We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poco Cielo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poco Cielo Resort
Florida
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My family has done a LOT of traveling in Costa Rica over the last 20 years, staying at a lot of hotels, and my husband and I agree that this is definitely in our top five! The grounds are immaculate, the views are stunning, the cabins are clean, private, safe, and extremely comfortable, and the pool/rancho area is gorgeous. What stood out most to us, though, was the service of the owners, Gary and Josanne. They bent over backwards time and time again to ensure that our visit exemplified "pura vida..." and it did! From Josanne's initial hospitality (offering juice to my thirsty little ones when we arrived in the dark and rain) to their flexibility when we hosted a Tico-style get-together for my husband's extended family, to their helpfulness when my son needed to see a doctor, they were absolutely wonderful. Our relatives were in awe of the beauty of the place, and I have to say that our only regret was that we had to leave so soon!! This place is a true gem. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so very much for staying at our place. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and the BIG get-together . Meeting your whole family was great . Your children are so nice and well behaved . We really enjoyed listening to then , laughing and giggling . Thanks again for choosing Poco Cielo , it's all worth it when we can share our home with such a wonderful family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visited in September and the first thing that strikes you is the incredible setting and views. The owners, Gary and Josanne, who greeted us were very friendly and the care they have put into the hotel from the exquisite grounds, to the clean and very well appointed cabins is obvious. We will recommend this to anyone visiting the Atenas area, you won't find a better place in this area.

Room Tip: I think cabins 2 & 3 have the best view from the porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti_R_Cortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks . We are so happy to have met such a wonderful couple and thank you for introducing us to your friend .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Poco Cielo Resort is the perfect place for families, individuals or couples who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. While not far from downtown Atenas, it feels worlds away with it's beautiful grounds and luxury accommodations. Each cabin is tucked away in the midst of gorgeous flowers and trees, they are beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you need. The Rancho is a great common area with an infinity pool overlooking the mountains and city lights. The owners, Gary and Josanne, are very friendly and go the extra mile to make sure your stay at Poco Cielo is special in every way. Now that I've experienced Poco Cielo, I am spoiled and would not want to stay anywhere else while visiting Costa Rica. Contact Gary today and make your reservation. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMcKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hola From CR

Thank you so much for your fantastic review .We are so happy you picked our place to stay for your trip . It was so much fun working with you and we would love to do it again . It was a great pleasure meeting you , your wife and friends .
Best regards
Gary and Josanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had a group of 10 people come and visit us in Atenas and they were all able to stay at Poco Cielo. It was an amazing experience for all of us and they are all ready to come back and visit again. The rooms were clean, the area is beautiful and the managers were very accommodating. Thank you for making our trip a special one Gary and Josanne! We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hola and thanks so much for the wonderful review

It was our pleasure you picked Poco Cielo for your groups event . We are so happy your friends had a great time . We try our very best to make your stay enjoyable , our home is your home .
Best regards
Gary and Josanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I had a great time at Poco Cielo. The cabins were lovely, amenities were all in working order, the views fabulous and the management (owners Gary and Josanne), could not have been more pleasant or more attentive. The television reception wasn't very good but who goes to Costa Rica to watch TV?...we went to one of many sports bars in town to watch World Cup qualifiers, along with many of the soccer-mad Costa Ricans...much more fun...

Room Tip: All the cabins are nice...one of them was larger and included a sitting room but I do not remember t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinn0650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much from Poco Cielo
It was a pleasure to meet you both . It was very special to meet guests with such a fantastic life story . We were very happy to receive a personally autographed copy of your book . Thanks again for your kind words .
Gary and Josanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just stayed five days with Gary and Josann, very down to earth, but what an incredible vision they had in creating Poco Cielo. Four cabins in addition to their own. Lovely grounds with a pool and common area. I thought from the pictures it would be rustic but no very modern and comfortable. The view of the lights of Grecia and Poas volcano while sitting on the from porch were relaxing. Such great value as well. We had a car but you can walk or catch the bus at the end of the driveway into Atenas and there are a couple of restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 3 and were the first to feel the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorkelboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Poco Cielo for 18 nights in Winter 2013. Poco Cielo provides great value, considering its amenites and price. The cabins are spacious with a small kitchen, and there is a large community rancho with a beautiful swimming pool. There is a beautiful view of the valley from the pool.

We stayed in a cabin with a larger kitchen for 14 nights and a cabin with a smaller kitchen for 4 nights. We prefer the cabin with the larger kitchen because it was easier to cook in the cabin, but this may not be a consideration for some guests. The kitchen facilities inside the cabin and under the community rancho allow guests to save money and still enjoy CR.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Jai is the GM, and Ken is the backup. Both were very responsive to our requests, and they speak fluent English. Sometimes they gave me a ride to downtown Atenas (3.3 km) when they were running errands. The Tican staff are very nice and attentive, and they keep the property clean.

The walk to downtown Atenas is 45 min, which is good daily exercise. There is a sidewalk all the way from Poco Cielo to the Coop gas station.

Our daughter attended the Escuela Colina Azul school for 12 days (6th grade), and a bus provided transportation to and from school with pickup at the entrance to Poco Cielo.

Poco Cielo is truly a "little slice of heaven" in CR.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atenas hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Orchid Tree
Orchid Tree
#3 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
2.3 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#4 of 8 in Atenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Cielo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Cielo Resort

Property: Poco Cielo Resort
Address: West of the Coope Gas Station on Hwy 3 on the Right 3 KM | next to Futbol 7, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is set in the mountains of Atenas, overlooking the central valley below. We have 4 private cabins available, two with a kitchen and one queen sized bed, and two cabins with two queen sized beds and small kitchenette. The cabins all have Wi-Fi, 32" LED flat screen TV,DVD player , Cable TV and the rancho has surround sound an iPod dock and once in a while we do a movie on the big screen. All guest have access to the kitchen located in the Rancho pool-side. The "cabinas" are very private and surrounded with tropically manicured gardens and lawns that are frequently visited by toucans and parrots. Sit back and relax in our large Rancho area while you socialize with family, new friends, read a book or listen to your favorite music. There are some wonderful restaurants within walking distance or a short ride to town will provide you with many more restaurants. The grocery store in town is modern with just about everything you will need. Come and stay with us here at Poco Cielo for a little piece of heaven in the beautiful country of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poco Cielo Resort Costa Rica/Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing