not heated and thus empty. a nice scenery for those photo shootings you see about relaxed vacation, but as the water was colder than the Mediterranean Sea, nobody wanted to enter the pools (us included). The central in-door pool was heated yet the combination of chloride plus an overdose of salt led to red eyes immediately after one or two dives - we had to leave here as well.

The room:
Believe it or not: not a single power outlet in the bath room - we had to purchase a 5m cable to connect the electric appliances! The separation of kids room from the rest of the room was not well designed either - the kids were between the balcony and the bed room so either you stay in one or the other when you did not want to wake up your little one... Cleaning was OK - when you do not look at details - like some larger piled dust right under your bed, or that there is no vacuum cleaner is used to remove the sand but just a mop.

The food:
in case you like fish with oil, steak with oil, potatoes with oil, .xyz with oil - feel at home. for us that was an absolute "oily overdose" - hard to find anything which didnt receive a larger oily bath. Same applies for the pie section - here it was a way too much sugary sweet offer; causing us to avoid that and get back to the fruit and veggie selection.

We had ordered explicitly a "quiet room". The room number "2xx" assigned to us was though actually right above the central in-door presentation hall, and every evening the entertainment program for kids or others kept us awake - forget about early sleep!

So - good when you can afford it - but in general not worth the money you're spending here, unless you'd be willing to accept an above-average standard whilst having your kids entertained (that really worked well).

Room Tip: side room view - you'll get to see a wasteland. be prepared. also, check for maintenance facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here last ten days of August. Myself, wife and three kids, 14, 13 and 11. Our accomodation was comfortable and well appointed. Maids cleaned the room every day and did a great job. The hotel is well spread out on the hill down to the beach so even though it was fully booked, it never felt too crowded. If you went to the main restaurant the minute it opened, it could be a bit frenentic but easily avoided by waiting an hour. Food was great. A huge range every day and always something different featured. We particularly liked the Cretian corner. They source some of the food from their own organic farms - Agreco which you can visit for a fantastic dinner and walking tour of the farm. We really loved this - well worth the E50.

We tried all the pools, all the bars and they were all great. Staff amazingly helpful.

Only down point - You need to queue up in reception at 9AM Sunday morning to book a la carte restaurants rather than the main restaurant. We arrivd on Thu so could'nt book one until Sunday. Not a massive problem but does mean they ration out those restaurants when full. They only do one sitting too so the Oriental restaurant sat about 40 per evening so queue up early and book one for most evenings of your stay if you can!

Overall, fantastic holiday, lovely place, great island too...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pibpog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We moved on to a far superior hotel after three nights and would have moved sooner if we could have.

We were booked for a ten night holiday at this hotel through Voyage Prive with whom we have travelled before. We have issues with VP as this hotel did not meet their normal high standards - this we accept is not the hotel's fault.

Whilst the reception was warm and friendly and the entrance to the hotel was very impressive, the first disappointment was our sea view room. Yes we had a sea view but it was not quite as attractive as we had imagined as it was very much a side view across waste/scrub land. We could have lived with this but the food was extremely disappointing. We were booked on an all inclusive basis (the only form of stay available to us through Voyage Prive). There was a large selection but hot food was barely warm at best.

The hotel appears to cater for Russian and German visitor and there were very few others and only one other British couple that we encountered. Consequently any entertainment, excursions etc were geared towards those nationalities. The hotel is in a quiet part of the north of the island and although the village was pretty, there was not enough to keep us there for ten days.

The sauna and steam room would have cost us extra and I am always disappointed that a kettle is not included in rooms, particularly when the holiday cost as much as it did. Surely the cost of providing a kettle is small in turn for customer satisfaction. Sunbeds were placed very close together and the floor of our bedroom was never clean.

The hotel manager tried his very best to make our stay comfortable and to keep us but we moved on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed with my sister and her kids there. 13,12 and 3 years old. We wanted to relax a bit and tried this all inclusive. Amazing place. The kids loved it. Great buffet with big selection. there was all the time something to grab and eat. The programm for the kids was amazing. Also for adults the best was the beach party and Aqua Gym in the morning. You dont feel how many people are there. Spacious rooms, great service and we didnt miss anything! Super nice stuff. A lot of russians and german people go there. We we were for 10 days and lef tonly 2 times the resort. Private beach with watersports and seriously i would recommend it. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

There is nothing left to say but everything was wonderful - The room, the food, the water and the diving center Atlantis. We booked a Bungalow and got a huge room with perfect sea view. The straff was exceptional friendly and helpful. We also booked a also organized a tour to Knossos via the travel agency TUI - specialized for kids and our little girl (11 years) enjoyed every minute because the tour leader was fantastic.

The area around the main pool is pretty crowded but there are other pools which are quieter. The hotel 's sandy beach is very small but Greece does not have to many long sandy beaches. and therefore this cannot be complained.

I wish the hotel management would collect the towels from the blocked sun beds especially at the small beach (some stupid idiots bring their towels in the morning and don't show up the whole day).

We enjoyed every minute of our one week holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christa747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was slightly apprehensive before coming since there have been not so many reviews this season on trip advisor some really excellent and some not so complementary. We need not have worried, from our arrival just before midnight we were checked in with efficiency and care pointing out there was a buffet in the main bar for late arrivals and we should take something to eat there, before going to our room. This Hotel is probably the best laid out of the 5 all-inclusive hotels we have been to.
There are 5 outdoor swimming pools, a small aqua park with a slide ideal for our 7 & 9 year olds, a quiet pool, main one with animation and two other pools with slightly salty water. The hotel has about 375 rooms but you would not notice it since they are built down the hill to the beach within gardens and trees and in no more than 2 or 3 floors of rooms. Food was very good and quite varied and the all inclusive Grecotel wines were quite nice and much improved from what we had tasted in Rhodes 8 years ago in the same hotel chain.The are significant numbers of guests from Russia and Germany but also from Poland, Austria, Belgium, Netherlands. In addition there were a number of Greek families when we werethere at the end of August. All staff spoke English as well as other languages. There were not very many English families we met about 5 during our stay but for us it was not a problem. We live abroad and speak a couple of foreign languages. The two boys went to the maxi club for about 6 half day sessions during our stay and enjoyed it alot. In their group there were mainly Germans but the two young women in charge of them spoke good English and integrated them well into the group. The shows were in a small outside amphiheatre which was great for everyone being able to see and probably damping some of the noise. We saw the performance by the kids club twice plus the magic show by a brilliant French pair really interactive with the audience and spoke in English. The Mama Mia Show by the animateurs was also pretty good for ameaeurs and again in English. The room we had was excellent and well cleaned every day.

All in all an excellent all inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martynpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We are actually staying at a villa just next to the hotel but on the two occasions we have been into the hotel reception, the staff have been rude and unhelpful. On the first occasion we saw a goat giving birth on the land adjoining our villa and the hotel so two of our party went in to ask if the hotel knew who the farmers were as the goat appeared to be in distress. The receptionist looked at our friends as if they were mad and didn't even attempt to answer.

On the second occasion I went in with my husband to ask if they had any conference facilities so we could print out our boarding passes. The receptionist asked for our room number and when we said we weren't staying at the hotel, he said no. Walking away I realised this was ridiculous so went back to say we would be happy to buy a drink or something since a hotel of that size must have a printer. He said that his supervisor had a private printer but it was in his locked office. It is pretty hard to believe that a large hotel would have just one printer, belonging to the supervisor, but even if that was the case the receptionist could have let us know when his supervisor would be returning, or even suggested somewhere else that might have printing facilities. Nope! Instead we were looked at with disdain as second class citizens simply because we weren't staying there.

Their reception staff clearly underestimate the importance of first impressions. My advice would be to avoid this place and stay at Villa Alkiones next door which has a lovely private pool and no snooty staff!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
2.9 mi away
Lameriana Secret Village
Lameriana Secret Village
#1 of 1 in Lameriana
28 reviews
10 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 177 in Rethymnon
741 reviews
40.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
30.1 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
2 mi away
Iberostar Creta Marine
Iberostar Creta Marine
#5 of 13 in Panormos
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Club Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Club Marine Palace

Address: Panormo, Panormos, Crete 740 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: £130 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Club Marine Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Marine Palace an all-inclusive Luxury is built like a typical Cretan village. Lemon, mandarin and vanilla-coloured bungalows surround the large swimming pools. A winding path meanders between the main building, the cluster of bungalows on the upper level and the seafront bungalow village. Marine Palace Suites The beautiful Marine Palace Suites are the epitome of luxury and style. The setting is spectacular, a fine cocktail of captivating sea views, blissful serenity combined with the more active life at the Grecotel Club Marine Palace. The suites, built in a peaceful area above the main hotel, encircle a tranquil pool surrounded by free sun beds & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grecotel Club Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Club Marine Palace Hotel Rethymnon
Grecotel Hotel Marine Palace
Grecotel Club Marine Palace Crete/Panormos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing