We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place Vista B&B on your schedule!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place Vista B&B on your schedule!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

At the end of our very first day in Costa Rica, we were tired. Our real estate agent in Atenas suggested we might want to stay at Vista. He called Jonathan to ask about a possible vacancy for the night. Jonathan, the manager (who speaks perfect English), confirmed that he did, indeed, have a room available, and he suggested we book through a particular web site to get a rate better than he could give us if we walked in.

Within 2 minutes, we had secured a room (there are only 6 or so rooms total) for the amazing price of $29.00. After the short drive from central Atenas, we were greeted by an absolutely breathtaking view. The Vista grounds are immaculately kept and the view of the valley at night is a must see. Upon arrival, Jonathan greeted us, helped us position our car, gave us instructions for exiting the gated property, and really made us feel genuinely welcome.

The next room was nice, quiet, and very clean.

After a very restful evening, we were invited to enjoy a delicious breakfast. I had the pleasure of speaking with the cook afterwards.

Thinking that the low, low room price was a "bare bones" rate, I went to Jonathan's office to pay for our wonderful meal. To my amazement, Jonathan said, "No payment needed. Your room rate includes breakfast".

Even though we stayed only 1 night, Jonathan and the lady who owns Vista continually exceeded our expectations by ensuring we were comfortable and happy. They spent a lot of time answering our questions about the area.

I very highly recommend Vista! If you are near Atenas, you MUST experience the best in quiet comfort here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    55
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
183
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

this was our first trip to Costa Rica and found Vista Atenas online. Jonathan is a great manager and person to know. He set up two different tours for my wife and myself and theywere perfect. I would encourage anyone to visit Vista Atenas. The rooms are very nice, the breakfast is wonderful and the views of the valley are spectacular. Thanks to Jonathan we will be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I can't believe how long it has taken me to review this place! My husband and I visited in February while on a scouting trip, deciding on which town to spend a year abroad. Vista Atenas became our home base while we explored the surrounding areas. It was a wonderful sanctuary to come home to, quiet and peaceful, with spectacular views and a gentle breeze that made the heat of the day completely tolerable. Jonathan and Vera were absolutely delightful. Jonathan tirelessly answered all our questions about the area, and helped book us accommodations when we travelled to Manuel Antonio for a night. And Vera felt like an old friend, I really enjoyed our conversations over breakfast, where we discussed everything from politics to the meaning of life! She's a very special soul, that Vera.

The room we stayed in, one of the cabinas, was totally comfortable, extremely clean and very private, overlooking a trail that winds around the property. Even these many months later, I fondly recall our walks along the trail with Vera's dog, spotting toucans and mot mots.

Breakfasts were delicious! There was something pretty adorable about Jonathan in his apron, serving beautiful fresh fruit, juice and omelettes each morning. He changed it up slightly each morning, so it never got old over the week we were there. They also serve local organic coffee, which was amazing. You can tour the nearby coffee farm if you'd like.

Overall, the experience was one of the best we've had. Now that we live here in Atenas, I'm a little sad to not have reason to stay there again, but I will certainly be sending visitors their way!

Room Tip: Each room has a very unique feel. The cabinas are apart and more private, especially the far one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a fantastic place to rest and enjoy a world-class view of the landscape. It is comfortable and friendly, and close to everything. The night-time view of the city is particularly magical. This is a perfect first stop on a tour of the country, easy to get to from the airport and yet not touched by the chaos that is San Jose. You will like it.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after constellations - Delphinus is near the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

From the moment we arrived, my wife and I felt right at home. Extraordinarily relaxing ( we had just escaped the chaos of San Jose!), with panoramic views and cooler mountain air. The manager, Jonathan, is warm and welcoming. Looking forward to spending more time there...highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoreline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galmaarden, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Vista Atenas is the ideal starting and ending point of your journey through Costa Rica. You avoid a closed car hire after a delayed flight or incomprehensible discussions while filling in car papers after 24 hour without sleep. You avoid the instant stress of driving through a hectic city to a noisy hotel in the middle of the night … A private shuttle brings you from the airport to Atenas, 35 minutes outside the city, up in the green mountains. After a quite night in a comfortable room, you’re surprised by a superb view on a green valley delimited by four volcanos. The B&B does not hire cars but assures you of a trustful contact point with a few trustful companies that bring your car at site. After a quite night you’re in a good shape to fulfill the administration and to ask the right questions. But Vista Atenas is far more than just a transit place from and to the airport. It’s a paradise spot in the middle of a 2 acres big garden in a superb setting. Swimming in the pool gives you the impression of swimming in and out the landscape. Vera, Jean and Jonathan are the perfect hosts who will make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. They like to help you with all kind of practical information, in Dutch, German, French and Spanish. The basic rooms are organized around the scenic terrace with pool. In some revisions they are called ‘small’, but they have all the comfort you need, are originally furbished and ours even had a fridge. After all, it’s too beautiful there to stay in your room. We were there in January 2012 for the first and last night of our stay. But next time we will spend some more time here as the area around offers a lot to explore. They do not (yet) offer meals (apart from the breakfast), but there are some good restaurant options in Atenas at half an hour walking time. Just a must …

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our Costa Rica honeymoon and it was PERFECT. The B&B is managed by an incredibly friendly, warm, and knowledgeable man. It is just a short drive (maybe 20 minutes) to the airport and would be a great location to start or end your trip. The B&B has clean and lovely rooms & a pool and surrounding deck that overlooks the valley for stellar day and night views. This felt like a four-start hotel at fantastically affordable rates. Stay here and you will most definitely want to go back for another visit. Sarah & Russ, USA

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
2.5 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
0.1 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing