We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop while touring CR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Vista Atenas based on a strong recommendation from a friend. This was our first night in CR, and Vista Atenas is a fantastic place to stay if you've flown into San Jose. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport, and is up in the mountains with a spectacular view of the valley with the town of Atenas just below. Jonathon, the manager, was very accommodating and service oriented. He carried our bags from the car to the room, and ensured we were comfortable.

The owner, Vera, was very welcoming and within an hour of our arrival took us around the back of the property to show us some local wildlife that inhabits her property. It was raining, but once my wife mentioned that she is an animal lover Vera offered to immediately show us a sloth hanging from a tree about 15 yards from the back of the building. She ended up spending about an hour and a half with us the next day giving us a tour of the garden as well as a lot of tips on traveling in CR as we were CR newbies.

Views are spectacular, breakfast was very good. This will be our first stopping point and night's stay for all of our future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

This B&B is by far one of the nicest i have visited! If you are looking for peace and serenity, this is the place to be! Vera, the owner, takes her time to make you feel special, and invites you to join her to visit the beautiful gardens of the B&B. Jonathan is always there to help and will warm up your day with his smile. Finally,The view on the central valley is breathtaking. A must!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This beautiful location on top of Atenas is truly amazing. The views are panoramic. The hotel is quaint, intimate. But what makes the elements really come together is the people who will cook an unbelieveable breakfast, care for your needs and surround you with the kind of love that will bring you back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Vista Atenas was a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica - after a long transatlantic flight it was so comforting to be picked up by Vista Atenas drivers at the airport, have a good night's rest and wake up to expansive views of Costa Rica's central plateau. Without leaving the B&B you can walk through the expansive gardens and spot native butterflies and birds before relaxing by the pool.

The breakfast is excellent and I particularly liked the huge fruit smoothies to kick-start your appetite before the rest of the food arrives. Excellent coffee and a selection of teas to recover from any jetlag.

The staff are very helpful and will solve all your travelling dilemmas, including being flexible and rearranging dates. Overall, I was very happy to stay at Vista Atenas and will return to stay there again, and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing a secluded, leafy B&B with spectacular views.

Room Tip: There is a secluded double room with a private patio and your own hammock!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A perfect view of central Costa Rica. Very clean rooms, eating area, lounge, and pool. My room was only five feet from the pool and 10 feet from a view of paradise. Jonathan was very helpful with my day excursions and insight into Tico culture. I had arranged for the $35.00 taxi pick up from the airport. The entire process went so smoothly. I walked out of the departure gate, there was the driver holding a sign with my name. In 35 minutes I was at Vista Atenas. Only a 20 minute walk into town or you can easily call a cab to pick you up. Loved the healthy and beautifully presented breakfast too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Vista Atenas B&B was a wonderful combination of luxury and affordability. The location is great with an expansive view of the valley and our room had windows and a sliding door that opened to the outdoors. The service was nice and staff very helpful in working out certain trip logistics we encountered. We were very pleased!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerveyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Vista Atenas is a great place to rest while you are traveling across Costa Rica. It offers a simple and warm atmosphere. The hosts are super friendly and happy to help you make your stay a perfect one. Great, great value for your money as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
0.1 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
2.5 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
10.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing