We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mountaintop View Over Atenas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Mountaintop View Over Atenas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My girlfriend has some friends that live in Atenas, so, while visiting them, we decided to stay at Vista Atenas B&B. We were very glad we did because Vista Atenas turned out to be a great place, with panoramic views over the entire region. We stayed in one of the cabins, which was big and comfortable. The outdoor pool was very nice and the daily breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, and coffee was excellent.

If there is one thing to caution people on, it's that Vista Atenas is a bit outside of downtown Atenas and, while the hilltop location is beautiful, without transportation you'll have a strenuous walk back up to the hotel. We made the hike up a couple times (and survived) and also walked to downtown one day, which took us about 40 minutes. But a taxi can be easily called; a ride to town will cost about $5 (USD). Vista Atenas does not serve lunch or dinner, but the restaurant at the bottom of the hill (Lelia's) is quite good and Jalapeno's, just down the road a couple minutes, is also worthy of a visit.

Finally, I should say that Jonathan, the current host at Vista Atenas, was wonderfully friendly and helpful, suggesting a good rental car company and booking us on a great tour of a nearby coffee plantation. I highly recommend Vista Atenas; I just wish we'd been able to see the sloth that lives in the woods nearby. She seemed to be hiding every time we went to find her.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    55
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
175
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I was captivated by the view from the pool, esp at night........the lights of the central valley! Jonathan prepared a pot of great CR coffee and placed it at my breakfast table. Make sure you get the breakfast! Beautiful property, great value!

Room Tip: for a single, the room with a view is by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I found this a very enjoyable place to stay. I noticed that each room has a different colored theme. Our room was comfortable and cozy. The breakfast was great and nicely displayed. The view is so beautiful. Atenas is a nice community. You can't help but relax. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Terrace, BC Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funroxy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We are now about to stay with Atenas B&B for the fourth time; the last time was with friends in February. Some stays have only been for a night, while others are longer. The inn has a lovely view and the grounds are impecable. The rooms all have a coffee maker, wonderful coffee and the breakfast is fabulous, always with some kind of fresh fruit, eggs and fresh juice. Vera, the owner and her manager, Jonathan are very welcoming and they both speak many languages. The breezes are cool, and the view of the valley at night is very calming. We always make it a point to get up early and watch the view of the valley as the sun comes up.

Room Tip: Book on their web site or call them directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5960805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Unlike other reviewers, Vista Atenas was my first and last stop and in no way was I disappointed. What sold me when booking was all the wonderful pictures and great reviews. I'm so happy that I decided to see for myself. B&B Vista Atenas is a rare commodity of actually living up to all that it promises, Great sweeping views of the valley, lovely and attentive staff and delicious breakfast. Although it was my first time visiting Costa Rica, the treatment I received from Vera (Owner) and Jonathan (Manager) made me feel as if we had known each other for ages. Vera knows the perfect restaurants for every meal and all of her recommendations were spot on, my personal favorites were La Trilla and La Trocha (Thanks Vera). Jonathan was the go to guy for everything I needed, arranging tours and transportation and even the occasional "new yorker" impression. As accommodations go, my room was beautifully furnished and very spacious, it even included a small refrigerator perfect for storing midnight snacks. Vista Atenas might be out of the way for people needing that one night stay for the airport but I can definitely say it will be worth your while to make it part of the itinerary instead of a quick stop.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabanana_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We decided to stay here for 2 nights, after 4 nights in Manuel Antonio. We were thinking about staying in Alajuela, near the airport, but B&B Vista Atenas was half as much as the other places near the airport. Jonathan (manager) arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us to the airport for $30 US.

I think B&B Vista Atenas is a very good value. For about $60 US a night, you get a great breakfast, comfortable room, and a nice pool area to enjoy. Jonathan is very hospitable, as is the owner.....and their dog Achilles.

The location is a little bit out of the way. We didn't have a car, so we had to walk to dinner at night. The B&B does not serve lunch or dinner, we brought snacks to tie us over until dinner. Your room has a fridge if you need it. "Jalpeno's" is a restaurant that is walk-able from the B&B, just take a left out of the subdivision and walk for about 10 minutes. We really liked this restuarant, and the walk was safe at night. I would recommend bringing a flashlight if you are walking to dinner at night. The B&B recommended going to "Trillas" for dinner, which we did the first night. "Trillas" is in town, and required us to get a taxi. We did not like it as much as "Jalepeno's" (the restaurant that we could walk to).

If you are coming to B&B Atenas via public transportation: once you arrive in Atenas, find a taxi. Tell them you need to go to B&B Vista Atenas (Vista Atenas is another part of time that they know very well). The cab ride should be about $5 one way.

I think this B&B is great if you have a rental car, and still okay if you don't. Above all, it is a great value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

If you want to get away from tourists this is definitely the place to go. Just keep in mind you are not on the beach and you are a 30 min walk from the nearest restaurant (Jalapenos which I highly recommend) and and hour walk from the town/other restaurants. There is no service (beyond breakfast) at the hotel so you'll need to plan on taking a cab (around $6USD one-way), walking, or bringing your own food and staying put. They do have refrigerators in-room. We had a room w/out a microwave or kitchen, but I believe there are rooms with small kitchenettes you can reserve. We had a poolside room with a great view.

Bugs were quite loud at night so with no AC - leaving windows open could get noisy but it wasn't terrible.

Breakfast was great: coffee, toast/jam, fruit smoothie, cheesy omelet, tomato, cucumber, and fresh fruit. Tea was available all day in the breakfast room.

Pool deck was sunny and had lounging chairs to lay in. Pool water was quite chilly due to chillier nights. Pool floor was a bit dirty with dirt and debris.

This was a great place to stay on our way from the coast to San Jose so we didn't have to stay in the big, dirty city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
0.2 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#4 of 8 in Atenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing