We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town, but away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Paraiso Verde B&B
Ranked #4 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
San Vito, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to town, but away from it all”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This small B&B is located just a few minutes from Atenas, but is far removed from traffic and noise. We chose to provide our own meals, and the cabinas were fully equipped with everything we needed - full size stove with oven, full size refrigerator, sink with hot water and, most importantly, a coffee maker. The shower was the best I've ever encountered in Costa Rica! The hosts were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our week there. The only downside is that the WiFi was spotty, as the owners would frequently turn it off when away from the property. Because we had occasional business to conduct, this was a problem, and the main reason for the "average" rating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The room was clean, comfortable, airy, nice light and aesthetically pleasing. There are three standalone rooms on the slope below the main house and pool. The grounds are beautiful—on Calle Mimi in the hills outside of Atenas town and the air, breezes and light are exactly what I like.

Nicole and Fred are really cool and friendly; great hosts that you can hang out with and chat about the world. They served a great breakfast and were a pleasure to be with. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The three rooms seem quite similar though the one farthest from the driveway is closest to the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exxtreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We only stayed one night on our way through Atenas, but it was great! The owners are an extremely friendly Swiss couple who made a delicious breakfast of fresh eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, homemade bread and marmalade, cheese, and meat that they had dried. It was awesome! - although you have to pay separately for breakfast, it's worth it! The cabins themselves were incredibly clean and well built. We joked that we could have eaten off the floor of the shower. The water is heated by a solar water heater on the roof, and our cabin came with a fan to help keep cool. It was still a little hot, but not unbearable. There is a pool and a large garden. Our only criticism is that it's a long way from town. We walked in, but it's like 4 km along a pretty busy road. It's better to take a taxi - about 4 dollars from downtown Atenas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinatenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Hondo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a shot. We wanted to explore the town of Atenas, but also wanted somewhere relaxing to come back to. The owners were very kind, and made a great breakfast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, eggs. The made us feel very welcome, but gave us space to relax at the same time.

The cabins were fully equipped, so even though we only stayed two nights, if we'd wanted to stay longer and cook our own meals, we could have (we opted for some sodas in town).

We saw some great birds and wildlife while walking around the area in the mornings and evenings, and had some great relaxing time by the pool. We saw two keel billed toucans on our last morning, and a montezuma oropendolo.

The next door neighbors do have some roosters that crow in the morning, but name a place in Costa Rica that doesn't either wake you up with nature, or wake you up with traffic and honking horns ... I choose nature's alarm ;-)

Definitely a great place to use as a home base when exploring the areas in and around Atenas!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I will preface this review by saying I didn't realize where we were staying until we were on the road. My husband made the reservations.
We found out the hard way that this is not a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is not included.
As for the peace and tranquility that they boast, it doesn't exist here. There is a chicken that squawks every 2 minutes on the dot - ALL NIGHT LONG! To quote my 3 year old, "I hear animals. We're sleeping in a barn." On Saturday night, there was pulsating music from the moment we returned to our room until a little after 6am when we got out of bed.
Bring all your own toiletries, there is nothing here.
The internet does not work in the rooms and on our last morning it didn't work at all.
Last but not least, our room, the yellow cabina, had a faint scent of puke.
The upside, there is a full sized refrigerator. And for you smokers out there, the room comes with a lighter and ash tray.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraiso-Verde, Inhaber at El Paraiso Verde B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn’t like your stay in El Paraiso Verde. All the details for our business you found in our website. We are not a hotel, we have bungalows. The prices are included taxes and are fairly priced. We offer breakfast only on request. It was a misunderstanding; we didn’t ask you didn’t ask. We were ready to prepare in the morning the breakfast. When we mentioned that it isn’t included, you went. About the faint scent of puke, sorry but cannot be. Recently we clean our entire bungalow deeply and all was washed. Maybe it was from the diapers. We are located in a rural area where you can hear any kind of animals. The roosters from the neighbors you can hear but not the whole night neither every 2 minutes. The music was far away, it seems coming from a big festival. We asking the other guests and neighbors, it did not disturb anybody. "Noise" is very subjective. Sorry about that, but unfortunately we can not change anything on it. It is not in our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were looking for a quiet place to stay in a rural setting in Costa Rica. We were warmly greeted by both Freddy and Nicole. Our cabin was immaculate and very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils to make our own meals. Enjoyed some produce from their garden. Make sure you try some of Nicole's fresh homemade bread. They were very knowledgeable on day trips in their area. This included a tour of a small local organic coffee plantation and local farmers market in Atenas. The pool was inviting on the hot afternoon days. While the location was in a rural setting, it an easy drive to the San Jose airport and very close to both the Pan American Highway and the tolled Highway 27. Highway 27 gave us an easy day trip to the west coast. We recommend El Paraiso Verde as a wonderful place to visit for both a long or short stay. It was an ideal place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kudelstaart, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were cycling around Costa Rica in Januari 2013 and the hotel we first arrived in Atenas was fully booked. The owner called Nicole and there was place for us. After 4 km´s cycling and one our futher we finally foud El Paraiso Verde. It´s a loveley place. a fully equiped, cosy and very good Swiss quality. We loved the silent garden, and the quietness from the place. In the morning we had a breakfast with Nicole and Ferry? (her husband) and the two dogs. We felt so welcome!! The owners are warm, friendly, relaxed. The created their own Paradise on earth, we were very glad that they share this with other people and that we have been there. We felt sorry that we could not stay any longer than 1 day.
Thank you with love from Nadja en Robert. The cyclists from Holland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadja s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atenas hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paraiso Verde B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paraiso Verde B&B

Property: El Paraiso Verde B&B
Address: Barrio Fatima, 1,5 km sobre Calle Mimi, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly swiss management bed & breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Paraiso Verde B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paraiso Verde B&B Costa Rica/Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing