We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the first moment, it's like staying with old friends.”
Review of Orchid Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Tree
Ranked #3 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Atenas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From the first moment, it's like staying with old friends.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A small and quiet place, very relaxing and comfortable. Brad is busy all the time tending to the million details as every hotelier must, but he's 100% yours when you need him. He was our guide for an impromptu one-day trip to Nicaragua that included several hours on a slow boat on the even slower San Juan river, a small adventure but one I won't soon forget. Thanks Brad! -Mike vP

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiketravelerAtenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family of three (w/my 4 yo daughter) stayed three nights at The Orchid Tree just outside Atenas this past week and were stunned by the tranquility, privacy, flexibility and hospitality offered by this facility and it's owner. Brad, the owner, was AMAZING! He was SO servant-hearted but never over bearing...always offering privacy and flexibility with our needs. He has single handedly remodeled this beautiful property into TripAdvisor's #1 B&B in the area and their grade of his service offered could NOT be more accurate. This guy sets a new standard for B&B's! Great breakfasts EVERY morning with complete patience on when same would fit into our daily schedule. ALL homemade with fresh fruit from the fruit trees on the property by the outside bar and cozy living room area close to the pool. Oh, and, did I mentioned how much of a kid friendly zone this was for our daughter? ;o) Regardless, kids or not, enjoy the resident dog and cat. WOW, I just can't say enough about this hidden jewel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, its the biggest. ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Grecia and we had seen this B&B before on the internet so we decided to stay here. We were happy with our choice as it was really super comfortable and near Atenas and Grecia but in a small quiet neighborhood. The living area and the kitchen are open to the air and are very comfortable with a tropical feel. The pool is very nice with a patio for sunning and also another lounging area with hammocks etc. Mango trees are all around and we were in luck because they were in season and the owner was very generous and shared some with us! This is a peacefull place to stay and we really enjoyed it and wished we could have stayed one more night to take andvantage of the beautiful weather and soak up some sun around the pool!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaErb_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality and helpful staff. Very relaxing and peaceful property. Brad went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed and got where we needed to go. There aren't very many rooms so it is usually a very quite place and not a bunch if people. The pool is gorgeous and a fun little spot to hang out. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megmar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It was a perfect experience, we were more than satisfied. We stayed here our first and last night in Costa Rica, wanting to visit much raved about Atenas and have an easy drive to the airport. First, The Orchid Tree is gorgeous with Balinese architecture. Comfortable room, zen-like grounds and luxurious pool. Brad was a lovely, generous, friendly, helpful host, he prepared a delicious and ample breakfast, even introduced us to Japanese friends of his we were interested in meeting, he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. And his dog Buddy is a charmer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masscac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, clean rooms and grounds, decent water pressure and water that is actually hot, gracious hosts, good breakfast, and a location that is convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here. We found it easy to take the bus or cabs to visit friends in Atenas or to go get food. Hosts were very accommodating of our baby, which was much appreciated! Airport pick up service was reasonably priced and very helpful. Highly recommend the orchid tree!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_and_Moti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting amongst the trees, the Orchid Tree was perfect after battling the traffic of San Jose.
The rooms are clean and tidy, the bed was better than we were expecting. The living and dining area is open air, very relaxing to chill and read a book with a bottle of wine. Pool looks very inviting and breakfast was excellent.
We only stayed 1 night but could have stayed a week!
Brad is a very accommodating, providing excellent directions and a map of the local town with all restaurants and sights marked out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
3.2 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
73 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
11.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
849 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 26 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree

Property: Orchid Tree
Address: Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and intimate bed and breakfast inn, just 20 minutes from the main airport in Costa Rica (SJO) and only 45 minutes from the Pacific coast. We are ideally located in the valley of Rio Grande, Atenas – the perfect base for exploring lush rainforest, enchanting cloud forest, raging rivers, cascading waterfalls, bubbling volcanoes, artisan villages and coffee plantations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Atenas
Orchid Tree Costa Rica/Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing